Facelifts

June 30, 2010 at 8:10 am 10 comments

Things are a-changing around Hurst Castle.

After two and a half years of being homeowners, we finally put curtains up in the living room. Amazing, I know. I mentioned it a few weeks ago and I guess that lit a fire under my butt. Stephen and I went to Bed, Bath & Beyond to pick them out last week. Of course the had to be special ordered since we own an old home that has NOTHING standard in it. It’s like they just cut random rectangular holes in the walls and said, “Okay glass company, make that into a window.”

The curtains were delivered over the weekend while we were on vacation so Stephen hung them on Monday night. I was so excited to get them up. Not that they are up, I have mixed feelings. When they are closed, it’s kind of ugly. It’s fabric overload! There really is no way to avoid it though because it’s a ginormous window and we want thick curtains to keep the heat out. So I just have to deal. When they are open they look nice, so I’ll just keep them closed while we’re at work and open them when we get home. No biggie.

With every improvement, I’m feeling more and more like an adult. I feel like our house is coming together and starting to feel like a home. It’s a wonderful feeling.

I’m going to have a hard time focusing today because AS WE SPEAK my mom and sister are painting Jansen’s room! This morning, the room had white, dirty walls. Tonight, it’ll be very bright green! THRILLED! Oh and did I mention the burnt orange closet? Burnt orange makes me happy.

Once the painting is done, we’ll shampoo the carpets and then start moving the furniture from our front living room into Jansen’s room. I’m really hoping that everything fits well. Not that I can really do anything about it if it doesn’t!

My house isn’t the only thing that has changed. This little site here has too. Those little tabs at the top were just not working for me. First of all, the Contact Me tab was practically worthless since it only worked half the time. For some reason WordPress only chose specific messages to send to me. I often got emails from people who said that they’d used the Contact Me tab and hadn’t heard back from me. That’s just not okay.

So that tab is gone. You can now find my contact info on the About Me tab.

Another tab that’s gone? The Book Swap… because, let’s face it, I was seriously slacking on that. I did a good job in getting the books out in a timely manner but nothing really came of that. People read their books. Some people reviewed them, some didn’t. So instead of seeing it everyday and being constantly reminded that I’ve left it incomplete, I’m just going to take it away altogether. It’s my blog, I can do it if I want to.

I need to do some major revisions to the Blogroll. It’s not very accurate or helpful. I didn’t get to it in time for this update, but it’s on my List of Things to Do.

I have added a new tab up there by the request of many of you. I ever-so-uncreatively titled it “Bumptastic.” It includes all of my weekly bump pictures in one spot. Go check it out, I think you’ll like it. It’s kind of shocking to scroll from nothingness to a large bump.

That large bump is an ever-present reminder. It makes my back hurt, my feet hurt, my butt hurt. It weighs me down and makes my clothes too tight. Of course I have maternity clothes but I am so tall that most of the shirts are too short and you can see my belly panel sticking out the bottom. Nobody is really going to judge me, but it’s not very convenient to be tugging on my shirt every time I walk around the office. My solution? A facelift of my own. Monday and Tuesday of this week I wore Stephen’s t-shirts to work.

I’m telling you, people. There are so many changes around here you can hardly keep up! Let me sum it up for you: house updates, blog tab changes, and I wear men’s clothing. Wonderful.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Hurst Castle, Pregnancy. Tags: .

Ten on Tuesday (36) Facelifts: Revealed

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Taryn  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Yay! can’t wait to see pics of Jansen’s newly painted room! Did you ever get curtain rods with clear finnials? One of our neighbors got some at Target for her daughter’s room… they’re brushed silver with cracked glass balls on the ends.

  • 2. Debbie  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:45 am

    That’s so exciting about Jansen’s room!!! I remember when my whole family painted Jacobs room. So much fun, well, it was for me as I watched the whole thing and they did all the work.🙂

    And, there’s a definite market out there for someone to start up a business for maternity clothes for tall people. I ran into the same problem with shirts being way too short. Hell, that’s a problem even when I’m not pregnant, but, I say we start a business and get that off the ground. Rather than big and tall….preggo and tall. That’s a patent! 🙂

  • 3. Kathleen  |  June 30, 2010 at 9:00 am

    You remind me of me with the house thing. We just put curtains up last weekend after a year and a half. They need to be hemmed though, so currently they’re hanging with a ton of extra fabric bunched at the bottom. I’m going to try to get to that today, but really who knows?

  • 4. Sara  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:48 am

    You HAVE to post pics of Jansen’s room ASAP! Good for you for getting curtains. I desperately want to get new curtains for our living room but what I really want is for them to magically appear. I don’t want to actually have to do work. I also want to take wallpaper down in my kitchen and breakfast nook and paint. Then get new cabinet hardware. I will continue to dream though.

  • 5. Mama Fuss  |  June 30, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Get used to the men’s clothing – you’ve got another couple of months of maternity clothes and you’re just gonna get bigger – I had 1 pair of pants by the end of my first pregnancy and a couple shirts. I had to buy something nice looking for my showers (I used the same new, pretty shirt for both of them) because it all was starting to look funny on my huge body. (I had BOTH showers less than a month before my due date…) I was stealing all sorts of stuff from my husband’s side of the closet…

  • 6. abby  |  June 30, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    We’re going to need pictures of said drapes. And the green walls!

  • 7. Nora  |  June 30, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    How exciting that Jansen’s room will be painted when you get home! I agree, photos are needed.

    Also, my book from the book club is up next in my TBR stack. I’m in too many darn book clubs and thus get behind in my “personal” reading. If it makes you feel better each time I look at the book I feel bad for not having read it yet.

  • 8. Southern Gal  |  June 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    That’s so exciting about the nursery being painted! Did you ever get the curtain rod issue resolved? Pictures, please?

    So you love burnt orange? You should have lived with me in the 70’s. My mama loved burnt orange so much the trim on the house was that color, the boat we had had orange interior and the exterior had an orange stripe on a cream backgorund. Even her ’78 Thunderbird was an orangy color on the half vinyl top. She swears she doesn’t remember the orange house trim now. Oh, but I’ve got pictures to prove it!

  • 9. smile steady  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Way to go! N

  • 10. smile steady  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Ummm… I have no idea how that posted. Sorry! I was going to say, “now the creepers won’t be able to peek inside at your underbelly.” Can’t wait to see Jansen’s room all completed!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

