Baby Items You Cannot Live Without (1)

December 15, 2010 at 7:15 am 15 comments

This is a very necessary post.

Several months ago I asked for your advice on baby items. What do you recommend? What do you love? What do you hate? You were extremely helpful and I’m forever grateful for your help.

Now my baby is here and he’s three and half months and (shocker shocker) I have some opinions of my own. So today and tomorrow I’m going to share those opinions with you. I have no idea how long this list is going to be, I’m just going to go with it. So pull up a chair and listen to momma.

(The bold items are links. Most link to the company’s website unless I couldn’t find that product, in which case it just takes you to a place to buy it.)

The Miracle Blanket
This is HANDS DOWN the best baby item we own. It’s a swaddle that is practically a straight jacket. I don’t know how anyone gets any sleep without them. There are several other swaddles out there and they may be equally as awesome, I just have never used anything but The Miracle Blanket. They aren’t sold in stores (that I know of) so you have to order them from the website. Each swaddle is $30 and while that may seem pricey, it is SO worth it. You cannot put a price on sleep.

The Medela Breast Pump
I hate pumping. I hate it so much. I feel like all I ever do is change diapers, make bottles, and pump. Pump. Pump. Pump. I’m tired of it. BUT I am so thankful that I can do it. I’m thankful that I can provide food for my child even though I have to be at work. And I’m thankful that technology is so advanced that I don’t have to manually pump my milk. I don’t know how people do that. I know you can rent pumps from the hospital and if that’s your thing, go for it. I’m glad I own mine though. I pump so much that it’s practically my second child. I’m sort of attached to it and I’d feel really weird if I had to give it back to the hospital when all of this is done.

Music & Motion Soother
There are a bagillion of these out there, so you don’t necessarily need this exact one. This is just the one we found and liked. I’m fully aware that not all babies are as awesome as Jansen when it comes to bedtime, so please don’t assume this will be your lifesaver as it has been ours. As long as Jansen is in a good mood, we can put him in his crib (swaddled in his Miracle Blanket, of course), turn off his light, and turn on his soother. He seriously just stares at it until he falls asleep. It lights up and the animals move and it plays music. Light, motion, sound– a winning combination for a baby!

The Moby
Okay so I only got my Moby yesterday but that is exactly how much I love it. I originally got a different sling that goes over one shoulder. It was fine when Jansen was tiny but now he’s too heavy, it hurts my shoulder and back. I’d heard that the Moby is THE BEST product for baby wearing… I honestly have no idea why I didn’t get it to begin with. I’m a fool. I’m kicking myself for waiting over 3 months to get one. It fits wonderfully, doesn’t hurt my back, Jansen loves it, and I can actually get stuff done without putting him down when he’s in a mood.

Lansinoh Breast Pads
If you’re breastfeeding, breast pads are a must. A non-negotiable. I’ve only used two brands (Medela and Lansinoh) and these are far superior. The Medela ones are gross and they don’t allow your skin to breathe, but the Lansinoh are wonderful and you can’t even feel them.

Chicco Cortina Travel System
My sister-in-law told us that Chicco had the best line of car seat/stroller combinations since they were the easiest to use. She’s about 5’2″ and tested all the strollers to see if she could fold and unfold the strollers with a purse and car seat in hand. This one passed the test. Stephen and I decided to test it out on our own. We whole-heartedly agree. The Graco one made me want to scream and throw things. This one is so user-friendly. And to top it off, Jansen loves it. He falls asleep almost instantly and stays asleep throughout our car trips. He likes to sit in there sometimes at home too, since his owl friend hangs from the handle and he likes to talk to him. Plus, it rocks! (I mean literally, you can rock it while it’s sitting on the ground.)

Binkies! Binkies! Binkies! (Each word is a different link.)
We are full supporters of binkies. Babies have a natural need to suck, if you fight that, be prepared for some hissy fits. I don’t think I can help you too much here since all babies have their own thoughts and feelings on the matter. We started with the Soothies that the hospital provided, Jansen was immediately attached. The problem is that the don’t have a loop on the back so I could attach one of those strappy things to it. Many a paci has fallen on the ground because I didn’t have a strap thing. So I tried to get him onto a brand with a loop. Dr. Browns were highly recommended, but Jansen hated their guts. He literally gagged them out of his mouth, even the newborn sized ones. He has recently decided he likes the Avent and Mam brands. Praise the Lord, we can use a strap!

So that’s all for today, I’ll have more recommendations for you tomorrow. I hope this is helpful to you. I know many of you are pregnant or will be in the next few years. And if you’re not, these are great baby shower gift ideas!

Entry filed under: Jansen. Tags: , .

Ten on Tuesday (58) It’s A Christmas Miracle!

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timlinzrowland  |  December 15, 2010 at 7:45 am

    I agree totally on the wraps. I have never tried the Moby but I have a Sleepy Wrap and I wear it every single day. It is a must!

  • 2. osarah  |  December 15, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Psst…the Miracle Blanket can be purchased at Buy Buy Baby as well as some boutique shops.

    Which pump do you have? I got the Pump in Style. I haven’t taken it out of the bag though…didn’t figure I need to yet. 🙂

    I think I might be most excited baout my Moby too. I can’t wait to use it! Well, of course I can wait, because I want our little boy to cook more, but you know what I mean!

  • 3. Tabaitha  |  December 15, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Completely agree with everything and we have all of those items.

  • 4. Karen  |  December 15, 2010 at 11:55 am

    The binkie, (passie) ha, ha told ya, it would be an important item. lol
    My niece and nephew are trying to get their two year old off the passie, they only let him have it at night, but it is like a drug to him, he loves his passie. Actually talks to it at night, and calls for it like it will answer him. It’s really funny.
    Hey I sucked my thumb until I was 13, yes 13, but it was the most comforting thing in the world at the time. So let them have it, although I agree with them, there needs to be a cut off point.

  • 5. lisa  |  December 15, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Our Babies R Us has the Miracle Blanket. We tried it, and it is the one blanket Olivia couldn’t get out of, but she HATES it. She would spend all night grunting and squirming and trying to escape, like she’s Houdini or something. We got her a Woombie and she loves it.

    Our Babies R Us also has some paci clips that work with the Soothies. They are something like this — http://amzn.to/gSOWuu. Olivia’s not a huge paci fan. She has a Wubba Nub that she got at the hospital that she kinda likes because she can hang on to the animal, but regular pacis she just sucks on for a second and then it falls out.

  • 6. Taryn  |  December 15, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    LOL. we have the Chicco cortina too. Love it!! We also have the matching high chair. That stroller has gone everywhere… sad to have to move on to a doubel stroller in the near future!

  • 7. Lauren from Texas  |  December 15, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Do they have a Moby for dogs?

    Kidding. Kind of.

    Print out this list and give me a laminated copy when it’s time for BfT. You sound very smart.

  • 8. Debbie  |  December 15, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    all excellent choices. we had the chicco set, too. ours was the green/grey one. LOVE it. we saved it for baby #2. the mam paci’s are our..i mean…jacob’s favorite, too! 🙂

  • 9. Nora  |  December 15, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    This is why I’m glad so many blog friends have gone before me in the baby thing, so that in a few years down the road (hopefully) when I’m all pregnant I can go through the archives to find this stuff 🙂

  • 10. Emily  |  December 15, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Thanks for the tips! Products have changed so much since I was a nanny 10 years ago! Looking forward to more of these posts 🙂

  • 11. Marlena  |  December 15, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    I have no idea what you’re talking about, for the most part, but I wanted to let you know that I was here. 🙂 I will keep this in mind in two years when we get busy getting BUSY. Also, I hated pacifiers but I’m thinking it was because of two things. 1) I was always chatty and I’m sure I spoke Baby long before I spoke English. 2) I’m a rebel.

    Sincerely,

    Dottie Dags (Marlena is my government name)

  • 12. brandilicious  |  December 15, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Thank you for this! I’ve learned that the Miracle Blanket is truly a miracle! Follow them on twitter – I was lucky enough to grab one of ten codes for a buy one get one on the miracle blanket – free shipping too! I think I saw them at Babies R Us too.

    Love love love the Chicco Cortina Travel System. My friend had one with her little one and when I babysat, I saw how amazing it is. It was the first item I plopped on my registry!

  • 13. Baby Items You Cannot Live Without (2) «  |  December 20, 2010 at 12:08 am

    […] you missed the first post in this two-post series, click here to read it. I have a few more items to add to the list of must-have baby items. As a refresher, […]

  • 14. Baby Items You Cannot Live Without (2) «  |  December 20, 2010 at 12:08 am

    […] you missed the first post in this two-post series, click here to read it. I have a few more items to add to the list of must-have baby items. As a refresher, […]

  • 15. Mama Fuss  |  December 20, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    My favorite breast pads are made by Avent. I feel they are supirior to the Lansinoh ones, but I can only ever find them at Target and BRU, not Wal-mart, so if you’re a Wal-mart girl, the Lansinoh ones will do in a pinch. But seriously, the Avent pads are SO soft.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

