Ten on Tuesday (33)

June 8, 2010 at 7:30 am 15 comments

Sorry about our week off last week. We’re back this week with a new set of questions from a new contributor. These are from Mrs. Mozzarella at Sassin Southern Style (<- link).

1. What does your car say about you? If you don’t have a car, what kind of car would be your daily driver?
One of our cars is a Nissan Murano. It says that we are soon-to-be parents who need a bigger vehicle. It’s the lowest grade of Murano so it says that we don’t have much money. Our other car is a greenish turquoise Chevrolet Cavalier that we are no longer moving from our drive way. That just says we’re poor.

2. To this point, what has been your purpose on this planet?
This is a deep question. I don’t think I can repeat “we’re poor” on this one. It’s hard to say really, I don’t know what my purpose has been. I’d love to say something about being a Light or helping people get to know God. But I’m not sure that I’ve been that successful thus far. Here’s to the next 25 years!

3. If you could trade places with any person for any amount of time, who would it be?
I would trade places with one of Paula Deen’s relatives to eat her food. Or maybe I would trade places with Ina Garden so I’d know everything she knows and then I could hold on to that knowledge when I become Chelsea again. Or maybe I would just trade places with someone on vacation on a nice beach.

4. What is your favorite kind of cake? If you don’t like cake, what is it about it that you don’t like?
I’m not a HUGE cake fan because 9 times out of 10 it’s either dry or has nasty icing. I love a good boxed cake with a tub of chocolate icing.  My favorite kind of cake, though, is cheesecake. That totally counts, it has “cake” in the name.

5. Would you have wanted to live in your parents’, grandparents’ or great-grandparents’ generation or only your own?
Probably mine. I’m a blogger afterall.

6. Do you have any home remedies for illnesses, cleaning or otherwise?
Nope. I’m all about the drugs and chemicals. But I’m open to hearing your suggestions.

7. What is your ideal weather situation?
In the late 80’s with a bit of a breeze. Low humidity, no rain in the forseeable future. (On the beach with a cold beverage.)

8. What is your best attribute (physical or personal)?
I have pretty great eyes, I must say. Although every time I see someone with eyes like mine, I get scared and can’t make eye contact. So I often wonder how people can look at me in the eyes. I’m also tall and I like that. And sometimes I can be cool. Only sometimes though. (I’m so much cooler online.)

9. Do you text or surf while driving?
No. I text at stoplights though. I probably shouldn’t even do that.

10. How long have you known your best friend?
I met Lyndsey (<- link) in fall of 2003. I didn’t like her though. To be fair, she didn’t really like me at first either. Probably because we have the same sense of humor and we’re both tall… so we were intimidated by each other. It took several months for us to become really good friends. Now? She’s my bestie. And we never say “bestie” unless we are saying “Don’t test these besties.” (And if you don’t know where that is from, that’s why you aren’t my best friend.)

Okie Dokie… your turn. Here’s Mr. Linky.

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Pregnant Pause – Week 25 A Registration Story

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timlinzrowland  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Ha… your number 4 answer sounds like mine!!!

  • 2. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:16 am

    I struggled to answer #2. I guess I don’t feel like I have a well-defined purpose in life so far… So I am w/ you on the ‘here’s to the next 25 years’. Or 29 in my case…

  • 3. Jessica  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Mariah and I didn’t like each other at first either. I didn’t even think about the beach when I answered #7. That’s how tired of this heat I am.

  • 4. Southern Gal  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Our first car was a Chevy Cavalier! Kept it for five years and traded it since it was leaking something in the floorboard. Nasty.
    I’ve had a mini-van for the past 9 years. That says I’m a soccer mom. Not.

    For a long time now it’s been to instill the love of the Lord in my children. Now onto the grandchildren!

    I’d trade with someone who lived on the beach. Totally.

    Love Carrot Cake. Nothing dry about that kind of cake!

    No.

    Again, no.

    Same kind of weather with low to no humidity. Please?

    I would have said my smile back when I was myself and thin. Now it doesn’t look the same, (fat cheeks) but I think it’s still nice. And being tall to help hide some of that fat. 😉

    I don’t text at all so I don’t have one of those smart phones to surf. I’m deathly afraid of people driving who are looking down and swearving all over the road. Have you seen that commercial where the mom says this was my son’s last text message – “Yeah u…” – before he was killed in a car accident. Scary stuff.

    My mom is my best friend. Other than that I have one from high school that waned and now is back on.

  • 5. Maureen aka MIL aka Emmie  |  June 8, 2010 at 9:10 am

    1. What does your car say about you? If you don’t have a car, what kind of car would be your daily driver?
    We also have a Nissan Murano, and I love it. I guess it says we like SUVs…That is what John drives, I drive a red Chevy, I guess that says we are poor too!

    2. To this point, what has been your purpose on this planet?
    Mmm, that is a tough one, I don’t really know…maybe to have the 3 children I have, to offer some kindness to someone who needed it, to encourage a few people, to be a positive influence on the little kids I work with.

    3. If you could trade places with any person for any amount of time, who would it be?
    Someone who has a fabulous life, who is famous, beautiful, and rich, and who takes awesome vacations!

    4. What is your favorite kind of cake? If you don’t like cake, what is it about it that you don’t like?
    LOVE CAKE…chocolate cake, chocolate icing

    5. Would you have wanted to live in your parents’, grandparents’ or great-grandparents’ generation or only your own?
    I’d love to go visit the times my grandparents, and great grandparents lived in, but I’m happy where I am.

    6. Do you have any home remedies for illnesses, cleaning or otherwise?
    gargling with hot salt water for a sore throat

    7. What is your ideal weather situation?
    high 70’s, breezy, and warm

    8. What is your best attribute (physical or personal)?
    I have great hair, and I think I am a nice person for the most part.

    9. Do you text or surf while driving?
    never

    10. How long have you known your best friend?
    Well, I consider my sisters my best friends, so all my life, but outside of the family it is Louann who I met at work in 1981. She was pregnant with her son, and separated from her husband, so asked me to go to LaMaze classes with her. I was there when Bryan was born 28 years ago (although she had a c section and they wouldn’t let me go in the delivery room) I am his godmother.

  • 6. Nora  |  June 8, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I would love to be on the Paula Deen show; that lady not only cracks me up but makes wonderful dishes!

  • 7. Lauren from Texas  |  June 8, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I INVENTED DON’T TEST THESE BESTIES (well, discovered it anyway)… which is why I AM YOUR BEST FRIEND. Best Blog Friend that is.

  • 8. Taryn  |  June 8, 2010 at 10:02 am

    1. My Honda CR-V says I am a ridiculously over-extended and over stressed mom of one, who has to be nuts to even be considering having another kid.

    2. I have absolutely no idea.

    3. Steve Jobs, and then write a check to my real self so I could cash it when I got back.

    4. I’m with chelsea. Too many bad experiences with bad cakes.
    I like my own homemade carrot cake with cream cheese frosting, tho.

    5. nah, I’ll stick with today.

    6. White vinegar cleans everything. I just used it to descale my dishwasher… and now my kitchen smells like i’m dying easter eggs. 🙂

    7. Mid 80s, light breeze, blue skies. Preferably with Luke napping and me sitting by the pool.

    8. Bright green eyes, long eyelashes, and a very sarcastic personality. 🙂

    9. I will text at stoplights if I see it’s my husband and it’s pertaining to dinner/the dog/ Luke.

    10. I have known Emily since Kindergarten at OSL, and Meredith and Casey since freshman year of high school. They are the best friends a girl could have and I miss them a lot!!

  • 9. Alishka Babushka  |  June 8, 2010 at 11:05 am

    I just love this meme! thanks for posting!

  • 10. Kara  |  June 8, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Oh, now I want to change my answer for #3. Paula Dean all the way!

  • 11. Stacie  |  June 8, 2010 at 11:12 am

    In my parents’ driveway sits my grandfather’s tan Cadillac that is older than my 23 year old sister. The only reprieve I got from looking at that thing what when the snow completely covered it for about 2 months in the winter. Ugh.

  • 12. Debbie  |  June 8, 2010 at 11:55 am

    I’m totally with you on the weather and the drugs/chemicals! Haha. 🙂

  • 13. LiLu  |  June 8, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    “I would trade places with one of Paula Deen’s relatives to eat her food.”

    GENIUS!!!!!!!!!!

  • 14. mom (nana)  |  June 8, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    1. What does your car say about you? If you don’t have a car, what kind of car would be your daily driver?
    I drive a red Toyota Solara Convertible, but I must say I don’t have the top down too much. Too hot and humid here and I’m not crazy enough to drive with it down on the freeway. I LOVE the color red and have always wanted a red car. After all kids were gone and I didn’t have to carpool/shuttle athletes all over, we sold the big honkers we had driven and got someting fun and cute – not that I am fun and cute – but my car sure is!
    2. To this point, what has been your purpose on this planet?
    Hmmm I would say, trying to raise 3 Godly children who love and serve the Lord and who want to make a difference in people’s lives by sharing that love with them. I think we did a pretty good job of that! ALL PRAISE TO HIM!

    3. If you could trade places with any person for any amount of time, who would it be?
    IWow – that is a hard one. I do like the eating theme though! Always good to have someone cook for you! However, I love my life and my family so it wouldn’t be for long if I switched.

    4. What is your favorite kind of cake? If you don’t like cake, what is it about it that you don’t like?
    I love the chocolate cherry cake with the ewey gewey yummy chocolate icing and I also love a good (chelsea’s and my sister bonnie’s) carrot cake with cream cheese icing.

    5. Would you have wanted to live in your parents’, grandparents’ or great-grandparents’ generation or only your own?
    Definitely mine as I am a wuussss about a lot of things and they really had it rough. However, I do like the simplicity of their lives…they weren’t always in a rush…go, go, go….technology always at their beck n call….

    6. Do you have any home remedies for illnesses, cleaning or otherwise?
    YEA for Chelsea’s MIL’s response!! MY EXACT THING I TELL MY KIDS ALL THE TIME – gargle with salt water – however, they complain and complain about that remedy! Another one is when you have a cough, drink some whiskey mixed with honey. Helps you sleep and soothes your throat from the coughing.

    7. What is your ideal weather situation?
    High 70’s to mid 80’s – NO HUMIDITY – slight breeze…no mosquitos….(well, if we are dreaming….) 🙂

    8. What is your best attribute (physical or personal)?
    That is a tough question. Always taught to be humble….hmmmm, maybe that I am a good friend?

    9. Do you text or surf while driving?
    No. I text at stoplights though. I probably shouldn’t even do that. Ditto…

    10. How long have you known your best friend?
    Well, my best friend is Cindy Lindley Sandburg, even though we are miles apart and don’t see each other that often. We met each other in 9th grade. Our parents were friends and they made us be friends! We became joined at the hip all through high school. Went to different colleges but were still Maid of Honor in weddings. Love her to pieces(even though she is an Oklahoma Sooner through and through and I am a orange blooded Longhorn) and wish we lived closer.

  • 15. Faith  |  June 8, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I have a Rogue which is a wannabe Murano. I wanted the Murano, just couldn’t find one in my price range, at least not until 2 days after I bought my car. Oh well! I am also a big fan of box cake and tub icing. It’s very rare for me to find a made from scratch cake that I like.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win