Ten on Tuesday (61)

January 4, 2011 at 7:04 am 12 comments

This week’s questions come from Erin from Erin B. Inspired. They actually sort of depress me because it makes me think about all that I don’t like about my house. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thankful for it, it just needs work. The kind of work that we can’t afford. Regardless, go visit Erin and thank her for her questions!! They are great questions if you aren’t a Debbie Downer.

1. What type of home do you currently reside in? (house, apartment, etc.)
A house.

2. If you could completely redecorate one room in your home, what room would you pick, why, and what would you do to it?
Redecorate? Probably my living room. Although Stephen would probably never let me completely change it. We have dark wood beams, painted wood paneling (aka: smooth walls), and trim with a giant redish brick fireplace. It’s nice but not great. It just looks dated. It’s a lot like Young House Love’s new house. I’m anxious to see what they do with it.

But if we’re talking renovate? My kitchen. Completely renovate. We’re talking cabinets and walls and flooring. It’s probably just worth it to get a new house.

3. What is your favorite place to gain inspiration for your home decor style?
Most of my stuff is hand-me-down so I can’t really say I have a style. See? This topic is not good for me.

4. What is your favorite piece of decor in your home?
My red china cabinet. It is beautiful.

5. What do you want visitors to feel when they visit your home? Do you think your home gives off that feeling?
I want them to feel comfortable. No, I don’t think we’re there. Partially because my dog spazzes every time people come over and partially because I don’t know how to keep a clean house. I’ll get there one day. Ughhhh.

6. Describe your home in one word and explain why you chose that word.
Adequate.

Is that awful? Yes it is. I need to work on this contentment thing.

7. What are some predominant colors or patterns in your home?
I have a lot of green. I really like green.

8. What is your favorite room in your home and why?
The nursery! DUH! Here is the post with the nursery pictures.

9. Do you take a hands-on or DIY approach to projects around your home or do you enlist or hire help?
Stephen usually tries to fix things and he usually he can. But if it’s a tough one, we call our home warranty people and get someone comes out to help us for a mere $55.

10. Where is your favorite place to shop for home furnishings?
Under the Christmas tree on Christmas morning. Most of my stuff is hand me down or gifted. Although our amazing recliner and dining room table are from Rooms To Go. They are very grown up!

Your turn. Maybe y’all’s answers won’t me as depressing as mine.

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

My Child Is Four Months Not So Terrible Twos?

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  January 4, 2011 at 7:55 am

    I’ll try these.

    1. A house. Been here for 20 1/2 years.

    2. Only one? It would be my kitchen/laundry room since it’s the first room you see when you come in my house and it’s definitely 80’s except for the newer appliances and flooring.

    3. Bloggers, but most of them have simple. white, clean looking decor. I’m like you. I have lots of dark wood, a brick fireplace, and a husband that doesn’t want to change that. (I did cover the paneling on the lower half of the walls and painted them.) So I’ve got to adjust anything I like to go with what I have.

    4. A recently obtained chest of drawers in my kitchen given to me by a friend who was moving. It needs refinishing, but I love the style of it. My second piece is our huge pine entertainment center that balances that huge brick fireplace nicely.

    5. If it’s clean when they come in, then I think they feel comfortable. If it’s not then I’m running around trying to pick things up and I know that would make me uncomfortable.
    (They come in through my kitchen for heaven’s sake!)

    6. Dark. I hate to pick that word, but it really is. Only my kitchen is nice and light because of a huge bay window and the yellow walls. The rest is sort of like living in a cave because of the lack of windows and house placement. My bedroom is supposed to be a cave since my hubby works shift work. So it’s dark red on purpose.

    7. I’m looking around and I really don’t have a pattern. Dark blue, red, light glittery blue, yellow, sage green, khaki, dark glittery brown. Get the picture? No wonder I don’t have a style.

    8. I love your nursery, Chelsea. Mine would be the den even though it needs some help with accessories and wall hangings..

    9. Painting is always done by moi. The mechanical things can be tackled by my husband. The big things and carpentry have to be hired out.

    10. Does the thrift store count? If I could afford anywhere it would probably be Pottery Barn and The Company Store.

  • 2. Erin B. Inspired  |  January 4, 2011 at 9:02 am

    Thanks Chelsea! Of course I answered my own questions.🙂

  • 3. Nora  |  January 4, 2011 at 9:40 am

    One of my favorite things to do since I don’t currently have my own place (hello living with the parents) is to look at design magazines and dream about what my place will someday look like…. it’s kind of fun.

  • 4. Ten on Tuesday (30) « Simply Sarah  |  January 4, 2011 at 9:50 am

    […] Tuesday is here on my first week back from vacation, and it has been crazy so far. So, without much introduction, here is my 30th participation in Ten on Tuesday, hosted by Chelsea at Roots & Rings. […]

  • 5. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns  |  January 4, 2011 at 9:50 am

    LOL. I probably would have been depressed if I had answered these because I own a condo that is a shoe box that is worth about 1/2 of what I paid for it. So it’s tiny and it’s worth crap and it’s just a sore subject for me.

    But I do like the way my main room looks. I love the neutral colors and the wood floors and the fireplace. I hope people walk in and think, ‘this is cozy’.

  • 6. SimplySarahJ  |  January 4, 2011 at 9:52 am

    I completely and totally understand/agree with you on the adequate thing; but I just have to remember that I won’t be here forever and so to make the best of it saves me {and others} my temper tantrums.

  • 7. Mama Fuss  |  January 4, 2011 at 10:29 am

    I am right there with you on #5. One of my goals this year is to really get my house in order. Because I’m sick of it. I have got to get this place more comfortable for me and for others.

  • 8. Stacie  |  January 4, 2011 at 10:44 am

    …but at least you have the option to rennovate! I have to look at ugly cabinets and say “this is IT.”

  • 9. Laurie  |  January 4, 2011 at 11:04 am

    We bought our house over a year ago and still have so much work to do… This week’s questions depress me too. Hahahaha!

  • 10. Mamarazzi  |  January 4, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    I think once i finally decided to be happy with my house i actually WAS…it was strange going from loathing to liking tho.

  • 11. Taryn  |  January 6, 2011 at 9:46 am

    1. house

    2.Our mastet bedroom. I want a huge new bed, new paint and new carpet. The carpet alone would be a fortune just b/c of how much of it we’d need!

    3. i’m big on really simple stuff. I like Target and Ikea.

    4. Our giant leather sectional couch.

    5. I want them to be comfy and welcome. I think we manage that, other than having plastic dragon toys everywhere and a dog that thinks everyone is there to just see him.

    6. Happy. I love our house and our neighbors and our neighborhood!

    7. Neutrals and browns, with touches of reds and aquas depending on the room.

    8. our kitchen/living room (it’s all connected.)

    9. Mostly DIY🙂

    10. IKEA, Target, and Pier1

  • 12. em  |  January 6, 2011 at 10:54 am

    lol loved these. I agree with #5, I want people to feel comfortable in my home.
    But then I also want them to be saying “Damn this place is nice” when they’re sitting there being comfortable heehee

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

