A List And Stuff

February 11, 2011 at 7:14 am 12 comments

1.
I just started to write out my number one and it ended up being so long that I’m going to save it for an actual post at some point. I don’t know why I’m telling you this.

2.
I finished reading Half Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls for Big Mama’s book club. I’m now reading The Glass Castle, which so many of you have recommended to me over the past year or two. It’s great. If you enjoy reading, pick these two up, for sure. But just be warned: This family is full of complete freak jobs. I recommend reading them in the order that I read them (even though I think they were written opposite) because Half Broke Horses is about the grandmother’s life and The Glass Castle is about the mother’s life. So it’s in chronological order this way, and that just makes more sense to me.

3.
Okay yesterday someone shared something on Twitter that totally blew me away. It won’t make sense to some of you. Remember the television show Blossom? Yeah… Blossom is Amy Farrah Fowler on Big Bang Theory. I didn’t believe it so I looked it up on IMDB. It’s for real. Amazing. I never would have noticed.

4.
One of these days I’m going to post a video of Jansen when he gets the uncontrollable giggles. It’s probably the cutest thing you’ll ever see in your life. The problem is that EVERY time I get the video camera out, he stops. Every single time. I think I should invent a camera that is hidden in the eyeball of a stuffed animal so he won’t notice. I’ll work on it. (Not on the invention but on getting a good video of him.)

5.
Have a great weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The Little Gentleman My Sweet Boy

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  February 11, 2011 at 7:52 am

    We had some friends who would go to take pictures of their baby boy with an iPhone, but as soon as he saw the silver apple sign, he would stop smiling. So, now she has to cover it up to get the picture.

  • 2. rachel  |  February 11, 2011 at 8:25 am

    Your answer is the Nanny Cam. They think it’s an innocent stuffed animal and only you know the truthπŸ™‚

  • 3. Aunt Bonnie  |  February 11, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Knew you would like those books and I agree about the order. That family had amazing resilience!

  • 4. Bec  |  February 11, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Have you read the book “Heaven is for Real?” You should check it out, very heartwarming.
    http://www.amazon.com/Heaven-Real-Little-Astounding-ebook/dp/B004A90BXS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1297439102&sr=1-1

  • 5. Nora  |  February 11, 2011 at 10:58 am

    I haven’t watched Big Bang Theory yet this season (I fell behind on LAST season, I’m the worst tv person ever) but OMG, Blossom!? Craziness!

  • 6. Stefanie  |  February 11, 2011 at 11:01 am

    The minute Amy Farrah Fowler showed up on the show I recognized her. But I was like “hey, it’s that girl!”…. I couldn’t place that she was Blossom but I knew I had seen her before so I googled it. Love Big Bang!

  • 7. Debbie  |  February 11, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Oh yeah, we recognized Blossom right away. Isn’t that crazy?!?! She’s so awkward on BBT…i LOVE it. Ha, did you see the episode a few months ago when she had a sleepover girls party at Penny’s place? HI-LARIOUS! Loved her in that one.πŸ™‚

    Did you know Blossom is a super brainiac in real life? I think she graduated from Harvard or some big fancy school?

  • 8. Kyria  |  February 12, 2011 at 6:25 am

    I read The Glass Castle and really liked it, so am glad to hear that the next book is just as good. I look forward to reading it! (and yes, the family is crazy, but interesting for sure!)

    Have a great weekend yourself!

  • 9. KEZ  |  February 12, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    I decided to come up with ToT questions for you…feel free to use them or not use them…or whatever. =)

    1) How did your parents decide on your name?
    2) Do your initials (First, Middle, Last) spell out anything fun/funny?
    3) Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you take your maiden name as your middle name?
    4) Are you or will you name your children thematically (ie. same first letter, all of same origin…)
    5) Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?
    6) Does your family have a name/s that have been passed down through generations?
    7) Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?
    8) Do you name pets with human names (Sally, Henry) or with pet names (Fluffy, Mr Bo Bo)
    9) Are there any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?
    10) What are some of your favorite names? Why?

  • 10. Stephany  |  February 12, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    I’ve never seen Blossom but I remembered reading somewhere that she was going to be on Secret Life after getting her PhD in some neuroscience degree. Like, serious stuff. (Why anyone would get a PhD and then go back to acting is beyond me!) And then I saw her on BBT and recognized her.

    She is SO WEIRD on BBT, lol. I’m not sure if I really like her character. I feel exhausted when I watch her. Of course, this may be because I’m in love with Sheldon Cooper and think he should be with Penny.πŸ˜‰

  • 11. That Married Couple  |  February 12, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    Yes, we were shocked when we first realized Blossom was back, too!

  • 12. Kristin  |  February 12, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    I can’t wait to see a video of him! Laughing baby videos are what my friends and I look at while taking breaks from studying at 2am (there is nothing more helpful for staying awake than watching laughing babies for 10 minutes!)

    I would suggest just trying to get him to feel comfortable with the video camera around. When I do family portraits, I find that just taking pictures (in your case, video) for a while, even if you never use them or they don’t turn out, before actually taking the pictures helps everyone, especially babies and kids act more naturally.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

