That’s A Man, Man!

January 11, 2010 at 9:48 am 28 comments

In October 2005, I developed a crush on a 21 year old boy. He was this goofy guy who had adorable dimples, a baby face, and child-like humor. We started dating. Two kids in college, hanging out. We were cute. We had fun. We laughed and played games together. That’s what life is about when you’re 21 years old.

On Saturday, that 21 year old kid turned 26. I am now MARRIED to a 26 year old man. I’m not sure how that happened to me. Just yesterday I was a child. Now I’m married… to a TWENTY SIX year old MAN. Oh dear.

What do adults do on their birthday? A couple years ago we celebrated Stephen’s old age by having an early dinner at Luby’s and then heading to the Bingo hall for a few rounds. (True story.)

This year we went a little nuts. We woke up early and went to a meeting at church. I wore my boots (proof to come). After our meeting we drove through Whataburger and headed into town to visit the Saint Arnold’s Brewery with some friends. They kicked us out at 3:30 so we headed home and did the absolute best thing we could think of. We took a nap. A glorious, brilliant nap. We set our alarm for 6:45 so we could wake up and eat a quick dinner of “things we could make in 5 minutes from the fridge.” At 7:30, some of his dude friends came over to play poker while I went to the back of the house to clean out the scrapbook room.

At the end of the night, we were laying in bed and said multiple times, “That was a great day!” And it was. A day with friends and beer and a nap? I’m really not sure how to top that. Stephen had a bit of an idea… at 1:30 in the morning just as we were about to go to bed he turned to me with sad eyes and said, “Do you want to play ping pong with me???”

Ugh. Sad to say, I said no. It was in the 20’s and regardless of what Stephen may say, just because the garage is protected from wind, it’s not protected from temperature. Plus, at that point his birthday was over so I didn’t have to do something so ridiculous. But the good news is that it was a great reminder that he’s still a kid. Even though he’s MUCH closer to 30 than he is to 20, he’s still fun and cute and he still has great dimples.

Happy belated to my husband. He’s one of the kindest, most thoughtful men you’ll ever meet. He’s a friend to all and he’ll put his life to the side if you need him to. He’s quirky and funny and he has the best place right under his arm to cuddle into. He makes excellent omelets and is shockingly good at reorganizing a room. Stephen, I love you and I’m proud of you every single day. I think God has awesome plans for you and me and I can’t wait to see what they are. Thanks for being a kid and for not taking life so serious. Sorry about all of my gray hair.

For those of you who live in or around Houston, I highly recommend a trip to the Saint Arnold Brewery (<–link). We really had no idea what to expect but we knew that if it involved beer, we could get on board. You just show up, wait in line, wait in another line, pay, and you’re in. You pay $7 for a cute Saint Arnold half pint glass and 4 bottle caps. Each bottle cap is worth a half pint of beer. So… 2 pints for $7. Crazy cheap. You basically go into this big warehouse looking room and hang out. People brought pizzas and games and just hung out. Luckily one of our friends had cards so we were able to sit on the floor and play spoons… only we had to use pennies because none of us happened to have that many spoons on hand.

Anyways, I suggest you go try it out. And call me when you do because we totally want to go again!

Check out these fun bottle caps.

And here is picture proof of my boots in public, again. They are making regular appearances.

By the way, that red brick-looking tile is the EXACT same tile we have in our living room and entry way. See why we want wood floors??

Happy Monday! Make sure you wish Esteban a happy belated birthday and if you haven’t entered the calendar giveaway, you can click here to do it.

**Ten on Tuesday questions are up!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Getting Old, Nights Out, Stephen. Tags: , , , , .

This Post Is Brought To You By The Number 2 Ten on Tuesday (13)

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Hope the hubby had a great birthday! I spent my recent 26th birthday cleaning the house and putting away Christmas stuff and then dinner… I guess I finally get it when my parents would say “when you get older they aren’t as much fun…”

    p.s. cute outfit!

  • 2. timlinzrowland  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I think your boots look great and you have inspired me to step out of my box. I don’t think I looked as cute as you though!

  • 3. kelly  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:36 am

    happy birthday stephen!

    also…did you guys happen to see a crazy ginger running around the brewery? my friend ben was there as well on saturday for his future brother in law’s bachelor party!

  • 4. Kyla Roma  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:46 am

    So glad you guys had such an awesome time- happy belated birthday to the boy!

  • 5. Sarah  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I remember the Luby’s/Bingo birthday. I’ve mentioned it to other friends on several occassions. I had a great time!

    The brewery looks like fun, too. Whenever we make it to Houston, can we go there?

    Finally, and most importantly, happy birthday (again) to Stephen!

  • 6. Karen  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Happy B-day Stephen
    and many moreeeeera

  • 7. DebbieQ  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Happy Birthday Stephen!

    And Luby’s!! Oh that was one of my favorite places to eat when I lived in Texas. I could have an entire meal of fried food and no one would think it was odd. Fried okra! Fried fish! French fries! Ah those were the days.

  • 8. Jessica  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:42 am

    happy belated birthday, stephen!

  • 9. Tabaitha Kaye  |  January 11, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Such a fun way to celebrate a birthday. I’m sad to say that I lived in Houston 28 years before moving to Cali and I never once visited the St. Arnolds Brewery. It’s on my list of things to do the next time my hubby are both in Houston at the same time.

  • 10. ThatMarriedCouple  |  January 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    Happy birthday to your hubby! It does sound like you had a nice day!

    p.s. I like your coat!

  • 11. abby  |  January 11, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Sounds like a fun “grown-up” day:) Cute coat and the boots look way trendy!

  • 12. Stephany  |  January 11, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Happy birthday to your hubby and you look totally cute, especially in your boots! I love, love, love your purse!

  • 13. Alyssa  |  January 11, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Cute purse! Happy birthday Stephen!

  • 14. Taryn E  |  January 11, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Forget the boots…. I am totally enamored with that coat!!🙂 And happy birthday to Stephen!!!

  • 15. Bec  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    So that’s what you guys call “it” huh? Ping-Pong? Creative!

  • 16. Mother-in-law  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I do LOVE the boots, good choice! I love the coat too! Happy Birthday to my baby boy…You can’t believe it? what about me??? It truly seems like yesterday that I gave birth to that 11 pounder!

  • 17. Lauren From Texas  |  January 11, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Sorry we missed it, but we’ll go again soon. Happy Birthday Stephen! We love you! (But Michael loves you more. And Pancho too.)

  • 18. Jimbo  |  January 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Happy Birthday Stephen! (I’m hoping our card made it to you in time for your actual b-day)

    Sounds like a great day…and I would have played ping-pong with you at 2 in the morning if I’d been there. I’m just sayin’…

  • 19. Molly  |  January 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    It’s true–my memories of Stephen from High School are filled with nothing but kindness and smiles. Happy Birthday, pal.

    And girl, those boots look amazing on you. The coat is adorable too!

  • 20. mom (Nana)  |  January 11, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    Happy Birthday (AGAIN) and yes, Stephen is a wonderful husband to my daughter. (And he cleans!) 🙂

  • 21. Lisa D  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Happy Birthday to Stephen! Looks like a fabulous day! Those bottle caps are so cool!

    And the boots look wonderful on you!

  • 22. Big W-D  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Happy birthday man! Hope you enjoyed winning at poker, because I don’t intend to let you make a habit of it.🙂

  • 23. Southern Gal  |  January 12, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Happy birthday to your husband! Glad it was a super day for you both.

  • 24. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Happy belated Birthday Stephen! My husband would have woken himself up from a dead sleep to play ping pong with you, so great is his love for the pong. And our ping pong table is in the garage, too, so he’s even acclimated to your kind of game!

  • 25. Debbie  |  January 12, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    oh my goodness…i want your purse. and your coat!! boots look awesome, btw! 🙂

  • 26. Candi  |  January 12, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Are these the boots?😉 Super cute!!!

  • 27. Kristin  |  January 14, 2010 at 2:59 am

    Ohhhhhh dude. I miss the St. Arnold seasonal shiz. SO freaking good!

  • 28. Suburban Sweetheart  |  January 15, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Love this post. Sounds like you’re a lucky lady. Hope to find my own story someday.😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

