Not So Terrible Twos?

January 5, 2011 at 7:07 am 34 comments

Today is my mom’s birthday, y’all! Isn’t that exciting? And she gets to spend the day with her sisters, babysitting my child. That’s a pretty good set up, if you ask me! And as if it couldn’t get any better, she gets to have dinner with ME tonight. Man, her life is awesome.

You know who else’s birthday it is? Roots & Rings! Yes siree, today this little blog turns two. I have been writing nonsense for two full years. I can hardly believe it. And what’s more, I can hardly believe that people are still reading it. Thank you from the bottom of my overflowing heart for reading and commenting and emailing and tweeting. I still get excited every time I get a comment, I’m in shock every time I get an email saying that one of you has subscribed to my emailed posts.

This past year hasn’t been the best blogging year. Pre-pregnancy I wrote about fun stuff. I wrote daily posts about funny things that happened in my life. I was a lot more creative back then. Once I got pregnant, my blog turned into a whine fest about how tired I was, a place to seek advice from other moms, and details about my lack of sleep and weight gain. Bless you for sticking with me.

I don’t know if I’ll ever make it back to where I was. I liked that blogger… but that blogger spent no less than an hour writing each night. I no longer have that time. We’ll see. Who knows what this year has in store for me.

To celebrate this second blogiversary, I’m hosting a giveaway. Erin (remember her from yesterday?) just reopened her Etsy shop and she’d like to give two of you a little somethin’ somethin’. Her shop is called Gumdrop Greetings (<– link) and she makes the cutest little notecards. They are handmade and affordable and so sweet! We’re bloggers, we like writing and we LOVE mail, so I know you’ll appreciate these.

One winner will receive a set of Hello Pastel Notcards:

And one winner will receive a set of Free Hug Coupon Mini Notecards:

Cute, huh? Told ya!

All you have to do to enter is leave a comment. However, if you want extra entries you can favor Gumdrop Greetings on Etsy or like the shop on Facebook. Just leave an extra comment for each entry.

I’ll draw a winner on Sunday night sometime. Good luck, I love ya, Amen.

Entry filed under: Blogging.

Ten on Tuesday (61) Because At This Rate, I’ll Have No Memory At All

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timlinzrowland  |  January 5, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Happy Blogiversary ! Two years goes by fast huh? My two year blogiversary is coming up in April! I love your blog always have and probably always will!

  • 2. maureen aka emmie  |  January 5, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Happy Birthday Alice!!! I cannot think of a better way to spend a birthday! And, Happy Anniversary Roots and Rings! Both of you are awesome!

  • 3. Joy  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Happy Blogaversary!

    Definitely sticking around to see what the coming year brings you and your lovely family. Happy Birthday to your mom!

  • 4. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:21 am

    Happy 2nd Birthday! I’ve enjoyed reading your blog throughout the year. I appreciate your honesty about what it’s like to be pregnant. And I still think you have fun/funny stories. So give yourself some credit. And I am not pregnant, and have no children, but have never been tempted to stop reading. So maybe that means something? Because I am obviously not your ‘target audience’ probably, but I still love reading your blog.

  • 5. Tiphany  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:22 am

    Happy Blogaversary!
    Just so you know- I loved your pregnancy posts. It brought back a lot of memories from mine (even though it was only two years ago.)

  • 6. Tiphany  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Gumdrop Greetings (cute name!) is now one of my favorites on Etsy.

  • 7. Tiphany  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:26 am

    And now I “like” Gumdrop Greetings on facebook. I love those “free hug” coupons!

  • 8. Suburban Sweetheart  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Happy Blogiversary! Looking forward to seeing what else you’ve got in store for us, whether it’s that “old” blogger or not. Times change, people change, & blogs change with them. Embrace it!

    (PS. Love Erin’s stuff!!!)

  • 9. mandy  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:47 am

    happy bloggy blogaversary! love the little cards, fingers crossed 🙂

  • 10. Sarah Johnson  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:55 am

    So, apparently, my Mom’s email account for the Brownie troop was logged in {I have no idea what} and left my comment as Troop 8510! So, you can delete that one and count this one as my “official comment” of that I love these notecards and Happy Blogiversary!

  • 11. Sarah Johnson  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Gumdrop Greetings is a favorite of mine on Etsy now!

  • 12. Kristen  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Happy Blogiversary!!

    It’s my birthday too!!

  • 13. Sarah Johnson  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I “Liked” Gumdrop Greetings on Facebook, too!

  • 14. Alishka Babushka  |  January 5, 2011 at 10:00 am

    i love birthdays – especially blog birthdays! Congrats! I love the note cards. They are so super cute. :o)

  • 15. Darla Baerg  |  January 5, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Tell your mom “Happy Birthday” for me!

  • 16. mom (aka Nana)  |  January 5, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Happy Blog Birthday – I didn’t realize I shared such an important day! I LOVE the cards! Cute….gotta run…baby boy is not happy with Elmo anymore…

  • 17. Kathleen  |  January 5, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Love those cute note cards, and congrats on two years of blogging!

  • 18. Stacie  |  January 5, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Haaaaaaappy Blogiversary! The notecards are adorable and I have every intention of favoriting and liking them, but I will get side tracked in no less than 30 seconds. I know me.

  • 19. Taryn  |  January 5, 2011 at 11:48 am

    oh, very cute!! 🙂 Congrats on two years of blogging fun!!

  • 20. Taryn  |  January 5, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Congrats on 2 years of blogging! Erin’s stuff is precious!

  • 21. Kara  |  January 5, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    Happy Blogiversary! Where has the time gone?! I certainly love your blog and am so glad I stumbled upon it!

  • 22. Nora  |  January 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    AH! such cute note cards! I love them. I’m a note card freak so this could be a problem if I don’t win as I may have to go buy them all. =) Congrats on two years of blogging! So glad that we found each other’s blogs!

  • 23. Jess@Straight Talk  |  January 5, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Happy Blogiversary! How exciting 🙂 And those are some super duper cute cards.

  • 24. Ashley  |  January 5, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Adorable cards, and happy birthday to your mom and the blog! PS loved all the Christmas photos of Jansen that came up on my newsfeed. He’s getting so big!

  • 25. angelica  |  January 5, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    tell your mom happy birthday!! and congrats on 2 years of blogging! my 1 year blog-aversary is coming up!

  • 26. Sister  |  January 5, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    i want! i want! i want!

  • 27. abby  |  January 5, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Happy birthday to your mom! And happy blogaversary to you! I still love reading your blog whether you spend an hour writing or not! 🙂

  • 28. Lauren from Texas  |  January 5, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY! So happy we both decided to blog & through that found each other. I love you!

  • 29. mintyfresch  |  January 5, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!! I’ve enjoyed reading!

  • 30. mintyfresch  |  January 5, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I favorited Gumdrop Greetings on Etsy!

  • 31. Krys  |  January 5, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Yay, happy blogiversary!

  • 32. Courtney  |  January 6, 2011 at 3:18 am

    Happy Anni-bloggy-versary! Can’t wait to see where the next 2+ years take you!

  • 33. Laurie  |  January 6, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!

  • 34. Courtney  |  January 9, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Well, happy Blogiversary! (It’s sad I had to double check the spelling on that… twice.)

    I’m a little late to your blog but after reading a few entries I’m glad the link popped up in my news feed (thanks to the other Erin).

    And I totally want to enter in to the giveaway! Even though it might be best deserved to readers with tenure.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

