Ten on Tuesday (63)

January 18, 2011 at 7:10 am 22 comments

Welcome to another week of Ten on Tuesday. I made up the questions this week. And, as usual, if you don’t like them then send me a set of your own. chelsea (at) rootsandrings (dot) com

1. What’s your favorite color to paint your nails?
I never paint my nails. I hate that it chips so quickly. Also, since my nails grow so fast, there is unpainted nail showing after like 3 days. However, I got the urge to paint my nails on Sunday (WHO AM I??) and, I must say, I sort of love them. Jansen really likes them too. They are OPI’s Dutch Tulips. So are my toenails in case you were wondering.

2. Do you like to sneeze?
I LOVE to sneeze, as long as I’m not driving. It’s so satisfying. I hate the burning nose feeling of when you need to sneeze but it won’t come out. That is torture.

3. How often do you fill up your car with gas?
Stephen fills up the car. We carpool so he always fills the tank. He’s the man. Also, I’m usually in mid-pump. (Yes I pump in the car while we’re driving. Often.) But to answer the question, I think we fill up about once a week.

4. Were you named after anyone?
I don’t think so. Mom? All I know is that they were going to name me Megan but decided against it because it rhymed with my last name. (I think we’ve been through this before.) So then they picked Chelsea and Rebecca and told my brother to pick which he liked best. He liked Chelsea. So now I am Chelsea Rebecca. Isn’t that how the story goes, mom?

5. Have you made any good recipes lately?
Yeah, on Saturday I went grocery shopping and there was a pack of chicken legs on super duper sale. I’ve never cooked with chicken legs before but I figured that was a good time to start. So I search the internet and then PW’s cooking section and ended up making something she calls chicken legs with tomato and garlic. (I think.) It was delicious. Last night I made her stew that she just posted. The flavor was good but it was really thin. I’m not sure if I did something wrong but I prefer thick stews. This was too brothy.

6. What’s an easy money-saving tip that you use regularly?
I shop with coupons and I always stick to my grocery list.

7. Would you rather have a sore throat or an ear ache?
Sore throat. Ear aches make your entire head hurt.

8. Do you have any scars? What are they from?
I have one on my knee from falling off a bike. (Who doesn’t?) I have one on my thigh from a ginormous splinter. I have one on each hand from kitchen burns. I have one on my back because a potential cancerous mole (aka: a dermatologist who loved the knife). And I have lots of stretch marks on my belly- I consider those scars.

9. What are you “known for” in your circle of friends/family? 
I’m addicted to Chapstick. Also, I’m known in my family for being the one who puts things on the internet. And I’m known among my friends as the one who got married and had a baby really young. (I don’t think it’s really young, for the record.)

10. How do you like to eat your pancakes?
I love blueberry pancakes with butter! And syrup on the side. Oh and also with a side of bacon.

Your turn. Link it up!

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday.

Oh For Pete’s Sake Just Some Loser Thoughts

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jen  |  January 18, 2011 at 7:52 am

    i too am addicted to chopstick! so much so i think it is rubbing off on the step son…

  • 2. Ten on Tuesday (32) « Simply Sarah  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:22 am

    […] turn! As usual, click here to go to Chelsea’s blog so you can link up and give credit where credit is […]

  • 3. Ashley  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:59 am

    I saw a necklace on Etsy the other day that made me think of you. It said “I love you more than” and next to it was a picture of a chapstick tube.

  • 4. Taryn  |  January 18, 2011 at 10:02 am

    1. i never paint my fingernails. my toenails are currently a bright red and I usually change out the color every couple of weeks.

    2. No. I’m preggo right now and it makes my old c-section scar hurt.

    3. i can go about a week and a half.

    4. A girl my parents taught in New York. They loved the name Taryn, and it came to mind when I was born. If i was a boy, I would have been Caleb.

    5. not really. No time. No energy.

    6. Coupons. Make a list. Don’t shop hungry (or steal some of your kid’s snacks if you are!)

    7. ugh. sore throat i guess.

    8. Knees, toes, hands, leg… and stretch marks… I agree with Chelsea, they’re kinda like war wounds 🙂

    9. being the extremely blunt, truthful, sarcastic one.

    10. with just butter and syrup. preferably in the shape of star wars characters 🙂

  • 5. Stacie  |  January 18, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Ha! Of course these are your questions! As I was doing the thing i kept thinking “these are sooooo questions I would have asked…random as the sky is blue.” I thought that. Really.

  • 6. Nora  |  January 18, 2011 at 11:09 am

    It’s funny I’ve never really thought of liking or disliking to sneeze. I guess maybe I enjoy it? Unless it’s allergy season and then I do not like it one single bit.

  • 7. The First 10 on Tuesday of 2011! « Erika Blogs  |  January 18, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    […] Want to participate in the fun? Go here! […]

  • 8. Stevie  |  January 18, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    I’m craving blueberry pancakes now…

  • 9. Christine  |  January 18, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    “Please put the blueberries in the pancake, not on top.”
    We need to plan on another CG trip to the beach…asap!

  • 10. Ten on Tuesday « badinage  |  January 18, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    […] Meme from Roots and Rings. […]

  • 11. Mrs. Miller  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    it was super fun to play along!

  • 12. Betty  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    1. i paint my fingernails and toenails, maybe three times a year when my granddaughter wants to play dress up. We use bright PINK.
    2. No ,I hate to sneeze! My husband says I’m going to blow up one day because I hold it in.
    its cold outside and I dont want to stand in it.
    3. I wait to the last minute if
    4.. My mom said I was named after her best friend, Betty, who died in a car wreck.
    5. I havent this past week since I had the flu, but my hubby did, Recipe is on my blog under “My alka-seltzer and musinex cocktail comma.’ It was the Olive Garden soup knock-off. So Good!
    6. Shop when ya have money!
    7. ugh. sore throat i guess. Had both all week end. They both suck!
    8. Oh yes! Hysterectomy, Cancer surgery on head, face and back. Thumb from cutting it on a glass. Chin, from falling asleep watching fish swim in a tank,and most recently…breast surgery from abnormal cells.
    9. They always tease me about popups! I am a Find a Grave volunteer, where I photo graves for people I don’t know.
    10. with just butter and Grape jelly. luv it!

  • 13. Erin  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Are you talking about PW’s beer and beef stew? I was thinking about making it this week.

  • 14. Misfit Mommy  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    Great, now I want pancakes with sausage and lots of syrup!!

  • 15. Ten on Tuesday « Down the Rabbit Hole  |  January 18, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    […] (Source) […]

  • 16. Erin  |  January 18, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    I get random urges to paint my nails sometime, but I have to take the polish off at the first sign of a chip or growth.

  • 17. But How Will I Buy Alcohol…?  |  January 18, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    […] tonight’s episode of the Biggest Loser – but before I go I thought I’d post my Ten on Tuesday for the […]

  • 18. mom (nana)  |  January 19, 2011 at 12:03 am

    Well we actually gave the names CHELSEA and SARAH to Justin and he picked CHELSEA….We just liked the name Rebecca. 🙂
    Oh, I had a friend whose car got totaled when someone sneezed and ran into it – it was parked on the street in front of her house!
    C R A Z Y

  • 19. E  |  January 19, 2011 at 12:17 am

    I feel exactly the same as you about sneezes. Love ’em!

  • 20. Southern Gal  |  January 19, 2011 at 8:16 am

    I’m late to the party. Is that OK?

    1. I never paint my nails.

    2. I hate to sneeze. I was cured of loving sneezing when I worked for a dentist who never held it back. He would scare the crazy out of everyone – including patients- because he didn’t want to burst a blood vessel in his eye or something like that.

    3. Depends on if we go to the big city. Usually once every week and a half for my van. Once a week for the three other vehicles. (Daddy pays for one tank a week for the kids while they are in college – his little gift to them. You should see our gas bill.)

    4. Yeah…my first name (which I don’t use) was the name of my father’s first crush. Can you believe that? My mom didn’t find that out until later. And they’re still married 47 years later. Ha. It’s Charlotte, by the way.

    5. Nothing new.

    6. Direct deposit into savings accounts. Works like a charm.

    7. Ugh. Do I have to choose? I’ve never had an ear ache. Plenty of sore throats. I guess a sore throat?

    8. The biggest is the first I ever got – 5 years old sliding down an old car and cut my right calf to the bone. 15 stitches outside and 4 inside. I have one on my right inner thigh from my dachshund puppies claw. One in the palm of my right hand from being a show off and skiing up to the shore on ski and not being able to stop. Had to hit a boat with my hands and the metal rope tie thingy went into my hand. Hmmm. My right side is pretty banged up. Oh, and a nice 3 c-section/hysterectomy scar.

    9. Putting things on my blog. They watch what they say around me. Just kidding. Baking yummy things maybe? My hair.

    10. Any way I can get them. Pecan are my faves.

  • 21. Southern Gal  |  January 19, 2011 at 8:17 am

    #8 on one ski*

  • 22. Faith  |  January 19, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I made PWs stew as well and thought it was too brothy. Good, but too soup for me.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

