Baby Items You Cannot Live Without (2)

December 20, 2010 at 12:08 am 9 comments

If you missed the first post in this two-post series, click here to read it. I have a few more items to add to the list of must-have baby items. As a refresher, these were the items on the first list (you can go to this post for links):

The Miracle Blanket
The Medela Breast Pump
Music & Motion Soother
The Moby Wrap
Lansinoh Breast Pads
Chicco Cortina Travel System
Binkies

Just a reminder that you can click on the bolded item and it’ll take you to the product.

A Vibrating Bouncy Seat
I actually can’t find our exact one online but it doesn’t matter, it is similar to the one I linked. There are a bagillion of these to choose from. We chose this because it is simple, compact, it bounces when Jansen kicks, and it vibrates. You don’t want a big seat because you’re (probably) already going to have a swing and a Pack N Play… the last thing you need is more baby crap sitting in your living room. If Jansen is awake when I’m getting ready in the mornings, he’s usually content sitting in his chair while I shower and get dressed. The vibrations soothe him and the hanging turtle, frog, and snail entertain him.

The Owl
Okay I searched and searched for this owl online and I have only been able to find it at this place. As of the time I wrote this post, there were only 2 in stock and I bought them both. If you find them in a store, I suggest you buy all of them. If you didn’t click the link, it’s an owl that hangs from Jansen’s car seat. Lauren gave this to Jansen a couple days after he was born and he loves it. I don’t know what it is about this owl but it is seriously Jansen’s best friend. He talks to it ALL THE TIME. Apparently they tell each other jokes. And I don’t think it’s exclusive to Jansen because anytime my niece is around, she tries to steal it. There are tons of car seat toys out there but I think they really like this one because of the big eyes, plus it’s bigger than most of the other car seat toys so they can actually see it. I’m really not exaggerating. Jansen was hysterical one morning last week and the second I put him in his carrier and he looked at his owl, he started laughing. LAUGHING!

Munchkin Bottle Brush
Do not, I repeat DO NOT try to clean your bottles without a bottle brush. It takes twice as long and is 4 times as frustrating. I don’t know much about formula, but breastmilk has fat in it that sticks to the sides of the bottle and makes it really slick. The best way to get that off is to fill it with a bit of hot soapy water and scrub it a couple times with a bottle brush. I also really like this one because it has a suction cup on the bottom so it can stand upright on the side of the sink. All the water drains off and it stays out of the way.

A Mobile
Any mobile will do, so there is no link. I looked for a mobile before Jansen was born but I never found one that I really liked. I saw a few on Etsy but they were just a bit out of my price range. So I decided not to get one. What would he care anyways?! It would be dark in his room at night and he wouldn’t even be able to see it. But then he got a glimpse of a mobile at a friend of mine’s house. He was mesmerized. So my mom decided to make one for him to either go above his changing table or his crib. We chose to hang it above his crib. He loves it. We usually keep his light on for a little while when we put him to bed and he stares at it.

Here’s a crappy cell phone picture:

On-The-Go Changing Pad
Very very very important. I have had to change Jansen on living room floors, car seats, and in the back of our SUV. Not only does this keep him from having to lay on scratchy, cold, or dirty surfaces, it also protects those surfaces from pee or the inevitable blow-out. I have this diaper bag. (I know, I know. It’s the cutest diaper bag in the world. Good luck trying to find it. My cousin bought it for me and I have yet to be able to find if for sale ANYWHERE.) My diaper bag came with a roll-up changing pad, that’s the one I linked to. I know there are fold up ones out there and some people prefer those. I really could care less how it stores, I just need it! Also, I’ve seen there there are disposible changing pads out there. Those could be handy but I think they seem pretty wasteful. We have a partial pack of them that were given to us as hand-me-downs. I may throw one in our small diaper bag that we have for quick errands.

Changing Pad Covers
This is in reference to the changing pad you’ll have in your nursery. Ours is like some Serta contoured thingy. We don’t have an actual changing table, we bought a dresser that is serving as our changing table for the diaper days. All we have to do is remove the changing pad and it’ll be a dresser fit for a grown up room. So on the changing pad, you have to put a changing pad cover. I had originally just registered for one. WHY? How in the world could you only need one? I suppose if you can wash and dry an entire load of laundry between diaper changes, then you could just use the one. But the likelihood of that happening is slim to none. So buy two! For real. I’m not even going to recommend a brand because I honestly don’t think it matters. Just make sure it’s soft and it’s easy to put on and take off. No zippers, just elastic (imagine a fitted sheet).

I think that’s it y’all. In a week or so, I’ll post my advice on things you DON’T need and “buy this, not that.” For the most part, baby products are trial and error. You don’t know what’s going to work best for you and your baby until you actually have your baby. Although I do believe that this list is pretty much the non-negotiable-items list. If you have anything else to add, feel free to do it in the comments. I know of several people bookmarking these two posts for when they have babies. It’s extremely helpful! When y’all gave me your advice several months ago, I literally printed pages of comments, took notes on them, and took that with me to register.

*The Miracle Blanket giveaway closes tonight. CLICK HERE to enter.
**Ten on Tuesday is posted. CLICK HERE to visit the ToT page.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (59)

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timlinzrowland  |  December 20, 2010 at 7:49 am

    You probably haven’t had to use these yet but Boogie Wipes are the best for snotty noses. I thought they were just a gimmick to get you to buy some other type of tissue but it’s not! They are great for getting the crusty snot off noses easily and they don’t make your sweetie’s nose all chapped and raw from wiping it so much. THE BEST, I promise!

  • 2. Lauren from Texas  |  December 20, 2010 at 10:37 am

    THE OWL. That’s a good price for Mr. Owl, I think I paid more than that. Totally a fluke because the reason I got him was because he matched your colors so well. Also because I am a crazy bird/owl lady, but that’s beside the point.

    I’ll expect an owl (or an equivalent) from you when it’s my turn.

  • 3. Tina  |  December 20, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Love the mobile!!

  • 4. Taryn  |  December 20, 2010 at 11:23 am

    I keep a pack of the disposable changing pads and a ziploc of wipes/diapers in my car. Helpful for quick changes (or when you forget to restock your diaper bag) or when baby is a little older and you don’t have to carry an entire diaper bag around anymore!

  • 5. Becca  |  December 20, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I have an almost 8 week old. Your posts got me thinking of my can’t live without items so far. I agree with you on a couple.
    1. Pacifier (or in my case nook-nook) – started out with the Soothie, now onto the Avent Orthodontic paci’s which our guy really likes
    2. Bouncy seat – he’s napping in it now
    3. The Boppy Pillow – used for feeding and lounging, my most used item so far
    4. Rocker/Glider with Ottoman by Storkcraft – so comfortable I fall asleep in it myself
    5. Baby Einstein Discovery Play Gym – Entertains my guy for an hour at a time, he loves it!
    6. Munchin bottle drying rack

  • 6. Laurie  |  December 20, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Becca – Agree 1,000% on the Boppy. This is a MUST have.

  • 7. Debbie  |  December 20, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    yep, yep and yep! i don’t know how many stinky diapers we’ve changed in the back of my SUV. haha. love the on-the-go changing pads! 🙂

  • 8. Katherine  |  December 21, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    One helpful thing we did on the changing pad cover was to throw one of the white cloth diapers on top of it. That way, we were washing the cloth diapers every couple of days, but you could wait longer to wash the cover.

  • 9. Mama Fuss  |  December 22, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    I found an owl similar to the one you showed today at Kohl’s and picked it up. It’s not the same one (at the time, i thought it was) but I put it in front of him and he was fascinated, so I was able to get him that one more present I had wanted for him! Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

