When Chocolate Meets Booze, Magic Happens

December 29, 2010 at 7:22 am 19 comments

Every once in a while a product comes along that seems so off the wall that you swear the maker was high on NyQuil when he came up with it. I’m looking at you Snuggie. And the singing mounted fish. And any item in SkyMall.

The problem is that sometimes these weird products steal our hearts and we convince ourselves that they are a good idea. I own a Snuggie. My dad owns that singing Billy the Bass or whatever the heck it’s called. And sometimes I think I need every single product that SkyMall offers, however ridiculous they are. I remember the first time I saw jeggings in a store. I scoffed. Audibly. I swore that there was no way anyone I knew would ever wear a pair. I figured they’d be like the backpack purse, cute for little girls but completely out of the question for grown ups.

But just this week I heard the following sentence come out of my mouth, “I just really need to get me some jeggings if this is going to look good.” For serious, Chelsea? Who are you? Pretty soon I’m going to be rockin’ a Bumpit and SillyBandz.

Okay so don’t freak out when I tell you about this new product. You will thank me the second you get your hands on it.

Choco Vine. “The taste of dutch chocolate and fine red wine.”

Gross, I know. Someone told us about this stuff and I threw up in my mouth a little bit. Then one day, Stephen came home with a bottle. He bought it at CVS for $11. Now listen, I’m not a wine snob by any means, I think an $11 bottle of wine is a-okay, but when someone tells you about a product and says, “Yeah! You can get it at the local CVS,” something feels wrong. We were hesitant. In fact, we left it in our fridge for several days.

Over the weekend we went to south Texas to be with my family for Christmas. And what would you know, that had a bottle of Choco Vine. My aunt said it was good and she’s definitely not a liar. I tried some. Y’all, this stuff is good. It tastes like Bailey’s only cheaper and you can buy it at the same store you buy your tampons and batteries.

We currently have two bottles of Choco Vine in our wine fridge and it is now my beverage of choice. Pour some Choco Vine over ice and the top with milk. I know it sounds gross, TRUST ME I KNOW, but it is not even a little bit off-putting once you take the first sip. It’s like a grown up glass of chocolate milk. In fact, I may start bringing it in a thermos to work. (Just kidding, mom.)

This weekend is New Years Eve, also known in many circles as: The Night Of Drinking. (Not mine. In my circle it is known as: The Night of Getting Some Sleep and Not Setting An Alarm While the Rest of the Country Gets Wastey Faced and Stays Up All Night.) Go to your drug store or grocery store where I assume they’ll have this fine bottle of wine, and pick up one or two for the party you’re attending. They may look at you like you’re a nut job, but I swear you’ll be getting major props by the end of the night. Just trust me on this.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Holidays. Tags: , , .

Ten on Tuesday (60) Quick Takes On A Thursday

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maureen aka Emmie  |  December 29, 2010 at 8:24 am

    We bought a bottle for Uncle Gordon, may have to keep it, and try it out! We found it at HEB too.

  • 2. Jill  |  December 29, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Like you I cannot imagine that being good, bu then there’s a small part of me that says…hey, just maybe. I don’t have jeggings, which I too have scoffed at, but I do have tighter skinny jeans, which I also said I’d never wear. However I only wear them with boots because my feet are so **** big I feel self conscious otherwise.

  • 3. mandy  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:07 am

    oh i was the same way when i first saw this. but it’s incredible. i recently tried the raspberry chocolate flavor, and i like it much better. also, i think this should be called “chocolate vodka” because it tastes much more like vodka and chocolate to me than it does chocolate and red wine. but either way – AWESOME SAUCE.

  • 4. kelly  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:25 am

    you need to get on the jeggings bandwagon. they are the only way you can tuck your jeans into your boots without looking like santa.

  • 5. Taryn M. Peine  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Of course all the best booze products come out the year I’m pregnant. Skinny Girl margaritas and now this?

  • 6. Stacie  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Never heard of the stuff, but you had me at chocolate…

  • 7. Brandi  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Wow! Can’t wait to try this stuff when I’m no longer knocked up!

    Also, where I live you can’t buy alcohol at the drug store and we can’t buy wine at the grocery store – just beer. And you can’t buy either on Sundays. Nuts, I know!

  • 8. Aunt Bonnie  |  December 29, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Yep, I thought I’d puke when Uncle Dennis brought it home. But, believe me, I’m the aunt who doesn’t lie, it’s worth a try! I also agree it tastes more like chocolate and liquor than wine.

  • 9. Ginger  |  December 29, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Yes! I was in the exact same situation!! I swore off jeggings and skinnys, only to buy a couple of pairs a few weeks ago because…well…I have really awesome boots and tunic tops and nothing to wear for the middle part of the body. I wish they had a little more room in the butt though😦

    As for the chocolate wine, Geoff and I picked up a bottle at Wal-Mart (around the same price) and it looks gross in the bottle, but was actually quite delightful!

  • 10. Marlena  |  December 29, 2010 at 11:41 am

    I’ve seen this at HEB! They were sampling it one day and I shuddered and said no thank you. Perhaps we should give it a try.

    And I said the same jeggings sentence two days ago.:-/ I have these boots I can’t seem to wear without skinny jeans looking “bunchy” at the boot part & I said to my husband, “they have these things called jeggings now. They’re like leggings but denim-ish. I think I might have to get them to make this work.”

  • 11. Melissa  |  December 29, 2010 at 11:43 am

    I’ve been wanting to try that! We just got some Samuel Adams Chocolate Bock beer. Sounds weird, but it’s very good too!

  • 12. Mom (aka Nana)  |  December 29, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Got our bottle at Specs and it was cheaper than CVS, believe it or not! They had 2 kinds to choose from. YUM OH!

  • 13. Faith  |  December 29, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    John bought me a bottle at walgreens about 2 months ago and it’s been sitting there waiting for someone brave enough to try it. Good to know that you chill it. I would have left it hot.

  • 14. Cousin Kim  |  December 29, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    I’m with Taryn … Why couldn’t someone have discovered this when I WASN’T pregnant!
    It really sounds right up my alley…
    oh well…it’ll be there in about 6 more months. :o)

  • 15. Mama Fuss  |  December 29, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    I just saw that in the grocery store this morning. I couldn’t decide if it sounded good or horrible. (chocolate and wine? not a bad combo if you’re talking individually!)

  • 16. krys  |  December 30, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I’m so glad you posted about this! I actually have a bottle at home that I have yet to open… I’ve been a LITTLE afraid but I think you’ve given me the push I needed!😉

  • 17. Laura  |  December 30, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    My husband and I saw this awhile ago at Cost Plus World Market and were skeptical too. Your review has made me want to give it a try soon!

  • 18. Ashley  |  December 30, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I saw that at Sam’s Club today. In fact, a guy was looking at them and I told him how I read my friend’s blog and she said they are suppose to be very good!🙂

  • 19. jess@straighttalk  |  January 1, 2011 at 11:10 am

    I really want that stuff. Now.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

