Well Hello There, Monday

January 10, 2011 at 7:05 am 5 comments

I really have no idea where this post is going, but I do know that I have a couple things to cover. It could be an adventure to see how we get there and where we end up.

I’m currently sipping this fantastical chocolate cherry port that we bought from a local winery. I’m normally a white wine sort of gal but I’m making an effort to be an equal opportunity boozer. Bagillions of people love red wine, why can’t I? I’m getting there, friends. Unfortunately as it stands, the two that I enjoy are not in my typical under $10 price range. Stephen and I are quite frugal but I think we’ve decided that a little splurge here and there could make us quite happy.

I had a great weekend. On Friday, Stephen and I stopped at Old Navy so I could buy my first pair of non-maternity jeans in over a year. I’ve been in denial because it’s really difficult to purchase jeans in bigger sizes. It feels like you’re losing, like you’re giving in. But I am so ridiculously tired of my maternity jeans so I gave in. I found two pairs that look good and don’t make me feel bad about my mommy hips. And because God loves me and wants me to be happy, He put a $15 pair of jeggings in my path. They are two sizes larger than my pre-pregnancy size, but I think I’ll just cut off the tag and pretend the are tiny.

Saturday was productive. Jansen slept about 23 out of 24 hours which allowed Stephen and I to do things. Me? I slept. Jansen woke up at 6:30 to eat so I fed him and we went back to sleep until 9:30. It was grand. Then I did random things around the house. Stephen spent about 2 hours on the roof smearing tar all over random holes. We have a couple holes that we’ve been unable to patch. So he bought a can of roof tar the size of Tallahassee (if Tallahassee is huge) and went to town. Unfortunately we found out later that night during The Rainstorm of 2011 that one of the holes is still not patched. Let me tell you, friends, that is enough to make a man go crazy.

Saturday evening I concentrated on keeping Jansen awake so he’d sleep later that night while Stephen made our ENTIRE HOUSE SMELL LIKE A SEWER. You see, he’s started a new hobby. Beer making. I’m a full supporter of this new hobby. It’s like a man’s version of crafting. And he’ll get to drink and share the final product, which I think is great. I just had no idea it was going to smell so bad. I told him that whenever he makes his second batch, I will be out of town that weekend on a Girl’s Trip.

This post certainly makes us sound like lushes.

Sunday was Stephen’s birthday. I now, as I do every year, feel like I’m married to an old man. He only turned 27 and I know that’s not actually old, but every year I feel like it is. This time last year he turned 26 and I kept saying, “Wow, we’re getting old.” Not the point though. The point is that it was his birthday and we had a great day. We started the day with Shipley’s donuts, went to church, and then went to my parents for lunch. His parents and his sister and her boyfriend came over and we all enjoyed crockpot chicken tacos a la Lauren From Texas. For dessert we had an apple crumble that my mom made. So good. That Barefoot Contessa knows what she’s doing.

My parents and his parents went in together and bought him an antique (looking) globe. It’s an item on his “I want to own before I die” list. It beautiful and makes me feel dumb, but he loves it and that makes me happy.

And that puts us here. It’s Sunday evening as I type this. I am watching Iron Chef, Stephen is playing guitar, and Jansen is frantically trying to eat his zoo animals fabric book. We’re one small happy family and the only wish I have at this point is for a few more days in this weekend.

I’m not sure if I covered everything on my agenda but I think we took a nice tour of the weekend.

I used random.org to find the winners of our Gumdrop Greetings giveaway. The name is a link and you should definitely check her out again because she added more items over the weekend. And if you buy a set, you are more than welcome to bless me with some snail mail!

I’m not fancy enough to show screen shots so I’ll just tell you the winners.

The winner of the Hello Pastel Notecards is comment #20, which is Taryn. And the winner of the Free Hug Coupon Mini Notecards is comment #31, which is Krys. Girls, I’ll get you in touch with Erin so you can get your goods.

Ten on Tuesday is posted.

That post wore me out. I’m going to bed.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Holidays, Jansen, Stephen.

A List Ten on Tuesday (62)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue @ SimonsSistaSaw  |  January 10, 2011 at 8:12 am

    “I’m normally a white wine sort of gal but I’m making an effort to be an equal opportunity boozer”

    Love it – I’m all for equal opportunity! (although I’m a red wine girl that can’t seem to get to like white)

  • 2. Stacie  |  January 10, 2011 at 9:32 am

    You’ll know you’re married to an old man when you wake up to hacking so loud you think to yourself, “I have to listen to THIS forever?!?”

  • 3. Nora  |  January 10, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Haha, when I turned 27 a few months back I realized that I’m getting older. Then I realized three years until 30 which is halfway until 60 and yeah… I just stopped looking at the numbers! Happy birthday to Stephen and hooray for sleeping in 🙂

  • 4. Taryn  |  January 10, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I got so excited when I saw you drew “Taryn” for the Hello pastel notecards…. til I went back and looked and saw that I was comment #19 and the OTHER Taryn was comment #20! Booo. 🙂 Oh well, better luck next time. And have a drink for me, since I’ve got about 6 more months to go! lol

  • 5. Mama Fuss  |  January 10, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    I’m a red wine girl who can’t seem to like white. But! Might a suggest a rose/blush? They’re actually my favorites lately.

    Had the Choco Vine last night and it was AWESOME. Truely. Gonna have to take a bottle to my sister when I go up to help her with the new baby.

    My husband got into wine making last year. It’s messy and space-consuming and I find it annoying. It also takes FOREVER, so the stuff he started making in November ’09 only got opened recently and it… wasn’t so good. So now we’re hoping the Strawberry is delish and he hasn’t been wasting all this time and effort for nothing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

