Ten on Tuesday (53)

November 9, 2010 at 7:11 am 30 comments

I made up the questions this week. I always feel weird answering my own questions, like I’m saying, “These are things I want you to know about me.” So leave me some questions in the comments so I have them for next week.

1. Who makes your Thanksgiving dinner?
Depends on who I’m spending it with. This year we’ll be with Stephen’s immediate family and I’ll be making the turkey and I’m sure at least one or two sides. It’ll be at our house so it’s convenient. Plus we have two ovens.

2. What is your favorite recipe the includes pumpkin? (bonus points for including the recipe)
I love all things pumpkin. My current favorite is chocolate pumpkin cupcakes. Just mix a box of chocolate cake mix with a can of pumpkin. I mix some mini chocolate chips in there and then bake them in mini cupcake tins (without the little cupcake liners) and then I top them with chocolate fudge frosting. Hellllllo! (Edit: Okay, so that I don’t have to e-mail everyone individually: It’s JUST the can of pumpkin and cake mix. No eggs, oil, or water. Your dough will be really thick and sticky. If you want cupcakes, make sure you roll the dough so the top is rounded. It pretty much keeps the shape you put it in. You can also press the dough into a pan and make a cake.)

3. What are 5 things you want for Christmas?
The winning lottery ticket, a massage, a new job, non-maternity clothes, and some new shoes.

4. Does your family draw names or do you buy for everyone?
A little of both.

5. How do you feel about motorcycles?
Remember when Stephen almost lost his nose?? (<- link) Well that was only an ATV and he wasn’t being careless. So, yeah, I’m not a fan of motorcycles and Stephen will never have one.

6. What’s your favorite thing to do on a rainy Saturday?
Nap and watch movies. Or watch Food Network and then bake. But I love to be indoors and I especially love to be lazy.

7. What is the coolest thing to do in your city?
Not much. Maybe the zoo, or The Galleria, or Saint Arnold’s Brewery, or hanging out with Chelsea and Stephen.

8. Do you paint your fingernails?
No, never. They are always natural. Mostly because they grow like weeds so I’d have to repaint them every 2 days to keep up. But toenails? Well, you know how I feel about those.

9. Who is your favorite actor over the age of 50?
“Dennis Quaid is here.”

10. Do you have a high school letter jacket?
Yes I do! I lettered in volleyball and softball. I wasn’t good at either.

Here’s Mr. Linky!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Does Anybody Know What Time It Is? Just The Facts

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  November 9, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Those cupcakes sound really good!

  • 2. Joy  |  November 9, 2010 at 8:35 am

    Answers on the linky.

    New questions:
    Favorite breakfast pastry?
    Were you ever in a Thanksgiving or Christmas play?

  • 3. Southern Gal  |  November 9, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Love your questions.
    1. Who makes your Thanksgiving dinner?
    It depends on Donnie’s work schedule. Usually divide between his family and mine when he works, have it here when he’s off.
    He’s working this year. 😦

    2. What is your favorite recipe the includes pumpkin? (bonus points for including the recipe)
    Look up pumpkin recipes at Gina’s Skinny Recipes. Yum.
    Especially pumpkin butter from her. Pumpkin Whoopie Pies from here:
    http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/143910/Mini-Pumpkin-Whoopie-Pies/detail.aspx

    I’m trying your recipe!

    3. What are 5 things you want for Christmas?
    My new camera. That is it.

    4. Does your family draw names or do you buy for everyone?
    We don’t buy for everyone or draw names. Sad, huh? We would rather have the children get something for their birthdays than cause everyone to go broke at Christmas. We do buy for parents and our kids.

    5. How do you feel about motorcycles?
    Used to ride them with my uncles (on the back and was almost killed one time). I’m a little fearful of them now. Especially since I ride and don’t drive. It’s that control thing.

    6. What’s your favorite thing to do on a rainy Saturday?
    Watch movies. Snuggle up with a good book.

    7. What is the coolest thing to do in your city?
    Touring Revolutionary War sites, Archives, Antique Malls. That’s about it. It’s an old small town. Not much excitement.

    8. Do you paint your fingernails?
    Hardly ever. Mine are thin and never grow out to amount to anything so I don’t want to bring attention to them. Now toenails? I’m with you.

    9. Who is your favorite actor over the age of 50?
    Harrison Ford or George Clooney. Someone who isn’t alive anymore? Cary Grant.

    10. Do you have a high school letter jacket?
    A letter sweater. Girls got sweaters. I lettered in cheerleading and gymnastics.

  • 4. Ten on Tuesday (23) « Simply Sarah  |  November 9, 2010 at 9:09 am

    […] Ten on Tuesday is brought to you by Chelsea at Roots and Rings! To see more ToT’ers or pictures of her sweet baby boy, visit her blog! […]

  • 5. Taryn  |  November 9, 2010 at 9:24 am

    1. Depends on where me and Luke will be this year.. either my aunt Cheryl or one of our neighbors!

    2. Pumpkin Spice bread.

    3. A Keurig, $$ to buy some new clothes, a new mattress, a massage, a gift card to Bath and Body Works.

    4. We just kind of buy for everyone, mostly Luke!

    5. they are death-traps

    6. Hang out with Luke and snuggle in bed and watch Disney movies.

    7. Airboat rides!!!! And Lion Country Safari.

    8. Not usually. A french manicure every now and then.

    9. I gotta go with Chelsea on this… Dennis Quaid!

    10. Yes, lettered in volleyball, basketball and softball. I also got patches for All-District and All-State Softball

  • 6. jen  |  November 9, 2010 at 9:44 am

    st. arnolds brewery sounds fantastic!!!

  • 7. Jessica  |  November 9, 2010 at 9:47 am

    So this whole brewery thing… that’s something I should probably do after I finally turn 21, right?

  • 8. Erin  |  November 9, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Chelsea, you’re a working girl, would you go vote in my poll of pant suit vs. skirt suit? Sorry, didn’t mean to plug the blog, but you’re a nice girl who will give an honest opinion.

    PS – Everyone raves about chocolate pumpkin cookies, but I can’t get on board. I will try your version.

  • 9. Alishka Babushka  |  November 9, 2010 at 10:08 am

    fun questions! I am getting SO EXCITED for thanksgiving! :o)

  • 10. Mama Fuss  |  November 9, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I am jealous of the 2 ovens.

    Questions: What is your favorite clothing accessory?
    What is your favorite item of clothing?
    What is your favorite color and why?
    What is your favorite type of Christmas cookie?
    What is your favorite scent (food, perfume/lotion)
    What is your favorite household cleaner?

    (I’ve been meaning to email you questions for months but could never come up w/ 10)

  • 11. Nora  |  November 9, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Obviously hanging out with you & Stephen would be the cool thing to do in TX. Hopefully I can do it someday 🙂

  • 12. brandilicious  |  November 9, 2010 at 10:37 am

    You have TWO ovens?! That’s like a dream come true for me!

  • 13. Stacie  |  November 9, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Nice choice on Dennis Quaid. He would be in my top 10 over 50 actors to look at.

  • 14. Jenny  |  November 9, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Hahahaha…Dennis Quaid is here! That’s so funny!

    Here’s a few questions:

    1. Where are you from? Have you lived there your whole life?

    2. How would you classify your clothing style?

    3. What kind of car do you drive?

    4. What would your dream home look like if you could have it (or already do!)?

    5. Do you have kids, and if so, how many and how old were you when you had them?

    6. What is your favorite hobby?

    7. Are you going to have any New Year’s resolutions for 2011?

    8. What is something, if anything, that you’d want to change about yourself? What is something that you love about yourself?

    9. What type of job do you have? Do you like it?

    10. If you could go anywhere in the world and stay for a month, all expenses paid, where would you go?

  • 15. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns  |  November 9, 2010 at 11:05 am

    You have 2 ovens? That’s awesome! My does as well and wow that is helpful around the holidays when she is cooking for the masses…

    I wouldn’t even know where to start when making a turkey… I am sort of a train wreck in the kitchen…

  • 16. Karen  |  November 9, 2010 at 11:47 am

    1.Depends on where we go, most of the time it’s my Mom, but as long as there is dressing and giblet gravy, I’m happy.

    2.Pumpkin pie is ok, but I’m don’t care for sweets that much.

    3.Money, money, money, money and money.

    4.No, I just buy for the little nieces and nephews and my mom, step dad.

    5.I think they are great, but some people are just too immature to be on them, not talking about Stephen, LOL but some of the riders that are in and out of traffic and stunt riding down a 4 lane highway are the ones that give them a bad name.

    6.Complain, lol it makes me mad when my days off are not pretty, I want to go outside and play, but most of the time watching movies is all you can do.

    7.My city is small, not much goes on there, although I do think it’s a cool place to live. The biggest event we have is twice a year they have like a huge garage sale (can’t remember what they call it) but it takes up the whole down town and is amazing how many people show up, you can’t go to downtown Guyton, it’s so crowded. lol

    8. No, I can not stand how heavy it makes my nails, mine grow like weeds too, and I have to keep them cut back, it gets on my nerves to feel them, if that makes sense.

    9.John Lithgow played in “Harry and the Henderson” has always been one of my favorites.

    10.No

  • 17. That Married Couple  |  November 9, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Good questions this week!

    For the chocolate pumpkin cupcakes, do you just add the pumpkin, or do you add the pumpkin along with the eggs/oil/water that the mix calls for?

  • 18. Katie  |  November 9, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I’m going to have to try those cupcakes!! They sounds soooo good.

    When you were a kid what did you want to be when you grew up? And what did you actually grow up to be?

    What is your favorite Christmas song/carol?

    Last song or album you bought?

    Best movie you have seen in a theater in the last month?

  • 19. Aunt Bonnie  |  November 9, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Good question about adding just the pumpkin or the oil, eggs, and water too…..well? I’d like to try those because I love choc. and pumpkin. Sounds yummy!!!

  • 20. abby  |  November 9, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    I played hs volleyball and softball too!!

  • 21. Steph  |  November 9, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Re: Pumpkin Butter
    I got the recipe from a friend:
    Pumpkin Butter

    One 29-ounce can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix)
    1+1/4 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
    1/2 cup mild honey
    Juice of 1 lemon
    1 tablespoon cider vinegar
    3/4 teaspoon apple pie spice

    Dump all the ingredients into a slow cooker and stir until well mixed. Don’t worry about lumps of sugar, they’ll melt into the butter during cooking. Use a spatula to scrape down the sides of the pot. Cover and cook on HIGH for 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

    Remove the lid and let cook on HIGH for an additional 30-60 minutes to reach the desired thickness.

    Turn off the cooker and let the pumpkin butter cool to room temperature in the pot. Scrape with your spatula into jars or other air-tight containers. Store, covered, in the refrigerator for up to 6 weeks, or freeze (in plastic containers) for up to 3 months.

    I often make a double batch in my big slow cooker, saving half for myself and giving the rest as gifts.

  • 22. Monica  |  November 9, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Found you via stateiamin.com and wanted to submit a question:

    Who or what do you have the most trouble saying no to?

  • 23. Stephany  |  November 9, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Those cupcakes sound yummy! I’ll think of some questions to send your way by the weekend. 🙂

    And a big, resounding YES to the motorcycle question. (Yes to your answer, that is.) My mom has a friend who lost both her sons within 3 years of each other due to motorcycle accidents. I hate them!

  • 24. Angie  |  November 9, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I answered on my blog!!! LOVE these questions!!!

  • 25. Autumn  |  November 9, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    “I especially love to be lazy” is my favorite line this week! 🙂
    So…. how do you roast the turkey? Secret family recipe? I would be scared I’d mess it up. Like the dried up one on “Christmas Vacation!”

  • 26. Stevie  |  November 9, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    This is my first time participating in Ten on Tuesday!
    http://seattlestevie.blogspot.com/2010/11/ten-on-tuesday.html

    Here’s a question for next week: What’s your favorite Christmas song or favorite Christmas movie?

  • 27. timlinzrowland  |  November 9, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Questions:
    When do you set your Christmas tree up?
    How many trees do you like to set up?
    Do you prefer a real tree or artificial tree?
    Have you ever experienced a true white Christmas?

    Hope these are good for one of your next TOT. Can you tell I am ready for Christmas? My tree is already up, I am curious to see when others set their tree up.

  • 28. Maureen aka Emmie  |  November 9, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    1. Who makes your Thanksgiving dinner? Same here, depends on where we go, and this year, YOU will be making the turkey! YAY! We can bring everything else.

    2. What is your favorite recipe the includes pumpkin? The pumpkin bread I have made for years out of the Joy of Cooking cookbook, so yummy!

    3. What are 5 things you want for Christmas?

    The winning lottery ticket, time with my grandson, time with my grandson, time with my grandson, time with my grandson, time with my grandson…that’s all I ever need again!

    4. Does your family draw names or do you buy for everyone?
    A little of both.

    5. How do you feel about motorcycles?
    HATE THEM! My brothers were in a horrible motorcycle accident when I was a little girl, and I’ve never forgotten it. Stephen told me he wanted one back in college, I told him when he was paying his own insurance he could, but I highly discouraged it!

    6. What’s your favorite thing to do on a rainy Saturday?
    Watch TCM movies, or Law and Order…LOVE that show

    7. What is the coolest thing to do in your city?
    theater, great restaurants

    8. Do you paint your fingernails?
    Only with clear polish, I have nails that don’t grow fast.

    9. Who is your favorite actor over the age of 50?
    Alive? James Garner, have always had a crush on him. Dead, Jimmy Stewart

    10. Do you have a high school letter jacket?
    Sure do! I got it for drill team! I still have it 32 years later!!!

  • 29. Courtney  |  November 10, 2010 at 3:42 am

    Good questions! Now I’m ready for Thanksgiving.

  • 30. At Home Long Lasting Manicure «  |  November 10, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    […] 10, 2010 by brandilicious A question on this week’s Ten on Tuesday inspired me to share a wonderful tip (that I got from Tiffany D, I think on her Twitter) about […]

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win