Ten on Tuesday (27)

April 20, 2010 at 7:30 am 18 comments

This week’s questions were provided by Courtney at Practicing Patience. Go visit her and thank her for her questions.

1.  What two cities should be moved closer together?
Houston and Orlando – I’d like to be able to go to Disney World whenever I want! The cost of tickets is so high that when you add a plane ticket and hotel, it’s just not possible. Or maybe Houston and New York. I’d love to be able to spend a weekend in New York to see a show or go to a fancy restaurant.

2. What was the first plane ride you took? 
I honestly have no idea. I imagine it was to Colorado at some point in my childhood. We go there every few years. Nine times out of ten, we drive… but I’m sure there were times that we flew. I have no idea. How sad is that?! I’m not the type of person that is scared of flying so it didn’t make an impact on me.

3. What continent would you most like to visit? 
Europe. There are so many places I’d like to go. If only I had a bottomless bank account and oodles of vacation time!

4. What’s your favorite place to window-shop?
I love just being at The Container Store. It makes me happy. I also love Williams Sonoma, Target, Hobby Lobby… and I’m sure I could think of a million other places after I read y’all’s answers.

5. What’s the least fun you’ve ever had at a place specifically tailored for fun?
The first thing that comes to mind is one of the worst nights of my life. I went to the movies to see The Dark Knight and got the worst migraine of my life. I was in the middle of the row and we were there with several other people. I didn’t feel like I could just get up and walk out. Plus I was nervous that if I started walking, I’d vomit everywhere. So I sat through a loud, flashy movie and thought, “Don’t throw up. Don’t throw up. Don’t throw up.” FOR THE ENTIRE 17 HOURS OF THE MOVIE!

6.  You’re stuck on an island with plenty of food, a companion, and a relatively stress-free lifestyle. What do you say when the rescue ship comes? 
I say, “Come here companion. Let’s board this ship and go back to civilization and the internet.”

7. Which day of the week do you look forward to most? 
Saturdays. I love Saturdays. I (usually) don’t have to set my alarm, I can be productive, I don’t have to go to work, I don’t have a bedtime. Do I need to go on?

8. What’s your favorite place to enjoy the great outdoors? 
The beach. The beach. The beach. I LOVE the beach. I love the sand and the sun and the sound of the waves. I love a cold beverage and a good book. I love it all!

9. What’s on your “to do” list this summer? 
Summer doesn’t have the same meaning as it did in school. Now it’s just the same as the rest of the year, only hotter. Much hotter. But during this hot season that is just like any other season, I will be getting my life ready for this baby. We’ll be nesting. We’ll decorate the nursery, have showers, read some What The Heck To Do With A Baby books, and try not to freak out. Don’t worry, you’ll be there for the whole thing.

10. Which natural disaster freaks you out the most?
The only natural disaster the directly affects me is hurricanes. (I seriously stared at that sentence for like 5 minutes. “is hurricanes” or “are hurricanes”?? Don’t worry, I will not home school my kids.) I’m sure I’d be scared of tornadoes if they came in my area, or blizzards if it actually got cold here, or whatever else. But for me… just hurricanes.

Your turn. Hopefully I’ll be able to visit this week.

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Pregnant Pause – Week 18 Loser 9.14: Smells Like Fat

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  April 20, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Williams Sonoma is my favorite place to wander around looking at all the pretty stuff I can’t afford!

  • 2. Karen  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:21 am

    1. What two cities should be moved closer together?
    At this time, I wish it could be Guyton GA, where I live and Ridgeland SC, where I take my animals to be fixed, it takes me an hour to get there and I have to have them there by 7:30 AM and when I pick them up the next day, I have to drive back home to drop them off and then head out to work, but it is worth it, they only charge $75. for a female dog and the others are less, compared to $200. for a female dog just to go right down the street. They are called SNAC, and they are great.

    2. What was the first plane ride you took?
    When my brother in law was in the army and stationed in Killeen TX, I went there when I was 13 and spent the summer with my oldest sister, we had a great time.

    3. What continent would you most like to visit?
    I would say Europe too.

    4. What’s your favorite place to window-shop?
    Most of the places in downtown Savannah GA, they have a lot of art, antique, and other places to see. I love just walking down the street and looking at everything.

    5. What’s the least fun you’ve ever had at a place specifically tailored for fun?
    I am sure there is one, but I am drawing a blank on this one.

    6. You’re stuck on an island with plenty of food, a companion, and a relatively stress-free lifestyle.
    What do you say when the rescue ship comes?
    As long as I had my babies (animals) with me I would say, Get outa here, Get outa here, go away, leave us alone.

    7. Which day of the week do you look forward to most?
    I would say Sundays, I call it my hibernation day, I stay home, clean house, watch movies, whatever I want.

    8. What’s your favorite place to enjoy the great outdoors?
    In the woods, I love being in the woods.

    9. What’s on your “to do” list this summer?
    Wash my house, the siding has all that green stuff on it, it drives me crazy.

    10. Which natural disaster freaks you out the most?
    Tornadoes, I would not want to be in the middle of one.

  • 3. Molly  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:21 am

    You are going to have such a fun summer getting ready for the Hurstling!! The excitement of waiting for your little one is ALMOST as great as the excitement when (s)he arrives.

    Oh man…the Container Store! I love that place!

  • 4. Amanda  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I actually went around and participated this week! YAY!!

  • 5. Debbie  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Oh yeah, I forgot about the Container Store..good one! How fun, all the nesting, showers, excitement for the baby’s arrival. Such a fun time. Minus the 100+ weather. We’ll just not think about that one. 🙂

    My answers are on the linky!

  • 6. Danielle  |  April 20, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Hahaha I’m so with you on #6! I cannot handle too much peace and quiet. By day 5 of my honemoon in Cozumel, Mexico I was going stir crazy. At least they had Starbucks 😉

  • 7. Taryn E  |  April 20, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    1. Houston and Fort lauderdale. Obviously, so I can see all my friends and family anytime I want.

    2. I really don’t know. We did a lot of “family vacations” that involved driving. We may have flown out to Colorado for vacation when i was in first grade or so.

    3. Europe.

    4. Target. Old Navy. Crate and barrel. Sephora. Yankee Candle. Bath and Body Works.

    5. My company christmas party in 2008… i was pregnant, so i couldn’t drink alcohol, my husband drank too much wine, so I had to drive home, and i was so nauseous from being preggo that I almost threw up in the car!

    6. I need a shower!

    7. Saturday. I get up when Luke gets up, we make breakfast, we play outside, we go grocery shopping. It’s a fun, stressless day. 🙂

    8. My backyard and our pool.

    9. Celebrate Luke’s birthday on July 4 (oh and the USA’s bday too)…. go to the Keys the last week of july for lobster mini-season… and, that’s about it. I work every day. Almost wish I was a teacher so I had summers off!!

    10. Hurricanes. I’ve been thru a lot of them. Wilma in 2005 was horrible. No traffic lights, a lot of ppl without power for two months or more… it was a nightmare.

  • 8. mom (nana)  |  April 20, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Great questions, Courtney!

    1. What two cities should be moved closer together?
    Houston and New York City. I love to visit that place – shows, food, wierd people….too expensive to stay long though!

    2. What was the first plane ride you took?
    Unlike Chelsea, I do fear flying. Not a rational fear, I realize but still…. AND my first flight was from Corpus Christi Texas to New York City to EUROPE! After I graduated from high school with a group. WAAAAY too far to go on your first flight!

    3. What continent would you most like to visit?
    Have been fortuate to see some of Eruope and it was great. However, Iwould like to go back – would like to see Italy

    4. What’s your favorite place to window shop?
    Williams Senoma, Crate and Barrel, love Target and Hobby Lobby but not so good window for shopping!

    5. What’s the least fun you’ve ever had at a place specifically tailored for fun?
    We had a pool party for the churchs young couples. Great food and beautiful weather and lots of fun people. I got a migraine and DID puke….I can still remember the pain 26+ years ago…..

    6. You’re stuck on an island with plenty of food, a companion, and a relatively stress-free lifestyle. What do you say when the rescue ship comes?
    Take me home to see my grandbabies….(and kids)

    7. Which day of the week do you look forward to most?
    probably Sunday. I am “retired” so all days are the same in that regard but I do like to go to corporate worship and if I am extra blessed that day, I get to have lunch with all my family!

    8. What’s your favorite place to enjoy the great outdoors?
    The beach. The beach. The beach. I LOVE the beach. I love the sand and the sun and the sound of the waves. I love a cold beverage and a good book. I love it all! DITTO DITTO DITTO

    9. What’s on your “to do” list this summer?
    Family reunion (2), BEACH, sister’s 60th bday, baby shower, helping Chels and Stephen with nursery if they let me, BEACH, moving my youngest into an apt., BEACH….

    10. Which natural disaster freaks you out the most?
    I would hate to live where there are tornados.
    Can’t plan for those like you can hurricanes. That being said, I HATE hurricanes…been through many and they are not fun at all.

  • 9. Katie  |  April 20, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    The Dark Knight would be awful to get a migraine in!! That had to be terrible! I’ve only had one in my life and I was at home I couldn’t imagine being out somewhere noisy and bright and trapped…. uggg.

  • 10. Autumn  |  April 20, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Girl… we have GOT to go to the beach!
    And I really think the title of a book should be “What The Heck To Do With A Baby.” Instant classic AND bestseller!
    PS… We also had a full-blown family discussion on how to spell the plural of “tornado.” Is it “tornados” or “tornadoes” my friends???

  • […] April 20, 2010 by Erika Wanna participate? Go here. […]

  • 12. Taryn E  |  April 20, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Mirriam-Webster says it can be either way… tornados or tornadoes. Neither one is incorrect 🙂

  • 13. Lyndsey  |  April 20, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Dear Chelsea,
    So, not kansas city to question #1?

    Dumb.

  • 14. Courtney  |  April 20, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Summer is approaching and it’s making me wish I were a teacher that gets a summer break! Boo normal full-time work!

    (and this week I WILL read other’s answers from Mr. Linky and comment, I promise!)

  • 15. Fuegita  |  April 20, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Hobby Lobby is sooo dangerous. I’m always like I need this and this and this. Luckily a lot of times they have 50% off, which means I buy more.

  • 16. brandilicious  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Ooh, Orlando. Great idea! It would be so much fun to go to Disney World whenever you wanted.

    I too love the Container Store only, I’ve never been inside a Container Store. There isn’t one close to me so I order online.

    Also -your summer sounds like fun. I can’t wait to read all about your nesting 🙂

  • 17. Courtney  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Yea! I officially commented on everyone who posted to Mr. Linky! Good job everyone!

  • 18. Sue @ SimonsSistaSaw  |  May 4, 2010 at 6:29 am

    I’m back in the game with two weeks in one posts. Thanks for sourcing constantly inspiring (and often hard) questions. They’re fun to play along with.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win