An Open Book

August 4, 2009 at 9:12 am 30 comments

I need a moment to be honest. To be frank. To throw myself out there.

There is some deep rooted desire in me to write. I love to write. I don’t  really know why. I have never had any training, aside from the common English/literature class throughout school. But there is just something about a blank screen and the potential for something great. I love to read. I love to get lost in a book and learn the characters. I love it when a book can make me laugh out loud. Oh how I would love to be able to produce something like that. I can’t even tell you the joy I would feel if I walked past someone in a coffee shop reading a book I’d written and they laughed out loud.

Maybe it’s some middle child syndrome and I have the need to feel loved. Or maybe I just like to see people happy. You be the judge. (Don’t tell me the verdict.)

I can remember one time in third grade I was at a park with a friend. We were running around and making up stories and having a wonderful time. I was quite inventive back then. On this hill we found a few very suspicious objects. A glove. A bone. And a stair rail. In hindsight, the glove was probably a little kids’ batting glove that fell out of his bag. The bone was probably a toothpick or piece of plastic. And the stair rail looking thing was probably related to the sewage system or a man hole or something. I’m quite curious actually. I can’t vividly remember it- I only remember what we wanted it to be. So anyways, we instantly formulated this story based on these items. We loved this story. We needed to write it down. Her mom took us to the store and bought us a journal. We spent the rest of the afternoon writing this story down.

I want that. We were quite literally overflowing with words that we couldn’t wait one more second to write it down. I hear that’s how Stephanie Meyers was with Twilight. She woke up one morning having dreamt about a vampire and a girl standing in a meadow and couldn’t wait to find out what happened to them. So she wrote. And wrote. And wrote. And now we all know of the love story between Edward and Bella. Say whatever you want about the series (not here though), but it was a great story. I am considering taking a few doses of NyQuil each night and praying for some crazy dreams.

Just kidding. I think.

So the problem at hand is not if I can write or not. I may not be a great writer and I’m sure I am way off on some major grammer rules. But there are a consistent number of people who read what I write each day. So maybe I don’t know when to properly use “ly”  on the end of words, and yes, it often seems that I have a love affair with the comma… but you’re still reading. So I must be doing something right.

I started this blog as a challenge to myself. I always wanted to be a writer. I never had a story to tell but I always wanted to write. I figured that there would be no sense at trying my hand at a novel if I couldn’t manage to write about myself. So I challenged myself to write every day. Even if I had absolutely nothing to write about, I had to publish something. (I apologize for those days. Really.) I’m now 149 posts into this Roots & Rings venture and I’ve surprised even myself. I quite enjoy facing the blank screen each day.

Sure, there are plenty of people who don’t read. Plenty of people who are close to me that never even think about visiting this site. And while I may not understand why they don’t read, I accept it as part of the writing game. Not everyone cares about what I have to say. (Shocking, I know!)

I’m considering a new challenge. After spending the weekend at a beautiful beach house, I have this insanely strong desire to write. I don’t know if it’s the air, the clean colors, the worry free atmosphere, the big windows… I don’t know but it’s consuming my thoughts and I feel like I’m on the brink of something great. Well, maybe not great… but good. Maybe not even good. But I’m on the brink of something. I will NEVER write a novel if I don’t try. I will never write anything if I don’t just sit down and write. Right?! It’s the whole “you’ll miss 100% of the shots you don’t take” issue. I will never meet this goal if I don’t even try.

Stephen and I are visiting the idea of buying a netbook for me to explore this passion. I think a hot pink Dell mini could really stimulate my creativity.

There is really no point of this post. Maybe it’s for accountability. I can no longer ignore this desire for fear of failure. I would go out on a limb and say that 99% of all aspiring authors fail. So I think I’d be in good company. What’s worse than failure is the debilitating regret I would feel if I never even tried.

So what do I want from you? Simple. Your continued support here at R&R so that on days when I feel like I can’t write for crap, I can come here and see that someone still enjoys to read what I write. A few prayers would be good. Somehow I need to come up with a story and God knows that my imagination is lacking! And finally, if you have any knowledge on netbooks, let me know. I don’t need much. I basically just need something with Word, the internet, and it would be great if I could store photos on there. That’s all I need.

Thanks for coming here for your daily dose of R&R. You’ve encouraged me.

I’ll blame you if I fail.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Galveston. Tags: , , , .

My Weekend Was Better Than Yours Our Lush Life

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:51 am

    How exciting! I have no advice on writing novels or netbooks but I have tons of positive energy and thoughts and prayers to send your way. I love your blog so I’m sure I will love whatever else you create 😀

  • 2. Mom  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:01 am

    GO FOR IT!!!!!!! YOU CAN DO IT!!!!! Haven’t we been telling you that? I love you – and you can use Bella Rose for inspiration anytime…well not ANY time. 🙂

  • 3. Aunt Becky  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Your talent and passion is a precious gift, Chelsea! It’s not just a hobby or past-time for your own enjoyment, it’s a gift you share for others to enjoy beginning with this blog and then someday – a New York bestseller! I believe in you.

  • 4. Caroline  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I think you’re a talented writer and obviously your blog writing has captivated an audience. You can do it! I’ll be your guinea pig anytime.

  • 5. Lindsay  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I told you from the start that you should write a book! ..called that one!

  • 6. Kristin  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:34 am

    I think that you have an incredible gift for writing and should absolutely go for it!

  • 7. Dad  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:39 am

    You’re definitely gifted! And, you clearly enjoy it. Creating things from scratch is lots of fun. I love reading your writing and others clearly do also.

  • 8. Jimbo  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Let me hop on the positivity train…your blog is fantastic Chelsea and that is 95% due to your ability as a written storyteller (the other 5% goes to Stephen for giving you so much material to tell stories about!). You do have a gift and your passion for it and enjoyment of it indicate you should go for it. So, go for it!

    Besides, I’ve always wanted to appear on an “Acknowledgments” page in a published book! 🙂

  • 9. Samantha  |  August 4, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I love that you posted this today. I was actually just writing about “writing” and how no matter where I venture in life, writing still remains my passion. I would love to write a book, but I seem to always feel so intimidated and overwhelmed by the mere thought of it that I never get myself to begin. So it’s nice to know that there are people out there who feel the same way. You’re encouraging – not only to yourself but to others who read your blog. I wish you the best of luck, and you’ve got a fan in me! I really enjoy your writing!

  • 10. Pippy  |  August 4, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I laugh out loud at some of the things that you write sometimes….so you’re close already!
    I also laugh out loud at how alike we are, I happen to be writing something too. The urge took over about 3 weeks ago lol.
    Good luck! Let me know how it goes!

  • 11. Darla  |  August 4, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I want a pink mini computer because they are WAY cute!! I love my Mac though and they don’t make pink macs…yet. 🙂

    Schlitterbahn in Galveston was fun. I did not like it as much as the one in New Braunfels but my husband actually liked it better. His reasoning was that it was smaller and you never felt rushed and the lazy river was bigger and had rapids in it. My thoughts were that the crowd was a little different at the Galveston one and it just didn’t seem quite as nice. Out of 10 I’d probably give it a 7 or 8. It’s worth a trip though…just to try it out.

    Oh, and I also meant to tell you Happy (belated) Anniversary!!

  • 12. Alma  |  August 4, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Hey Chelsea,

    One of my all time favorites, Benjamin Franklin, once said:
    “…Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.”

    Looks to me like you’ve already got both sides of the coin covered
    : ) Have fun WRITING!

  • 13. anne  |  August 4, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Thank you kindly for posting on my blog 🙂 Glad to have you!

    In regards to your recent passion… no doubt you have talent. Go with it… embrace it, and run with it.

    (Naturally a new HOT PINK dell will add to the perfection!)

  • 14. Jimbo  |  August 4, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Alma, what a great quotation! I’m going to keep that one…

  • 15. Lyndsey  |  August 4, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    I can’t wait to read your book.

    I love stephanie meyer and her writing because she made me love the characters and want to be involved in their story. I doubt that she had perfect structure and punctuation on the first draft. You make me love your characters and want to be involved in their stories every day on your blog and even in your hilarious emails. You have a VERY distinct voice, and it rocks!

    I am proud of you!

  • 16. Autumn  |  August 4, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Go for it!
    I always say that one day I’ll write a book!
    One of us should!

  • 17. Christine  |  August 4, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Please keep on writing because I love reading your blog! If you write a book and publish it, I promise to buy it!

  • 18. Lisa  |  August 4, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    GO FOR IT! You are not just talented, you are gifted, and when God gives you that gift, He gives you what you need, but maybe not all at once. I can’t wait to see what happens next!!!!
    Love you bunches!

  • 19. Jill  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    I was once a cheerleader. I will dust off my pom-poms and cheer for you!!

    And anything hot pink inspires creativity. It is a scientifically proven fact. Just don’t ask me to give you citations for that or anything.

  • 20. Rachel  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    You can do it! I can’t help but think of the Waterboy. 🙂 Keep reading… I’ll keep reading.

  • 21. Rachel  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Good god. Keep WRITING… I’ll keep reading. But you should keep reading, that’s a good thing too.

  • 22. Ginger  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    As I’ve mentioned before, one of the things I love about your blog is how it is structured. My grandpa used to be the editor for the Pasadena Citizen a looooong time ago, and he wrote little life stories, similar to what Leon Hale does. This is what you do, and you are awesome at it. You write stuff that is easily identified with in a way that is entertaining and inviting. You have a gift.

    Also, there can never be too many commas!!

  • 23. The Husband  |  August 4, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    YAY WIFE!!!

    We’ll get you that netbook soon enough!! I’ll just be so sad when I lose you to that little pink, plastic word processor.

    …oh well, it’ll be worth it!

    LOVE YOU!

  • 24. Ashley  |  August 5, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Good for you! And I’m sure the new computer will help 🙂

  • 25. osarah  |  August 5, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Chelsea, I think this is great! Of course, you know I’ve been rooting for this for awhile.

    I read my mom a few of your posts the other day, and her first comment (without prompting from me) was that you should write a book, so she’s on the bandwagon as well.

    Also, just FYI I frequently laugh out loud about things you have written – you’re clever and entertaining 🙂

  • 26. Aunt Bonnie  |  August 5, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Chels, I KNOW you can do it. There have been many of your blogs that have me laughing out loud. I’ve told you repeatedly that you have an amazing talent for writing and besides the talent….you ENJOY it. That pretty much cinches it in my book. Something you’re good at and enjoy….how can you go wrong? You can’t! You know we’re al in your corner. Your mom loaned my the book Wednesday Sisters about a group of ladies who encouraged each other to write. If I hadn’t brought it home with me and already passed it on, I would send it back to you. Got to 1/2 price books and get a copy. Basically it’ll tell you…..JUST WRITE!!!!!
    Love you

  • 27. mastroianni66  |  August 6, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    You write gooder than most people so why not try a novel. You don’t need a new computer to do it either (although it’s always nice to have one) you can do it on anything. I’ve been writing for years and most of what I consider my best stuff was done on an old 6gig desktop.

    check out this site for inspiration:
    http://www.protagonize.com
    and also
    http://www.nanowrimo.com

  • 28. Taryn M. Peine  |  August 11, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    As a rejected writer of a book no one will ever read, I can tell you to DO IT. Rejection doesn’t happen to everyone who writes a book, but when it does happen, it’s much better than wondering what would have happened if you would have just sat down and done it. You will learn so much about yourself in the process! And a laptop is absolutely necessary. I always tell Drew I just can’t be inspired sitting at a desk. You need to move around!!

  • 29. Emily  |  August 31, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I just stumbled onto your blog from Conversion Diary and wanted to tell you I think this is a great post. You express this feeling beautifully and I should know, I feel this way myself. Anyway, thanks for the great post. I look forward to browsing through your blog more in the future!

  • 30. This Heavenly Life  |  August 31, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    This feels EXACTLY like why I began my blog. I want to be a writer, but have no background or training, nothing other than the joy that comes from pushing words together on a blank page. And I felt like blogging would be like some sort of good exercise for learning how to write well. You’ve inspired me. I don’t know what towards… 🙂 But I’m so glad you put yourself out there this way.

    And netbooks – in case you still need this info – are generally not good for storing photos or even lots of documents. It’s basically JUST for the internet. I think you could buy external hard drives for the storage…not too sure about that though. I’d say a cheap regular laptop would be a wiser investment. You know – given all the travel you’ll be doing to research some characters in your novel 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

