Seven Quick Takes

July 23, 2010 at 9:07 am 17 comments

Stephen says it has been the longest week ever. Mine has gone by pretty quick. Regardless, it’s Friday and I couldn’t be more thrilled!

1.
We got the second set of curtains in from Bed Bath & Beyond. Stephen hung them last night. They look MUCH better but it’ll still take a while to get used to. It’s just such a huge area to have covered with fabric. But I know it’ll be worth it once we see our electricity bill.

2.
I hung a few things in the nursery last night. A clock, some art my sister did, and Stephen hung the toy hanger from Ikea. That room looks amazing. I have plans in a month or so to do a post that shows some of the amazing gifts Jansen has received. I’d love to show you the paintings my sister has done. Plus, I’ve received several things in the mail that are begging to be shown off!

3.
I love living in Houston. I specifically love living in the area of Houston that I live. I love the water and the palm trees and the family-friendliness. The one thing I DO NOT love is the constant fear of hurricanes. For those of you who have not heard, there is another storm in the Gulf. Thankfully it doesn’t look like it’ll get up to hurricane status, it’ll just remain a tropical depression or tropical storm. It still makes us all a bit uneasy though. You have to have plans. Where will we go? What should we take? Do we have water and gas in the car? It’s just not fun. But as much as that sucks, I’m thankful that we don’t have to deal with tornadoes. At least we can prepare for hurricanes. Tornadoes just sneak up on you and tear everything up without warning.

4.
I’m currently having my second pregnancy craving. My cravings seem to stick with me. It’s not like an “oh my gosh, I need this ASAP” feeling that goes away after I eat. It’s more of a constant need. First it was crispy tacos. Now, cinnamon rolls. All I think about is cinnamon rolls. We had some for dessert last night and they were Heavenly. I’m thinking about making some homemade ones this weekend. (No, not PW’s. I’ve made hers. They are good but not the type I want.) Anyways, I really wish this craving would go away and I’d start craving something like carrots or spinach.

5.
I have washed all of Jansen’s hand-me-down clothes. I haven’t touched anything that has a tag on it. I’m scared he won’t fit into some of it and I’ll need to exchange it. He’s been given tons of clothes in sizes from newborn to 24 months. They are now washed and put away in the dresser and Rubbermaid tubs. I’m sure I’ll need to do some rearranging. Moms of babies, how do you organize your baby’s dresser? Also, how do you tell the difference between an outfit and jammies? Some of these things look like they could be either!! I don’t want to be the mom that sends her child to day care in his jammies. He’ll be teased by the other babies.

6.
I’m reading My Life in France and falling more in love with Julia Child. She’s just got such a great outlook on life and knows not to take everything so serious. She knows the value of hard work and believes you should practice and take pride in your passions. I just wish I’d truly appreciated her before she died.

7.
I still haven’t bought a new watch. I mentioned a few weeks ago that I want a white big faced watch. I even know where I can get one for under $20. But for some reason, I don’t feel like I can buy it right now. I wish you could see disgustingness of the watch I’m currently wearing. I just tried to take a picture on my cell phone but it makes my hand look weird and you can’t really get the full effect. I’ve thought about getting a new strap because I really do like the face of this one, but I also want just a plain white one. Goodness gracious, my life is rough!

Have a good weekend. Hopefully I’ll have some fun stories next week!

Entry filed under: Chelsea. Tags: , , .

Everything I Know, I Learned From Blogging Pregnant Pause – Week 32

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  July 23, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Julia Child is a trip, I use to love to watch her on TV, I wish they would run some of her old shows, and Justin Wilson the “cookin cajun,” “I Gar-on-tee.”

    You have a great weekend too.

  • 2. DebbieQ  |  July 23, 2010 at 9:30 am

    #2 – yes we loads of pictures of Jansen’s room. Enquiring minds want to know.

    #3 – you have hurricanes, we have snow.

    #5 – When they are really little does it matter? Just so long as the area that needs to be changed frequently is readily accessible.

    #6 – excellent book. Have you read Noel Fitch’s bio of Julia. It is awesome.

  • 3. Lauren from Texas  |  July 23, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I need to read My Life in France. Let me borrow it when you’re done? 🙂

    This week has gone by super fast for me!

    I have craved crunchy tacos throughout your entire pregnancy. And have also had the worst heartburn ever since you’ve been pregnant. I’M SUFFERING WITH YOU. What a good friend.

  • 4. jen  |  July 23, 2010 at 9:54 am

    You are so very luck to have had such a fast week, for me, this has been one of the longest weeks on record!

  • 5. Southern Gal  |  July 23, 2010 at 10:43 am

    With you on hurricanes. Hugo came through our section of the country. Never want to live through something like that again. Well, I would like to LIVE through it…

    I can’t wait to see the finished room!

  • 6. Joy  |  July 23, 2010 at 10:49 am

    I tended to organize by age/size once I figured out whether the particular maker sized big or small. I also tended to think over 3 months any one-piece with feet were pj’s

    #6~ Great book, if you the fine living channel they sometimes show her old shows in the afternoon.

  • 7. Aunt Bonnie  |  July 23, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Told you that was a fun book to read. I loved it too. Cinnamon rolls can be a very dangerous craving:) Mine was B-B-Q ribs…..Have a great weekend! I’m sending home a surprise for Jansen with your mom.

  • 8. That Married Couple  |  July 23, 2010 at 11:31 am

    I’ve actually been craving peaches lately. I’m trying to take advantage of this before the queso cravings return!

  • 9. MASHley  |  July 23, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    ash – rosey showed us a picture of what she painted. it looks great. i’m sure jansen’s room is going/probably already looks fantastic.

  • 10. Debbie  |  July 23, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    I’m with both you and Stephen. The days have been dragging on and on. But, all of a sudden, it’s Friday afternoon. I still don’t get how that happens.

    As for the clothes arrangement, in his dresser/changer, we used 3 drawers for everything he could wear right then and was “in season”. We kept the bigger stuff in big rubbermaid tubs and hung up in his closet. Once it was fall or he outgrew things, we switched everything out and put the older (smaller) things in a 2nd tub. We also saved a drawer just for blankets, burp bloths, crib sheets, bibs, etc.

    It’s amazing how Jacob’s only 17 months and he already has 3 HUGE tubs of clothes that he’s outgrown and are sitting in the attic. They go through clothes so fast. Glad you got so many hand-me-downs!!

  • 11. Holly  |  July 23, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    I used to live in New Brunswick and we’d get the tail end of hurricanes most years. Not the full force of the weather by any means but still no fun! I organize clothes by what they are (pants, onesies, sleepers, etc.) and only keep what he can wear right now in the dresser. Otherwise my husband would get confused and try to dress him in 9 month sleepers when he’s only 10 weeks old! I consider any one piece outfit with feet jammies too!

  • 12. Taryn  |  July 23, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I did the same thing Debbie mentioned…. I put all the stuff in Luke’s current size (we don’t have much for seasons here in FL… Hot and wet are about it) into the middle two drawers of the dresser. All the bigger size stuff hangs in his closet. Once he outgrows something, it goes into the rubbermaid container. Top drawer of dresser is socks, shoes, hats, etc. Bottom drawer is extra wipes, some blankets, bibs, etc. I bought one of those sweater organizer things that hang in the closet for all of his sheets, mattress covers, boppy, etc and and over-the-door pocket organizer for the bathroom door that holds all his towels and stuff.

    Anything with feet built in is PJs to me. Onesies are the best for a long time, just cuz it’s so much easier to change their diaper. Luke wears the jammies from Carter’s that are the tshirt and shorts… it’s hard to tell the difference sometimes!! 🙂

  • 13. Autumn  |  July 23, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    #2 Can’t wait to see pics of the room!!
    #3 Amen on the tornadoes. I did sit out a hurricane in South Alabma once. Never again.
    #4 I craved Taco Bell almost 9 straight months. Some people never crave the healthy stuff.
    #5 Jammies for tiny people ususally have feet. Usually. The non-feet jammies are usually in bigger sizes. Do you have any “gowns” for him? I know he’s a little boy, but they make them very boy-ish… They are the best for changing diapers! So easy and cozy… especiall ywhen it cools off. Does it do that in Houston?
    #7 I too have been wanting a new watch but feel guilt at buying it!
    Have a nice weekend! Stay safe!!

  • 14. Nora  |  July 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I lived in Florida for a few years on the Atlantic and the hurrican fear is no fun at all; I completely understand. I was there for Hurricane Charlie, one of the worst to hit Daytona in a long time. So terrifying.

    Hopefully the storm doesn’t get stronger! have a great weekend!

  • 15. brandilicious  |  July 24, 2010 at 9:12 am

    This week felt incredibly long for me too. On Wednesday I swore it was Thursday. Sucks.

    Wednesday evening I had a call from my mom “You work in a basement right? “Uh, yes” “You might want to stay there.”

    Turns out a tornado touched down in CT that evening. Some towns experienced hail and heavy rain. I stayed at work a little later that evening. Tornadoes! In Connecticut!

  • 16. Angela  |  July 24, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    It seems like more and more pajamas are being made to look like regular clothes, which can be a bit of a pain. Once or twice, I’ve tried to stick a kid in a pajama top, but luckily, they’ve been old enough to point out that I was wrong. Although one of the boys I nanny wore a pajama top to school, knowing full well that it was pajamas. Can’t win them all!

  • 17. Mama Fuss  |  July 25, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    On clothes: I have 2 drawers for “current clothes” in our nursery, plus room for hanging stuff. Being from FL we have weird seasons and our seasons can go back and forth sometimes, so I always have a few things in both seasons around in the drawers. Depending on the time of year, I either keep warm stuff in one drawer and cool stuff in the other, or I separate the tops and bottoms with a section for PJs, and 2-piece matching outfits, swimwear (if appropriate). When she’s getting ready to transition to a new size, but is still in the older one, too, I either add the new pieces to the mix or switch to a small-size/big-size drawer system.
    On the PJs thing – there are a lot in infant sizes that are called “Sleep’n’Plays” that are supposed to double as PJs and an outfit (since they spend so much time sleeping anyway). I used to leave the cutest ones to double as both and the cuddlier ones (the velour ones, or fleece) for PJs only. But that’s my opinion only and I didn’t have a tiny baby in the coldest days last time around, so maybe I’ll change that this time.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

