Ten on Tuesday (70)

March 8, 2011 at 6:30 am 35 comments

This week’s questions were provided by KEZ from Sinner Following Jesus. Go say hello and thank her for her questions. They are a fun bunch! I’m not the only one who thinks so, Twitter was all a flutter last night with people talking about how great these questions are!

Also, just to let you all know, the questions are posted every Monday morning. See that Ten on Tuesday button on the right? Click that. The questions and previous weeks are listed there. Lots of those archive links are screwed up. One day when I have about 4 spare hours or an intern, I’ll fix those.

1. How did your parents decide on your name?
Well my parents were going to name me Megan but decided not to since it rhymed with my last name. They picked out two names that they liked (were they from a book, mom?) and asked my brother what he liked. He chose Chelsea.

2. Do your initials (First, Middle, Last) spell out anything fun/funny?
Nope. I used to be CRR, now I am CRH. Although my dad’s initials are KAR and his old license plate used to be THE KAR. Then he got a truck. His name is Kurt A. so his new license plate is A TRUK, which is Kurt A. backward. Leave him a comment and tell him how clever he is.

3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you take your maiden name as your middle name? (If unmarried, what do you plan to do?)
I kept my middle name for a few reason. First, I believe that marriage is when two become one. A woman leaves her family and becomes one with her husband. It’s very symbolic to me to drop that name and take my husband’s name. Secondly, my maiden name was 10 letters long. That’s just ridiculous.

4. Are you or will you name your children thematically (ie. same first letter, all of same origin…)
No. I don’t like themed children. The only thing that will be consistent with our children is that they’ll have middle names that have family significance.

5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?
I liked several names throughout my life but never settled on one. I always knew I’d want to choose names with my husband. I’m glad, too, because I think Jansen is a pretty awesome name. The girl name we picked out is awesome too, but I’m realllllly scared that it’s about to become popular. I’ve heard a few baby girls with the name lately and it really makes me angry. I thought we were being so original.

6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?
Jansen, Stephen, and Stephen’s dad all share the same middle name, Bridges. That’s the only one.

7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?
I don’t look at the meaning. I don’t really care what a name means as long as I like the name. That may be because Chelsea means “a harbor” and I never really identified with that. Although Stephen and I recently discussed how we like the idea of naming a child after the character you want them to have, like they did in the Bible. But mainly we just want to choose unique names that sound good with our last name.

8. Do you name pets with human names (Sally, Henry) or with pet names (Fluffy, Mr. Bo Bo)?
Our dog’s name is Rookie. I assume there are no humans by this name.

9. Are there any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?
None that I extremely love or hate, but almost every name has a connotation to it. That’s one reason we really wanted to choose unique names for our kids.

10. What are some of your favorite names? Why?
Well I can’t tell you some of them because we like to keep our baby names a secret. But I have always loved the names Kate and Jane. Something about the simple elegance of those timeless names. But I’ll never use them because our last name is only one syllable and that just sounds weird.

Link up here.

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday.

Quick Rundown Plan My Vacation For Me, Would Ya?

35 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  March 8, 2011 at 7:23 am

    Wow, your dad is clever!

    This was a fun group of questions. I mean, all of your questions are, but this was a good theme!

  • 2. Southern Gal  |  March 8, 2011 at 7:49 am

    Love these questions!

    1. My mama liked the name I’m called by. My dad picked out a name he liked. It happened to be the name of a former crush! Needless to say I’m not called by that name. My sister and I both go by our middle names.

    2. Nope

    3. Since I go by my middle name I use my maiden name as my middle name now.

    4. No. All my children do have names that are mentioned in the bible, though, just because I liked them.

    And for the record, that baby girl name you like? We only knew one Jacob in 1991 when our Jacob was born and he was a teenager. (#17 on the charts I see now.) In a couple of years Jacob flew to the top of the popular name charts and it’s still #1! And Ethan did the same thing – it was #17. It went to #5 the next year and is number 2 now. There’s no predicting it. My sister had 5 Michele’s in her first grade class.

    Go here http://www.ssa.gov/oact/babynames/. Type in the name you’re thinking of and it will show how that name has ranked up to the present. You can see if it’s trending toward being hugely popular.

    5. We decided on a baby girl name when we were engaged. Stuck to it….Rebekah. I still love it.

    6. No.

    7. Just the name. Jacob means usurper. Not a nice meaning.

    8. Human names: Tiffany, Annie, Callie, Sallie and Rocky since we’ve been married.

    9. Yes, but I won’t list them here.

    10. I love old names.

    Sorry this is so long! Let me know how your baby girl name ranks.

  • 3. Angela  |  March 8, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Ha! I wish my initials spelled out something more clever.

  • 4. o0amber0o  |  March 8, 2011 at 8:46 am

    The intiial question reminded me of being in Jr high and this kid who had the initial PMS and people would make fun of him all the time for it, lol

    Oh the humor of Jr High kids…so sad.

  • 5. abby  |  March 8, 2011 at 8:47 am

    1. My parents picked a name and my older brothers accidently slipped up and told my grandma who disliked the name, so they decided to pick another name. They picked Abigail out of a book. They had never heard it before and it meant “A fathers joy” so my dad liked that. They thought it was original. Then by the time I went to school everyone had the same name!
    2. My initials used to spell ALE like a ginger ALE:) Now I’m ALB. Not exciting either way.
    3. I kept my middle name. I had NEVER heard of someone keeping their maiden name for their middle name until my inlaws asked me about it and thought I was CRAZY for keeping my middle name. Um, I like my middle name and I don’t need 2 last names. THANKYOUVERYMUCH. But now that I live in the “south” I find that many people keep their maiden name. Not for me.
    4. Nope
    5. There were certain names that I liked when I was younger but I didn’t have a set name that I HAD to use and I’m glad because it was fully a joint effort to decide on a name for our baby. (BTW, I think that whole unique/popular thing always happens! I totally thought we were being unique with Adalyn’s name and when I would tell people what her name would be no one had ever heard it. I had never heard it before either. Now they are everywhere. My sitter who watches 4 kids now has 2 Adalyns. Whaaa?? Not ok.)
    6. Nope. Although I did give my daughter my grandma’s name for her middle name.
    7. I like looking at the meaning but the ultimate choice was the name and not the meaning. (I can’t even remember what Adalyn means. Does that make me a bad mom?)
    8. Yes, my dog’s name is Dakota – which is used as a human name, but it’s a STATE too! It’s kinda nice to have a “normal” name for him when I’m picking up his (human) meds at Kroger. It would be way more embarassing to ask for Fluffy’s medications while picking up my own:))
    9. There are a lot of names I wouldn’t use because they remind me of people I have known through the years.
    10. I don’t know…that’s why it will be so hard to find another name for another child at some point! 🙂

    GREAT questions! Loved them:)

  • 6. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  March 8, 2011 at 9:03 am

    #2 Tell your dad he’s VERY clever! 🙂
    #5 Don’t you hate that?!? Just when you start liking a name and thinking it’s all cool and unique… everyone starts using it. Boo.
    #10 Great names!

  • 7. Kate  |  March 8, 2011 at 9:05 am

    haha I giggled out loud at your dad. Very clever! Reminded me of my own dad. 🙂

    I’m joining in for the first time today! Great questions!

  • 8. Nora  |  March 8, 2011 at 9:20 am

    That’s really cute that your brother got to help in naming you! Love that story 🙂

    Jane is a super adorable girls name. I’m with you, though, I don’t share the names I like either for the same reason (secret/people steal them!)

  • 9. Katie  |  March 8, 2011 at 9:34 am

    I didn’t used to share names either but now that I am done having kids I can share!
    Great set of questions!

  • 10. Ten on Tuesday | Simply Sarah  |  March 8, 2011 at 9:45 am

    […] questions were brought to you by: {In you PSA voice} KEZ @ Sinner Following Jesus and Chelsea @ Roots & Rings. Go check em […]

  • 11. Garnet  |  March 8, 2011 at 10:33 am

    I agree that is SO sweet your brother got to help name you!

  • 12. Lia  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:03 am

    I love your dad’s license plate!

  • 13. Stacie  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:09 am

    I told my MIL the name I am in LOVE with for our future son and she very literally asked me if I was crazy. I am definitely going to use it now, just like I made my bridesmaids wear long dresses because she told me to re-think that idea. HA!

  • 14. Melissa  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:21 am

    i dropped my middle name & made my maiden name my middle name, but i too believe that marriage is 2 becoming one & the woman leaves her family to become one w/ her husband. Very strongly believe that. It is symbolic to me, too, which is why i would never keep both names as my LAST & hyphenate them. Plus my maiden name sounds so much better w/ my new last name. My middle name sounds kind of weird w/ it.

    My first time to your blog!! Enjoyed participating. 🙂

  • 15. Ashalah  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I like how we were both almost named Megan (I was going to be Meagan)! Your dad also made me laugh. VERY clever! 🙂

    Great set of questions!

  • 16. Erica  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:38 am

    First-timer for Ten on Tuesday over here!

    Names are so important. Great topic, I had fun participating.

  • 17. mintyfresch  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:41 am

    You dad is great! That sounds like something I would do. =)

    Thanks for letting me participate!

  • 18. Ten on Tuesday « Life as Kara  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:50 am

    […] Link up to Ten On Tuesday! […]

  • 19. Life as Kara  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:53 am

    I love the license plate idea – your dad is creative!

  • 20. KEZ  |  March 8, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I’m so glad people are enjoying the questions! I love names! =)

  • 21. Holly  |  March 8, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Your dad is clever 😀 I have a friend whose daughter’s initials spell “SKY” and her first name is Skylar … I like when they spell things but that’s a bit much. Our last name starts with a B and my husband spent MONTHS trying to come up with names for our son that would spell “BOOB” …

  • 22. Ten on a Tuesday: Name Game | Mining Garnet  |  March 8, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    […] to hear about how someone got their name and the meanings and stories behind it. Big thanks to Chelsea for always hosting […]

  • 23. Remy  |  March 8, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Totally almost forgot to link up today LOL but I did just now.

    http://cinnabubbles.blogspot.com/2011/03/ten-on-tuesday-70.html

  • 24. Kathleen  |  March 8, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    I don’t think Kate or Jane would sound weird at all with your last name. I think they both sound lovely! I’m really curious what your girl name is–not because I want to steal it though!

  • 25. Stevie  |  March 8, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    That is too funny about your dad. My mum’s name is Vicki, and growing up we had a Volkswagon Vanagon. Her license plate said VICSWGN. Everyone loved it. Her car was famous in our town 🙂

    I adore the name Jane. I think it has a simple beauty to it, and it’s also a really strong name.

  • 26. Awakening Lisa » Post Topic » Ten on Tuesday  |  March 8, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    […] Ten on Tuesday […]

  • 27. mom (nana)  |  March 8, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    1. How did your parents decide on your name?
    I am named after my mom (Alice) and my middle name is from two of my aunts (Fay) – I am assuming the names we had for you were from a book – since we did have a book

    2. Do your initials (First, Middle, Last) spell out anything fun/funny?
    I used to be AFS and now am AR or ASR or AFR…. Nope…don’t think that stands for anything.

    3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you take your maiden name as your middle name? (If unmarried, what do you plan to do?) Hmmm….I really only go by my first and last name. I do, however, have my maiden name (Smith) on my drivers license as my middle name….I never really liked my middle name so I didn’t put it down anywhere.

    4. Are you or will you name your children thematically (ie. same first letter, all of same origin…)
    Didn’t name them thematically….

    5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?
    Loved the name Elizabeth when I was young but didn’t use it.

    6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?
    My sister gave her son the middle name of Gordon – my dad’s name is that and my grandfather’s name was that also. Also, my sister named her other son, Gregory, which was my grandmother’s maiden name…. My sister is smarter than me. She chose names better than I did…I do like the fact that kids have family names. I was too young to realize that at the time I had kids. However, I don’t think any of my 3 kids will let me change their names. 🙂 (We did name the 3rd one after her aunt)

    7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?
    Just the name itself. There was a bar name “Chelsea Street Pub” when we were in college….no, you are not named after a pub…

    8. Do you name pets with human names (Sally, Henry) or with pet names (Fluffy, Mr. Bo Bo)?
    Our dog’s name is Molly. Which is a DARLING girls name!

    9. Are there any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?
    Nope but I hear teachers have a TERRIBLE time naming their kids for that very reason. A couple we know are BOTH teachers and they said it was HARD…..

    10. What are some of your favorite names? Why?
    Justin, Chelsea, Lindsay, Avery and Jansen – because they are my kiddos and their kiddos! 🙂

  • 28. Sidetrack'd » Blog Archive » Ten on Tuesday (70)  |  March 8, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    […] I’m going to do something today that I haven’t done in a while. (It could be because I haven’t really blogged much in a while, but let’s not rehash that.) I am going to participate in Chelsea’s fun little weekly link-up/meme known as Ten on Tuesday. […]

  • 29. Jana @sidetrackd  |  March 8, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I haven’t participated in a while, but these questions were too fun to pass up!

  • 30. Kaitlin  |  March 8, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    I loved these questions!

  • 31. E  |  March 8, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    I love your dad’s license plates!

  • 32. Taryn  |  March 9, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    1. They remembered a girl’s name that they taught when they were in the Bronx and thought it was pretty. I was going to be either Carly or Taryn and they picked Taryn.

    2. Nope. TNB is now TNE. I purposfully avoided marrying someone with the last initial of A or T, for obvious reasons!

    3. I kept my middle name and took my husband’s name.

    4. Nope. We’re not sure what we’re naming our daughter, but her first name will def NOT be Leia!

    5. Nah, never really thought about what I would name my kids when I was a kid.

    6. Hubby and his dad are Sr. and Jr…. his uncle and cousin are both Barry. Other than that, no, our families really don’t have names that have been passed down.

    7. Nope, I don’t look at the meanings.

    8. Our dog is Yoda. I highly doubt too many people want that name.

    9. I won’t ever name my daughter Denise, Lisa, or Rachel.

    10. I really like the names Jacob, Rhys, and Caleb for boys. I’m stuck on girl’s names right now…. we’re really having a hard time with this one.

  • 33. Meredith @ Thank You Ma'am  |  March 9, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Those were super fun questions indeed! And your dad is hilarious, that sounds like something my dad would do too.

    Also, I love the name Jansen – it’s original without being one of those “made up” names that I despise.

  • 34. Ashley  |  March 10, 2011 at 2:12 am

    Bridges is such an interesting middle name.

  • 35. lisa  |  March 11, 2011 at 7:50 am

    We thought we were being original (classic without being stuffy, and not trendy), and then I read that Olivia was #3 in 2009. We went with it anyway because we loved it.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win