Seven Quick Takes – Slow Days, Quick Weeks

April 30, 2010 at 8:41 am 29 comments

I just don’t understand how this works. The days (specifically while at work) seem to be 65 hours long but then all I have to do is blink and it’s been a week. It’s not just me, right? This craziness happens to everyone, doesn’t it?

Well let’s get to it.

1.
I’m worthless on Thursday nights. Community, The Office, and 30 Rock have drawn me in and I can’t bring myself to ignore them. I don’t really mind though because it’s probably the most I laugh all week. And since laughing is good for the soul, I think our evening on the couch with dinner and NBC is an investment in my health. Don’t tell me otherwise.

2.
I’m currently sitting on my couch, typing on my laptop, wearing a pre-pregnancy exercise top with a built in bra. Why am I telling you this? Because my belly is hanging out LIKE WHOA and I look seriously white trash. And these are the kinds of things I share with you.

3.
We need to talk about this new KFC Double Down Chicken Sandwich. Is this for real??? Bacon and cheese between two fried chicken breasts? What is our world coming too? It’s almost as bad as Suri Cruise in stilettos or over the counter paternity tests.

4.
I went to the doctor yesterday for my monthly check up. I was excited for this appointment for two reasons. First, it’s always thrilling to hear that little heartbeat. Second, I was curious about how much weight I had gained. If you recall, 4 weeks ago was the last time I was weighed and I had gained a total of six pounds the beginning of this baby growing thing. I anticipated being at about 10 this time around…

(insert long dramatic pause)

Y’all. I. Gained. Nine. Pounds. In. Four. Weeks. Oh. My. Gosh. OHMYGOSH. My jaw dropped. The nurse looked at the scale, looked down to write it and saw my previous weight. She shot her head back up and said, “Wait. That much since last time?” I’m almost 20 weeks and I have gained 15 pounds. I seriously thought the doctor was going to give me a stern talking to. She didn’t seem shocked when she looked at my chart. So I asked. “Ummm, should I be concerned about my weight gain?” Her response sort of made me want to hug her and bring her home for dinner and run her a blissful bubble bath. “Oh no! It’s perfect. You hadn’t gained much last time we saw you so I expected this. You are right on track.”

And just for visual proof, here is a picture of me at 15 weeks and 19 weeks.

5.
Anyone have any really good recipes that involve strawberries? I anticipate coming home from strawberry picking with an abundance of berries. I don’t want any of this sterilize, boil, all-day-in-the-kitchen jam business. No thank you. I may try some freezer jam. Anything else?

6.
While I was in the waiting room yesterday at the doctor, there was a girl there with her mom. She looked to be about 15. She was skinny and her makeup was too dark for her face and she was wearing PJ pants. She kept talking to her mom in a really soft voice using words about five times faster than the average human. At one point I saw her mom look at the pregnant girl to the left of me and say, “Yeah but look what she has on her hand. See that? You need that first.” Then she turned to me, “Her too. Look at her hand.” I had no clue what they were saying but now that I was involved, I looked at them. Momma explains, “She said that y’all’s baby bumps are so cute that it makes her want one. I told her to look it your hand. She needs a ring before she has a bump.” It took ALL MY POWER to not stand up and pull that girl up by her messy bun and tell her to enjoy being a kid, close her legs, and FOR THE LOVE OF PETE do not get pregnant.

This girl was also in an argument with her mom over something that I’m sure was really important. She kept saying things like, “How could you take his side over mine? You’ve known me your whole life! You’ve known him two years.” “Three years. I’ve known him three years. We’ve been married two years. And I’m not taking sides.” “Yes you are. I’m your daughter. You’re supposed to be on my side!” Umm no, honey child. She is supposed to be on her husband’s side. And I’m pretty sure I’m on her husband’s side even though I don’t have any idea who her husband is.

What in the world am I going to do if this child is a girl? Can she live with one of y’all from age 13-18?

7.
This week was Shania Twain week on American Idol. Two things that are very wrong with this world. I’m certain I would have vomited if I had turned it on.

And that’s all I’ve got for you today! I hope everyone has fun weekends planned! I’m praying that it quits raining tomorrow so nothing messes with our berry plans!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Television. Tags: , , .

Overdue 101 in 1001 Update Strawberry Picking

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. smile steady  |  April 30, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Just wanted to let you know that I totally got a visual of your white trash belly shirt, and couldn’t help but chuckle. If only you had one of those KFC sandwiches in your hand at the same time!

  • 2. Sarah  |  April 30, 2010 at 8:50 am

    I will stick up for the girl (in the “I don’t know the whole story, but I’m going to look for the best” kind of way). As a child of a divorce and two re-marriages, there is a conflict between child and step-parent (I’m assuming that’s what the case was). I still had my dad in my life, and so it got really confusing sometimes when one “dad” would be in charge here and the “other dad” be in charge there and have two completely different worldviews/personalities. But, no matter- parents are parents and we are called to obey them, or at least be respectful and kind. Another reason divorce is such an not great thing.

  • 3. Southern Gal  |  April 30, 2010 at 9:03 am

    I’m with you on the KFC thing. What?

    I CAN’T see the pictures!!! Is it just me? Cause if it is I’m gonna be mad.

    You are doing fine. 15 pounds at the half way point is not a bad thing. I had two doctors. One would always say something about my weight gain. The other would always brush it off. Both men.

    AI was pretty good. They all did well. Believe me they sounded nothing like Shania’s songs except for Siobhan and she’s gone.

  • 4. Southern Gal  |  April 30, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I hit refresh over and over and couldn’t see the pictures. After I leave a comment they are suddenly there. So ignore me.

  • 5. jessica  |  April 30, 2010 at 9:08 am

    the double down is real. i had one the other day. i went with a friend whose parents own the two in town to inspect it and i just couldn’t resist it. i should have. it was not that good.

  • 6. Joy  |  April 30, 2010 at 9:17 am

    My husband is the better baker in the family but I know he likes to make no-bake pies with the berries we pick in the summer, I’m sure if you google No-bake pies you will find lots of options.
    Have a good time.

    BTW, really enjoying all the bump shots, went to take one this week for twenty weeks and my camera decided to act up on me. 😦

  • 7. ashnmatt2011  |  April 30, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Matt –

    The pictures thing is WordPress wide I believe. Also, Community is the besssst.

  • 8. Sister  |  April 30, 2010 at 9:52 am

    I heard on the Roula and Ryan the other day that it’s proven that the most difficult child in the world is a 14 year old girl. DUH.

  • 9. molly  |  April 30, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Wowzas! Look at that adorable tummy!!! You are too cute.

    And seriously, there was one month I gained ELEVEN pounds. ELEVEN! And then I cried for 2 days straight. I got over it though. And I ate french fries to celebrate my getting over it.

    And then I lost 30 pounds in 2 weeks after Jack was born. Don’t worry about the weight gain. I’m serious.

  • 10. Kara  |  April 30, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Haha – Good, bad or otherwise, Shania is a national treasure here! But I was a little shocked to see her on Idol. And some of those kids butchered her songs.

  • 11. Kim  |  April 30, 2010 at 10:13 am

    I don’t know what you are talking about- a sandwich made with fried chicken instead of bread is genius. 😉

  • 12. abby  |  April 30, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Loved your belly picture! Hey, you’re half way to having this baby and half way to optimum weight gain….so I’d say you’re doing well!

  • 13. timlinzrowland  |  April 30, 2010 at 10:48 am

    I have a really yummy strawberry bread recipe. Of course it is packed but if you would like it I know my friend has it too…just let me know!

  • 14. Debbie  |  April 30, 2010 at 10:55 am

    lol…I also laughed thinking about you and KFC. speaking of that, have you seen ‘the backup plan’ with j-lo? that reminded me of that movie. haha.

    whatever, you are right on track! i gained 40 lbs with jacob. yowza! haha. hopefully with my next baby ill crave more than grilled cheese, queso and quesidillas. maybe throw in a veggie for petes sake?! 🙂

  • 15. Holly  |  April 30, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I started out slow with my baby weight gain but last month I gained 9 lbs in one week. ONE WEEK. And somehow my doctor still thinks I’m having a 6 lb baby. Hmmm ….

  • 16. Taryn E  |  April 30, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Just wait til they scare you at the end… with the baby measurements to anticipate how much the baby “might” weigh when you give birth. Yes, Mrs Estell, he is measuring to be about 8 lbs….. but that can be off by 2lbs either way…. so he could be 6 lbs or 10!!!!!!! Ack! Did I really need to know that? No. And Luke was only 7lbs, 13 oz.

  • 17. Amanda  |  April 30, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Time is flying here, too…

  • 18. Tabaitha  |  April 30, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Your bump is cute and I completely agree with your doc. You look fabulous by the way.

  • 19. Nora  |  April 30, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I would have wanted to say the same thing to the girl in the waiting room!

    You’re not an American Idol fan either!? this makes me happy =)

  • 20. Kelly  |  April 30, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Everytime my mom got weighed during her pregnancies the nurses would look so surprised my mom would repeatedly say “but I’m 5.10 not 5.2!!”

  • 21. Angela  |  April 30, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I have a good recipe for some strawberry banana bread. I’ll have to take a look for it and then email you. I’m not entirely sure if I have it here in my apartment, but if not, I can grab it from work on Monday.

  • 22. Lisa H.  |  April 30, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    If it’s a girl, we won’t keep her from 14-18 because we will be really old, but you can call me every night and I will listen to your tears and stories! I would agree that teen girls are a challenge, since I have one. However, your mama is going to be an awesome resource since she raised 2 great girls!

  • 23. Emmie  |  April 30, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    OK, when I was pg with your husband, I gained about 49 pounds, then his 11 pound body was born, and within a week I think I dropped 35 pounds. At least that is the way I remember it in my mind! You look wonderful! I was wearing those HORRIBLE blue polyster maternity pants with the horrible stretchy panel for weeks after giving birth!

  • 24. 40daysof  |  April 30, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Number 6 is exactly what’s wrong with divorced and widowed people getting married while there are children in the house. I’m sure that girl is a piece of work, but I have a lot of sympathy for her. She feels she’s in competition with someone who has no familial link to her for her mother’s love and attention. What a horrible feeling!

    Number 3 is hilarious! 🙂

  • 25. Erin  |  May 1, 2010 at 7:19 am

    BLUGH. Even with a boy the thought of raising a teenager scares the poo out of me!
    I mentioned the new KFC sandwich to my hubby the other night & he said, “Yeah! I’ve had 2 this week, they are delicious!” Right then I made a mental note about being better to pack a lunch for him. I don’t want to lose my 30 year old husband to a heart attack!
    Also: here’s a delicious ‘strawberry jam’ recipe that doesn’t involve all day. I haven’t made it, but I’ve never met an Ina Garten recipe that I didn’t devour in five seconds: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/easy-strawberry-jam-recipe/index.html

  • 26. Jill  |  May 1, 2010 at 10:48 am

    You look great despite any weight gain! You don’t look too big to me 🙂 Yesterday morning I had pancakes for breakfast with fresh strawberries and it was delicious!!!

  • 27. Ashley  |  May 2, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Oh lord– who notices baby bumps at 13? I feel for her mom!

  • 28. That Married Couple  |  May 2, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    You look so good pregnant! Every time you put up pictures I’m impressed 🙂

  • 29. 7 Quick Takes Friday (vol. 78) : Conversion Diary  |  December 17, 2012 at 10:43 am

    […] Sarah Reinhard @ SnoringScholar.com 28. Elena @MyDomestic Church 29. Chelsea @ Roots & Rings 30. Milehiama @ Mama Says 31. Tina @ Multiple Mom 32. Jamie @ A Rough Diamond 33. Kim @ Love […]

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win