A Friday List

January 21, 2011 at 7:18 am 16 comments

1.
I cannot tell you how many people emailed me last season of the Biggest Loser to tell me they miss my recaps and to ask if I was secretly still watching it. I wasn’t. I gave that season three episodes and it proved to be 6 hours of wasted time. But I’m watching now, with much less fervor than I used to. I semi-blogged about it on Wednesday and… crickets. Only three people had thoughts and feelings? Yeah probably won’t be doing that anymore. Looks like I have to either write out 1500 word recaps (which involves over 2 hours of complete undivided attention) or nothing at all. Sorry y’all. No can do. Jansen is too important.

2.
If I do not get a haircut and an oil change this weekend, my split ends will grow split ends and my car will self destruct.

3.
If you and your husband disagree about something, how do you come to a compromise? What if it’s something you cannot back down on? What if, say maybe perhaps, you don’t like the new placement of the couch in your living room but, I don’t know possibly, your husband does? But what if the very thought of that couch makes you lay in bed and suddenly say, “I feel like the couch is a crooked picture frame on the wall. It is bugging me and it needs to be moved.” How do you handle that?

I mean, normally your husband is fantastic at rearranging furniture… hypothetically speaking, of course. But you just have some nonnegotiables regarding spacing and alignment. Like maybe you don’t like the couch pushed all the way up against the wall, you feel that it needs breathing space. And you don’t like anything larger than a chair tilted. What if? What would you do in a situation like that? You’d like to keep the peace and respect your husband’s wishes… but oh the tilting.

4.
My mom is having toe surgery today. She thought she just had an ingrown toenail that has been killing her for over a year, but it never would go away. She finally got it checked out and she also has a bone spur. So yeah, full on surgery where they’ll put her down and everything. She’ll be in a boot for a while and they told her it’ll be painful. Toe stuff is not fun.

5.
I mentioned on Tuesday that I painted my fingernails for the first time in like 5 years. I really do like it but it started chipping two days later. I hate that! Alison Sweeney tweeted that she uses that gel kind and it stays on for a long time. Where do you buy that stuff? Anyone know? I read something sometime about how only professionals can put use it because it uses some UV or something. Is this one of those instances where I should consult The Google? You’re better than Google…

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Stephen. Tags: .

This Time Last Year All Thanks To You

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DebbieQ  |  January 21, 2011 at 7:27 am

    #1- I am skipping BL this season. Just couldn’t get into it.
    #4 – Hope all goes well with your mom. Toes are the very devil!
    #5- The very reason why I don’t paint my fingernails. I can’t stand the chips and I end up repainting every three days or so. I have way too much to do with my time!

  • 2. Southern Gal  |  January 21, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Praying for your mom.

    And the compromise thing? Can’t really help you. I can only say our den still has a dark brick fireplace, stained mantel and wainscoting after 20 years in this house. I finally covered up the dark paneling under the wainscoting and painted it about 9 years ago. That’s as far as I’ve gotten. Peace reigns, but oh how I wish I could slap some paint on those things!!

  • 3. AshleyD  |  January 21, 2011 at 8:07 am

    Nail polish. Have you tried using OPI’s top coat? The chipping doesn’t happen for a few more days and it’s pretty awesome. I haven’t tried it, but I’m pretty sure (maybe?) the gel stuff can be found at ULTA. If not, I know they have nail pens which seems fun.

  • 4. Molly  |  January 21, 2011 at 8:14 am

    I have heard about the gel stuff too but also heard the same thing: only a pro can apply it. You let me know what you find out here and whether we can buy it to do ourselves. I’m with you: I NEVER paint my nails for that very reason. Chippy!

  • 5. Sarah Johnson  |  January 21, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Jim pretty much let’s me take on the re-arranging of furniture. There have been a couple of times when I’ve moved things around and he hasn’t liked it. So, I move it back. It’s not worth him feeling uncomfortable {or me} in your very own home. We’ve got to find something that works or something we’re saving for that will make us both happy.

  • 6. kelly  |  January 21, 2011 at 9:19 am

    my mom just got the gel manicure done last week when they were in town. she said it cost $25 (instead of just $10), but that it lasts 3 weeks. i can’t remember the name she used, but she mentioned some people call it shellack (sp?)

  • 7. Taryn  |  January 21, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I know OPI makes a gel nail polish… it’s like $25 a bottle and takes almost a half hour to get off (you have to soak your nails.) But it does last a really long time. I think you can get it on Amazon.

  • 8. Stacie  |  January 21, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Over-dramatic, world-is-ending always works for me. Mainly because Corey wants me to shut up about it. I don’t feel too bad, we all have some things that are just super important and our spouses should understand that🙂

  • 9. lisa  |  January 21, 2011 at 11:36 am

    The gel stuff I’ve heard of is CND Shellac and it’s a pro application thing. I’ve also heard that it’s expensive, a pain to take off, and it often tears up nails.

    Try the Seche top coat, it’s a little gel-like. It’s very thick and you put a pretty good bit on and it levels out and leaves a pretty hard finish. It also dries really quick. When I use that my nails don’t really chip as much as they will peel after a week or so. The polish will get a little lifted at the ends and I can peel it off in one big piece.

  • 10. The Stephanie  |  January 21, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Ok, you have to get the base coat and top coat that I mentioned in this post: http://www.thegorenablog.com/2010/10/my-new-obsession.html

    It’s AMAZING!!! Your nails will dry in 2.5 seconds and you will have NO smudges or chipping. I’m telling you, it’s a miracle worker. Oh, and you can get it at Sally’s.

  • 11. Karen  |  January 21, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Can’t watch the BL, it seems to be different people but the same drama, I was going to watch the new dance show with Paula, because nothing is on Tuesdays that I like, but they moved it to Wed, I liked it when I first watched, but I like “In the middle” and Modern Family better.

    Chin up, Mom, you’ll be ok.

    Hope you have a great weekend, I have 3 B-Day parties to go to so I should be fat and happy.

  • 12. abby  |  January 21, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    #3 If it were my house I would voice my opinion and then pull the “i’m the house decorator” card and get my way…
    #5 I saw Allison tweet that too and I totally want to go buy some now. Let us know if non-professionals can use it!

  • 13. Faith  |  January 21, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    I’m about to have surgery for bone spurs on my toe soon so I feel for your mom. Hope it goes well.

    I never watch BL, but happened to catch part of it this week. I too was annoyed about the black team. I don’t read you for you BL posts though.

  • 14. Megan S.  |  January 21, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I like when you blog about BL! But, I still read even when you don’t!🙂 I really like the contestants this season–much more than last. But I agree with you about yellow team–hello! you’re all in need of a change! And ugh…black team. I was glad to see that he had done some work at home though.

  • 15. brandilicious  |  January 22, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Yes to Seche Vite top coat (I mostly don’t use a base coat unless I’m using a microglitter or really dark polish)!! That top coat has dramatically changed the staying power of my manicures. I’ve also found certain nailpolishes to just chip after a few hours anyway so I stay away from them (NICOLE by OPI). I love Essie, OPI and Zoya polishes because they last long.

    You can find Seche Vite at Sallly Beauty or Ulta🙂

  • 16. Kyria  |  January 26, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Regarding the couch — I am sure you have a long list of things that are REALLY important to you…is this one of them? If it is, then you may have to fight for it. If not, back down.

    I know, easier said than done. Always.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

