Ten on Tuesday (41)

August 3, 2010 at 7:15 am 16 comments

I made up the questions this week. So basically if you don’t like them, don’t tell me. I’m pregnant and fragile.

1. What is your current favorite television show?
I would say The Biggest Loser but we’re in the off season so it’s not really in the forefront of my mind. I really love Community. I honestly think it’s one of the best shows on television right now. It’s hilarious and I love Joel McHale. (Also a huge fan of Big Bang Theory and Wipe Out.)

2. Apple juice or orange juice?
Mott’s apple juice. Sometimes I drink it in a wine glass because it makes me feel classy and not like a toddler. I like orange juice with a lot of pulp and Stephen doesn’t really so we usually buy pulp-less OJ.

3. It’s Shark Week on Discover Channel. Do you watch? Why or why not?
I’ve never really understood what the fuss is all about. Stephen and I watched a bit on Sunday night and it was pretty fascinating. I don’t think I could watch shark shows for an entire week… but one or two shows is fun.

4. What are the non-blog websites that you visit regularly?
Hotmail, Facebook, Twitter, Failblog, Failbooking, Postsecret, Etsy.

5. What is your favorite way to prepare green beans? Asparagus? Potatoes? Carrots?
-I steam my green beans and add them to carmelized onions.
-I grill asparagus with olive oil and kosher salt.
-If we are talking about red potatoes, either chopped up and cooked int butter and/or bacon fat and made into hash browns or PW’s roasted garlic and new potatoes recipe.
-I boil the carrots for 8 minutes and then add them to a dab of butter and brown sugar.

6. What is your favorite flower?
“Daisies. They’re so friendly. Don’t you think daisies are the friendliest flower?”

7. How do you feel about handkerchiefs?
I think they are gross. (And for those of you who followed my answer for #6, I totally didn’t mean to ask another YGM related question. It just happened.)

8. If you could only shop at 3 stores for the rest of your life, what would they be? (You probably should include a grocery store.)
Kroger, Old Navy, and Target. Kroger is my grocery store of choice so that would be where I’d like to do my grocery shopping. Old Navy is within my budget and I can actually fit into their jeans, so I could handle that being my main clothes store. I’d get everything else at Target.

9. If you could only use wine for one purpose for the rest of your life, which would you choose? To cook with or to drink?
This is pretty tough but I think I may go with cooking. I really love the flavor that wine brings to food and I think I’d rather have that flavor. I can always have a beer, right.

10. What’s your bedtime?
Sadly, around 10:30. TOO LATE. We just can’t seem to get to bed any earlier. I’m so tired in the mornings but I wake up in the evenings and it’s hard to turn my brain off. In my first trimester I went to sleep by 9. Those were good times!

Here’s Mr Linky!

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Pregnant Pause – Week 33 Let’s Just Be Real

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  August 3, 2010 at 7:57 am

    The Vampire Diaries.

    Both, but prefer orange juice and I like the pulp too.

    No, I don’t have cable, but even if I did I would not watch, just not interesting.

    Facebook

    I don’t really have a favorite way, but I do like them fresh from the garden.

    Wild flowers are my favorites

    If used, very nasty, otherwise can be pretty.

    I don’t shop a lot, so the stores I go to the most are Foodlion (grocery) and Wal-mart and the Dollar Store.

    Don’t use for any reason, but I would drink it, before cook with it.

    I have a bedtime goal, that I never keep, about 11:00 is when I go to bed.

  • 2. Mama Fuss  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:20 am

    I recognized the Meg Ryan quote immediately, but completely missed the connection to the handkerchiefs until you pointed it out. Love that movie.

  • 3. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Love the YGM references! Gosh I heart that movie! And Daisies really are the friendliest flower.

  • 4. Kim  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:27 am

    I have bedtime issues as well. 😦

  • 5. Brandi  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Daffodils are pretty friendly too. They look like they are smiling and wearing a bonnet 🙂

  • 6. Autumn  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Good questions!
    I have never given that much thought to a handkerchief in my whole life!
    And wait until that baby boy gets to be about 5 or 6… you’ll be watching Shark Week with me!

  • 7. Taryn  |  August 3, 2010 at 9:04 am

    1. Currently… Project Runway and Top Chef. But I love Grey’s Anatomy, Big Bang Theory, Survivor, and Amazing Race during the regular fall season

    2. Apple

    3. yes. I love anything to do with marine biology, and Luke likes to watch anything with animals.

    4. Hotmail, Facebook, Postsecret, Etsy, AllRecipes, ClickPotato, Groupon

    5. Green beans – steamed
    Asparagus – steamed or grilled with butter and salt
    potatoes – i usually only eat sweet potatoes… nuke em and add butter and cinnamon
    carrots – i rarely eat cooked carrots… i munch on baby carrots every now and then.

    6. sunflowers. they make me smile.

    7. seriously gross.

    8. Target – covers all groceries, plus clothes, shoes, baby stuff, etc.
    Old Navy – about the only other store i shop for clothes besides Target.
    HomeDepot – because who can live without it? it’s the only place i’d be able to get all the other stuff we’d need for the house… outdoors, paint, electrical, appliances, etc.

    9. cook. I don’t drink that much wine. I’m a beer girl for life.

    10. not early enough. most nights, 10pm, cuz that’s when project runway and top chef end. sometimes I get caught up in reading or playing super mario galaxy 2, and then it ends up being around 11. those are the same nights luke decides to have a bad dream or something and wakes up at 3am, so i end up like a zombie at work.

  • 8. stephanie  |  August 3, 2010 at 9:26 am

    I have had SUCH issues with my bedtime lately. I’ve gotta get it back on track!

  • 9. Stacie  |  August 3, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Did you, um, see the Community episode where Jeff strips down to his, uh, panties? Yeah, it’s my favorite too.

  • 10. Nora  |  August 3, 2010 at 10:10 am

    My favorite shows are True Blood & Drop Dead Diva, though I’m behind on Drop Dead Diva. I also really like Leverage and am excited to get the next disc from netflix!

    my bed time lately is midnight. Evidently my body thinks that since it’s summer I’m on summer vacation, not that I’m in face a working professional who works 8 and 9 hour days.

  • 11. Debbie  |  August 3, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I love YGM. Daisies were already my favorite flower but everytime I see them I still hear Meg Ryan saying they’re the friendliest. 🙂

  • 12. DebbieQ  |  August 3, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    1. The Real Housewives of…….(I hang my head in shame at this)
    2. OJ but only if someone squeezes it fresh for me.
    3. LOVE Shark Week. What does that say about me?
    4. Facebook, Twitter, Tasty Kitchen, Drudge Report
    5. Steam the beans, lightly fry the asparagus, Party Potatoes, I avoid carrots.
    6. Daylily
    7. Gross. My grandma used to make me crawl under her bed to get the used ones that she couldn’t reach. Blech!
    8. Target, Giant Eagle, Walmart, Home Depot. Yes, I know there are 4 but I couldn’t decide.
    9. I guess cooking but it is cruel of you to make me choose.
    10. 10p.

  • 13. Amanda  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    Love both YGM mentions 🙂 one of my faves!
    I can’t handle Shark Week. I have a serious fear of sharks. Not quite a phobia, but I derive ZERO pleasure from watching them thrash around. Instead I have nightmares about getting eaten by one.

  • 14. Courtney  |  August 4, 2010 at 1:57 am

    Hey. I like the pulp in OJ too! I like to think that it’s extra nutritious. 🙂

  • 15. Southern Gal  |  August 4, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Late! Brother-in-law in the hospital (home now).

    1. I own the tv when American Idol and Biggest Loser are aired, so this time of year it’s Mythbusters and Survivor shows. I’m outnumbered 3 to 1 now.

    2. I don’t drink much juice. I like apple and orange with lots of pulp.

    3. NO WAY! We always vacation at the beach. I remember seeing Jaws when it came out. I was 12. It ruined my beach experience for the next few summers. Ruined my bathtime, too.

    4. My email account? Amazon. Wikipedia. (Now I’m off to look up Failblog.)

    5. Boil green beans for about 6 minutes. Toss with lemon juice, butter, kosher salt, pepper and slivered almonds. Grill or broil asparagus with kosher salt and olive oil until crispy. Potatoes? My sons love them sliced and fried in a skillet with oil. I sneak in onions when they aren’t looking. Carrots are sliced and cooked in a frying pan with a little butter. When soft enough I add the brown sugar.

    6. Hydrangeas

    7. Love the pretty ones, but would never use one.

    8. If it had to be in my town there are only a few options: Food Lion, WalMart and Belk. That’s about it. If I can travel about 25 miles I would say Publix, Target and Kohls.

    9. I am so not a drinker. Cooking, definitely.

    10. I pass out around 11:30. When my husband is working it’s usually 2am. Yeah.

    5.

  • 16. Meghan  |  August 6, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    I am a little late, but I still made it to the party!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win