Ten on Tuesday (36)

June 29, 2010 at 7:15 am 20 comments

Welcome to Week 36 of Ten on Tuesday. This week’s questions come from Katie at The Mommy Days. Go check her out, say hello, and thank her for her questions.

1. What was/is your favorite live action (meaning not animated) kids movie?
Does Enchanted count? It was half animated but mostly real people. Or Elf if that’s considered a kid’s movie. I love Elf!

2. What is a bad habit you have? Are you working on breaking it?
Some people might say that my Chapstick addiction is a bad habit. I do not agree with them. My worst habit is probably my email addiction. I check it compulsively. No, I’m not working on breaking it although I’m sure Jansen will be sure that my addiction subsides significantly!

3. Describe your father in 3 words.
Reliable, smart, leader.

4. Which character in the Breakfast Club were you most like in the ’80s?
Don’t kill me… I’ve never seen The Breakfast Club. I KNOW I KNOW. I need to.

5. Name 5 songs you know ALL the lyrics to.
This is an impossible question. I know the lyrics to many songs! (Although I don’t sing outloud unless I’m alone.)Β The most common? Worship music. I’d say I probably know more Chris Tomlin songs verbatim than any other artist.

6. Do you make pancakes from scratch or a box mix?
I don’t make pancakes. I can’t. I’m a complete failure every time I try. However, on the very few times I’ve given it a shot, I’ve used a mix.

7. What was your worst job ever? Why?
My 6 month “career” at a bank. It was terrible. It was the job I got right out of college. It paid well and seemed like a grown up job. I was pretty excited about it. I spent a good majority of the time in training… that part wasn’t so bad. But then I got into the bank and it was terrible. The is so much pressure in the banking industry since there are two banks on every corner. They wanted us to be calling customers and trying to sell them products. I had a problem with that for two reasons. 1) Nobody wants anyone calling them. I certainly don’t. If I need something from my bank, I’ll call them. 2) I don’t believe in encouraging debt. They wanted us to encourage people to get home equity loans even though I could see their account and knew they had no business getting a home equity loan. I just didn’t feel right about it so I didn’t do it… consequently I never met my weekly goals. So basically I felt like a failure on a weekly basis.

8. What was your favorite class in high school?
It was a class called Novel. I only took it one semester (I think that was all that it was offered) but it was fantastic. We read 9 novels in one semester and all we did in class was discuss. Grades were based on discussion and essays. Loved it. It revived my love for reading.

9. Favorite summer guilty pleasure?
I’m a grown up, I don’t get summer anymore. My guilty hot weather pleasure is sitting on the beach for hours while reading a book and drinking beer. Obviously that isn’t happening this summer because preggos can’t have beer and we turn into witches when we’re in the heat for too long. I have spent some time on the beach but mostly under the shade while downing water and then running into the ocean to pee while my husband yells at me and tells me that if I pee in the ocean then tiny fish and bacteria are going to swim up my hoohaa. I do it anyways.

10. Please share your best money saving tip!
My biggest tip: You don’t need that. That’s not my biggest tip, although it’s true.

How we save money? We don’t spend money without thinking about it. We buy storebrand food, medicine, toiletries. We use coupons and meal plan. We take our lunch to work 90% of the time. We turn our AC up when we’re at work (and no, it doesn’t cost more to cool it off at the end of the day than to keep it running all day long).

Your turn!

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Pregnant Pause – Week 28 Facelifts

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joy  |  June 29, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Answers on Mr. Linky ~ Hope you get to do some of your favorite things this summer (Beach books even if in the shade!!)!

  • 2. Taryn  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:12 am

    1. Goonies… ET…. Dark Crystal… Labyrinth!!!

    2. I bite my fingernails. The only way I can keep from doing it is to keep my nails trimmed really really short.

    3. Intelligent, sarcastic, christian

    4. I hate that movie.

    5. Anything by David Crowder Band, Depeche Mode, Garth Brooks, The Cure, or Lady Gaga (how’s that for diversity?)

    6. I just use Bisquick. But I do make my pancakes in ‘pancake molds’ so Luke gets to eat animals or star wars characters or whatever πŸ™‚

    7. Cashier at Kroger, working the late shift. Do you know how many weirdos come into the grocery store at 11pm on a Friday night?? Worked iwth fun pepole, but the job itself was terrible. I still know some of the produce codes we had to memorize.

    8. Biology. Mink Dissection and beastie hunting…there is seriously nothing better!

    9. I work, i have no summer. My biggest pleasure is to get to put luke down for his afternoon nap and then get in my swimsuit and go tan by the pool with a bottle of water and my nook. It’s a total waste of 2 hours, but it’s the only relaxing thing I really get to do.

    10. I’m with Chelsea on this one. Just say NO. We turn our AC up, I pack lunch a lot of days, we buy Target brand of almost everything including diapers, I look for deals and coupons at Target and Publix. But yeah, it really just boils down to: DO I NEED THAT?

  • 3. Stacie  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:30 am

    Amen to #7. The thought of cold calling makes me physically ill.

  • 4. Debbie  |  June 29, 2010 at 9:28 am

    omg, I would die if I had to ever work in a call center. that would be pure torture for me. bleh!!!

    we turn our AC up during the day, too. definitely helps! πŸ™‚

  • 5. Sarah  |  June 29, 2010 at 9:35 am

    My answers are on Mr. Linky – this is my first time commenting on your blog and my first time participating in Ten on Tuesday! Thanks for writing such a great blog – I have been following your blog for awhile (found you from Lauren from Texas’ blog) and I love reading what you have to say every day!

  • 6. Veronica  |  June 29, 2010 at 9:58 am

    these were good questions! Elf is definitely the best non-animated kid movie!

    and we totally turn our AC during the day too; my mom thinks I’m dumb for doing it. psh, it does save money!

    and when we go to the beach in like a month, i’ll fan you so you don’t get overheated πŸ™‚ i laughed outloud to your explanation of Stephen’s reaction to you going in the ocean πŸ˜›

  • 7. mintyfresch  |  June 29, 2010 at 10:19 am

    My answers are on Mr. Linky, too. I forgot about taking my lunch and turning up my AC, I do both of those too!

  • 8. Southern Gal  |  June 29, 2010 at 10:21 am

    1. Elf! I think one of your first comments to me (or me to you?) was about Elf.

    2. Used to be chewing ice. Since I’m not anemic anymore I’ve kicked that habit. (And I used to be a CDA. Bad girl!)

    3. Workhorse, Hilarious!!!!, trustworthy

    4. I don’t think I was like any of those characters, but between Claire and Allison it would have to be Claire. The princess in the teacher’s eyes.

    5. How about knowing all the songs of five artists or bands? The Eagles, Billy Joel (early stuff), Keith Green, Third Day,
    Tim McGraw

    6. Both. Depends on time constraints.

    7. Yours beat mine – cleaning my moms beauty shop.

    8. Journalism which led to Sports Editor of the school newspaper.

    9. Ha! My daughter’s female obstetrician told her a friend of the doctor’s had threatened to secretly put a license plate on the front of her truck stating her business: “Hooha Doctor”!!

    My guilty summer pleasure is reading. I love a good summer read or two or three.

    10. Don’t buy anything. Seriously. Not really. We try to save more than we spend. It’s hard, but having the savings come straight out of my husband’s check has been the biggest help with that. We categorize our different savings accounts: emergency, car insurance/repair, medical co-pay, college for kids, etc.

    Have a great day, oh pregnant one.

  • 9. Southern Gal  |  June 29, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Oh, and please watch The Breakfast Club. You have to.

  • 10. mom (nana)  |  June 29, 2010 at 11:15 am

    1. What was/is your favorite live action (meaning not animated) kids movie?
    ET? Princess Bride? Elf? Not sure, like them all…

    2. What is a bad habit you have? Are you working on breaking it?
    Procrastination….maybe later

    3. Describe your father in 3 words.
    full of integrity, leader, committed

    4. Which character in the Breakfast Club were you most like in the ’80s?
    Don’t kill me… I’ve never seen The Breakfast Club. I KNOW I KNOW. I need to. DTTO….but I’m not sure “I need to”

    5. Name 5 songs you know ALL the lyrics to.
    Hmmmm getting old so lyrics are starting to fade….but know quite a few hymns and some worship songs too. Old songs from the 60’s too maybe

    6. Do you make pancakes from scratch or a box mix?
    Dad makes the pancakes!

    7. What was your worst job ever? Why?
    I didn’t love my first job at NASA. Lots of paper pushing but I did like the people I worked with. Thankful I had a job though, cause we were newlyweds, so I worked for a year then changed.

    8. What was your favorite class in high school?
    Typing – Mrs. Mary Pierce taught it and I loved her!

    9. Favorite summer guilty pleasure?
    When you are my age and not working anymore, you have guilty pleasures all year. πŸ™‚ I do like that my husband is a bit more layed back and not as stressed during the summer months, as things do slow down at work a bit. And he is sooooo happy from being with “his” kiddos on the mission trip.

    10. Please share your best money saving tip!
    Well, we don’t save money as much as we used to, since we do have it to spend now. However, we still take as much as the govt will allow out and put it in a 401. (If you don’t see it, you can’t spend it) We put extra out of our bonus money in our personal savings so we can get to it quickly. We don’t buy name brand – even if we can afford it – we don’t. We don’t spend needlessly – even if we can afford it – we don’t. Shop at Dollar General when possible. We still watch how we turn off lights, etc when we are home. It just becomes a way of life so even when you CAN afford extras, you still think twice before you spend. HOWEVER, the AC is NOT going to be turned up at my age – it is something for all of you to look forward to! πŸ™‚

  • 11. Katie  |  June 29, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Enchanted totally counts (it was mostly live action). I loved that movie too! I just forgot about it!

    Your husbands comment about peeing in the ocean is hysterical!! I do the same thing and nothing has ever happened to me!

  • 12. Nora  |  June 29, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    I had to laugh at #9.
    How in the world can fish + bacteria swim up your hooha? That kind of cracks me up.

    I love Enchanted. Glad I’m not the only adult who feels that way =)

  • 13. Fuegita  |  June 29, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    haha Love your 9.
    Excellent choice on Elf. I love that movie.

  • 14. rachel  |  June 29, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    oh I am totally with you on Enchanted. made my brother go with me to the theater and fell in love with it at that moment. my husband even used one of the songs when he proposed (because i had made him watch it with me while we were dating)

  • 15. Brittany  |  June 29, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    I’ve never seen the breakfast club either. I couldn’t even tell you what it’s about!

  • 16. Courtney  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Yep, I’m totally with you on #10 too. My AC rarely goes below 80, which is much cooler than the 100 outside. πŸ™‚

  • 17. Christine  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    You made me laugh out loud on #9. Thank you for that.

  • 18. Lisa from Lisas Yarns  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    I totally forgot about Enchanted! Love, love, loved that movie.

    That novel class sounds awesome!! I would love to take a class like that!

  • 19. mediumcrazy  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I would just like to state that my favorite live action kids movie is Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey.

    I cry every time.

  • 20. abby  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Reading about your banking experience took me right back. I really can’t believe I endured it for as many years as I did. Such a horrible thing to try to sell things to someone that doesn’t need it! Bleh!! So glad to not be in a sales job now!

    I never thought I could make pancakes but I tried the Pioneer Woman ones in her cookbook and they were amazing. you should try them. it helps so much to have the pictures:)

    And I’m with you, my hubby and I pack our lunches every single day to work to save money (and calories too!)

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win