I Ruin The Ending

November 29, 2010 at 7:21 am 9 comments

Hi. My name is Chelsea. I ruin endings.

I have always hated watching television shows or movies with someone who has already seen it and has stong opinions. They look over to see you laugh or say, “Oh! This is a good part. Watch!” I hate that. It’s a giveaway, and I hate spoilers.

DVR has changed television watching. You can no longer assume that everyone has seen something just because it aired last hour. Nope. Gone are the days you can talk to your friends about what happened between Ross and Rachel on Friday morning. Probably because kids these days don’t even know who Ross and Rachel are… but also because one or two of their friends might be waiting until Friday night to watch the new show.

I don’t have DVR so I often forget that most people do. Proof?

SIL: Oh my gosh! Guess what I saw that you’re going to be so excited about?!
Me: What??
SIL: Pioneer Woman is doing a Throwdown with Bobby Flay.
Me: Yeah I know. I saw it.
SIL: No, it’s a Thanksgiving one.
Me: Yeah. I know. It aired on my birthday. I watched it. She won.

And now she no longer needs to watch it…

More proof?

Lauren: Your Longhorns are looking good. That’s the first and last sports related text you’ll get from me.
Me: I hope you’re being sarcastic. My Longhorns played like crap.
Lauren: Oh. I must be watching DVR because they are ahead 7-0.
Me: Yeah that changes. They lose.
Lauren: Aww crap. Well now I know the end. Goodbye forever.

I’m such a good friend, it’s ridiculous.

Stephen and I hosted Thanksgiving at our house this year. His family came over and everyone brought part of the meal. I made the turkey, dressing, gravy, and mashed potatoes. It was touch and go with the gravy for a while but overall, I think I put out a pretty decent meal.

Because I’m a crazy lady, I also decided to make two pies. I’m of the mentality that there should be more pies than people at a Thanksgiving feast. I decided to make a chocolate pie because, well, why not?! And Pioneer Woman’s pumpkin cream pie because I’ve never tasted a bad PW recipe. I opted out of making pie crust because I’m not that far gone on the crazy train, and I’ve never had one complaint about Pillsbury’s pie crust. If it ain’t broke… am I right?!

Neither of these recipes were particularly difficult so there was really no reason to be concerned. However, as I was putting the finishing touches on my pumpkin cream (pumpkin cream) pie (read: pouring it into the crust) I realized I forgot to add the cream. I forgot the cream in my pumpkin cream pie. Which might lead you to believe that it was just a pumpkin pie… but it wasn’t. It was a pumpkin pie with all this other stuff added but not cream. It was okay, not great.

So I had high hopes for my chocolate pie since it didn’t appear that I’d left out any chocolate or anything. I got it out of the fridge and made the first cut. Ever seen Wolverine on X-Men where he gets cut and his skin immediately heals? Me neither but my husband says that’s the movie I’m thinking about. This pie was like Wolverine. I cut a slice and put it on my plate, the rest of the pie closed up and practically removed all evidence that I’d taken a slice. Normally I would say this is a cool party trick, but it totally wasn’t because then there was a big chocolate blob on my plate.

I made a beautiful turkey and some delicious mashed potatoes. But a pumpkin cream pie sans the cream? And a chocolate pie that just didn’t feel like setting. Apparently I’m good at ruining all sorts of endings.

(ToT is posted!)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Holidays.

The Obligatory Thanksgiving Post Ten on Tuesday (56)

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aunt Bonnie  |  November 29, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Sounds like you had a great meal. Way to go, girl! I’ll disagree about the pie crust. Pillsbury doesn’t do it for us. I will put your Uncle Dennis’ chocolate pie up against anyone’s. He also made a new pumpkin pie w/ pump. and sweet potato) from Cooks Illustrated. Yummy! If you have a food processor, he’ll give you lesson on crusts…..two crusts ready in 10 minutes and they are sooo worth it!

  • 2. Lauren from Texas  |  November 29, 2010 at 11:33 am

    So I totally thought about blogging our conversation too. It was AWESOME. Glad someone did. Also, glad you had a good Thanksgiving! Can’t believe you hosted! You are my hero.

  • 3. kelly  |  November 29, 2010 at 11:37 am

    i’ve seen the movie. i can relate!

  • 4. Stacie  |  November 29, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    HAHA! Congratulations. You pulled a Stacie.

  • 5. Nora  |  November 29, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    hey, at least you made the pies! =) I was the resident baker + green bean casserole + cheese/olive/meat/cracker (hey, we are italian, it’s part of every dinner!) tray maker this year. It was a lot of fun baking. Kudos to you for hosting when you have a newborn!

  • 6. Emmie  |  November 29, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    As one of the very lucky recipients of Chelsea’s Thanksgiving meal, let me tell you all it was one of the best I have ever had! Perfect and delicious!!!! And her table was set beautifully! Thank you Chelsea!

  • 7. mom (nana)  |  November 29, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Did you take pictures of the table? I know it must have been nice and I really KNOW the food was good – you are a great cook! Woo Hoo for taking this on. Proud of you!

  • 8. Rachel  |  November 29, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    I’m still reeling from the fact that you HOSTED Thanksgiving with an infant and cooked all that food. You. are. unbelievable… and a little nuts. 🙂

  • 9. Jess@Straight Talk  |  November 30, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Lol, I can’t help but laugh at the pie stories. Awesome 🙂

    And I’m a movie/show talker. I like to interrupt.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

