All Thanks To You

January 24, 2011 at 7:15 am 6 comments

One problem with blog reading is that you start to pick up habits of other bloggers. You start to eat what they eat and read what they read and like what they like. I recently read a recommendation to try the toffee nut latte at Starbucks with a salted caramel top. Y’all, that thing isn’t even on the menu but someone mentioned it so I tried it and I love it.

Every day you read random thoughts and feelings of strangers on the internet and you learn which opinions to trust.

Bloggers have common hobbies. Most of them cook, knit, or sew. I tried knitting but I wasn’t very good. It took too much concentration for me and I didn’t know how to fix a wrong stitch. I considered taking sewing lessons but realized that I’m not very good at projects that take planning and patience. I like to cook because you get a finished product the same day you start. So now I cook what bloggers tell me to cook. (Thanks P Dub.)

When I was little, I was obsessed with nail polish. I always rode my bike to the local Eckerd and bought bottles of nail polish for 99 cents. I painted designs and alternating colors. I’d even create my own colors in empty bottles. Yes, I was that cool.

But then I grew out of the nail polish phase. I started to embrace my natural nails since they were so thick and had white tips. Plus, I hated the fact that every time I painted my nails, they were stained when I took the polish off. I used to soak my fingernails in hydrogen peroxide to get that stain off!

Unfortunately, bloggers like to paint their nails and they always filled me with nail envy. I’d get my OPI color fix by keeping my toenails painted at all times (a lady should never have unpainted toenails) but you left me wanting more. It’s freezing outside and my tootsies aren’t making much of an appearance these days. So what’s a girl to do?

Last week I painted my nails for the first time in several years. I kind of loved it. It made me feel feminine and pretty, which is helpful to a woman 4.5 months postpartum who is trying to shove into jeans that don’t have an elastic waist. But the problem is that they started chipping two days after I painted them. I’m sorry but I’m a mother of an infant. I don’t have the time to give myself a manicure every three days.

On Friday I asked about those gel manicures. I’d heard they stay on for several weeks and I can find the time to do my nails every few weeks. Unfortunately only professionals can do gel manicures and I’d really rather not shell out $25 and a couple hours of my time. Thankfully, several of you told me about the Seche Vite Top Coat.

I took a trip to Ulta and Sally’s on Saturday and this is my loot. (I am not a photographer, this is from my cell phone.)

The top coat isn’t pictured but I bought that too. I was in search of the new OPI Texas line and in my search, I found the clearance bin. (Is the Texas line released?) Clearance nail polish is one of the great joys in life. I bought two OPIs, three China Glazes, and one Orly.

Thanks to you, I have painted my nails twice in one week. I feel a new Sunday evening hobby coming into my life. I can’t say that I mind, especially if this top coat does what it says it does. I painted them last night and an hour later, I held my wiggly child. No scuffs or imprints at all. To me, that is magical. I’ll update you later in the week about how how long my manicure lasts without chipping, but the quick dry time in addition to the shiny, professional look pretty much makes me a believer in this product!

Thanks friends! Here’s my current look. OPI’s Meet Me On The Star Ferry.

ToT is posted.

Entry filed under: Blogging. Tags: , , .

A Friday List Ten on Tuesday (64)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darla Baerg  |  January 24, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Love it! I’m going to try the seche vite too.

  • 2. Katy Livingston  |  January 24, 2011 at 10:48 am

    I can’t really craft OR cook very well! Maybe that’s why I have such a hard time keeping up a blog! (P.S. I’m doing exactly what you said blogs do to you, because I have the strong urge to paint my nails now)…

  • 3. Alicia  |  January 24, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Have you ever tried the Sinful Colors nail polishes at Walgreens? They’re fantastic. They come in … too many colors to list and they’re only $1.99. They’re buy one get one free every 3 weeks or so and the forumulation is fantastic. They’re thick, the colors are rich and amazing, but yea, they stain your nails like crazy (if you don’t use a base coat) and take a little bit longer to dry.

  • 4. mom (nana)  |  January 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    wowzie…nails look great! You didn’t inherit my yucky nails – you are fortunate.

  • 5. Southern Gal  |  January 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Yes, please post another picture of your nails at the end of the week. I’m anxious to see if it will work. I would love to paint mine if it wasn’t an all consuming project every other day.

  • 6. KT  |  January 24, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I’m a big fan of Sally Hansen Diamond Strength nail polish. I find that it lasts forever!

    Also, to keep your nails from staining, put down a coat of clear nail polish before painting your nails. Then put it down again over the nail polish- it helps with chipping.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

