There Are No Words…

February 9, 2009 at 10:10 am 20 comments

Actually there are words. There are lots of words. There are 796 of them to be exact. But you know what I mean…

 

Is there something you’ve wished for your whole life? Something you thought would be absolutely amazing but never ever thought it would actually happen? You know, like some people wish for world peace. Some wish they could fly. Or win the lottery. Or be famous. Or own a Lou Gehrig signed baseball. You know, those unreachable wishes. Well I have one of those too.

 

You know how you can play that game “If you could have lunch with 5 people, dead or alive, who would they be?” Okay, well play that game with yourself. Right now. Got your 5? Okay, now imagine if the mysteries of science could actually make that happen? How would you feel? What would you do? I’ll tell you. You’d cry. You’d have a massive headache brought on by insane amounts of excitement. It would take you twice as long to type your blog because your hands are shaking uncontrollably.  I know this because my lifelong wish ranks up there with the 5 People Game, and I learned on Friday that my wish is coming true.

 

I wish for eyesight. And the mysteries of science can now make it happen.

 

There are many of you who will not understand the magnitude of this event in my life. If you’ve never had a tiny pair of glasses strapped to your head at the ripe age of 2, you won’t understand. If you’ve never been made fun of for having a crossed eye, you won’t understand. If you’ve never wondered what it actually means to see clearly, you won’t understand. Basically, I don’t expect you to understand.

 

When I was two, my parents knew there was a problem. My doctor knew there was a problem. My right eye crossed and I didn’t use it. Now, 22 years later, my right eye still crosses and I still don’t use it. My eye sight has improved significantly over the years. I’ve (unknowingly) trained my eye how to straighten itself when I’m not wearing my contacts. (This takes years of therapy and lots of money for most people.) However, when I straighten my eye, my vision is terrible. Imagine opening your eyes underwater. It’s like that. So I had a few options. One: Uncross my eye and see blur. Two: Cross my eye and see wonderfully. Three: Wear contacts, have a straight eye, and see mediocre. But now, there is an option four… lasik.

 

But Chelsea, lasik has been around for a long time. Yes friend, it has. But it wasn’t available for my type of eyes. I’m one of those “complicated cases.”  In the past few years, technology has been improved enough to fix my eyes. However, my doctor and I haven’t been comfortable with it just yet. You see (no pun intended), when you have terrible eyes, you learn to be extremely grateful for the sight that you do have. I always swore I’d never get lasik for fear that it would take away what I’ve got. Well, times have changed. My doctor has another patient very similar to me, he’s been in glasses since 3, has a crossed eye, far-sighted, the works. He had successful lasik surgery last year. (If you understood where I’m coming from, that would make you tear up a bit. Or, minimally, do a happy dance.)

 

So if all goes as planned, I should have perfect vision with completely straight eyes this time next week. Unbelievable, I know. I am beyond ecstatic. I’m sweating. And I don’t sweat. (Seriously.) I leave you with three things:

 

1. Please please do not ever make fun of someone with crossed eyes. Do not ever cross your eyes if you are making a joke or pretending to be dumb. Know that on every single movie that shows a dumb person with crossed eyes, millions of kids (and now adults) just like me cry inside.

2. I am grateful from the bottom of my heart for my parents. Ever read 5 Love Languages? Well they don’t tell you this, but the 6th language is The Gift of Sight. I feel your love! Not that I didn’t before, but this is the most wonderful gift you could ever give me. I am also grateful to my doctor who has been the most amazing doctor. For 22 years she’s cared for my eyes. She is a wonderful lady.

3. Pray Pray Pray. At (Time TBA) on Friday, pray. Pray for my nerves, my husband’s nerves, my parents’ nerves, my doctor’s nerves. Pray for the doctor performing the surgery. Pray a prayer of peace, a prayer of healing, and then pray a resounding prayer of thanks.

 

Now if only I could get rid of this headache and stop shaking!

 

Note: This blog was written on Friday when I got the call that all was good to go. The headache has now subsided and I’m no longer shaking. I doubt I’ll sleep much Thursday night and I’m sure I’ll have a massive migraine on Friday. As soon as I know the time of my appointment, I’ll update #3 up there. (Lindsay and Kaitlin, that is why I didnt post sooner, I was hoping to know my appointment time.) Please check back for that info. Prayers are needed.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family. Tags: , , , , .

Another Mumbo Jumbo Friday Not So Good With the Listening

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah Johnson  |  February 9, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Chelsea, that is so exciting! I just had a friend- who is probably being diagnosed with RA- who was going to get lasik, but because of the RA and she is heart broken!
    Although I haven’t had to wear glasses since I was 2, I have had to since 5th grade and even this week not having contacts and having to wear an old prescription of glasses with headaches is so annoying- I sort of feel for you! Will definitely be praying!

  • 2. Alma  |  February 9, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Hey Chelsea! Ten years ago, I had lasik. It was a piece of cake. I can’t even begin to imagine the improvements that have been made since then. I won’t be surprised if you come out of it saying, “It was a piece of cake with yummy ice cream on top.” — I’m really happy for you!

  • 3. Lindsay  |  February 9, 2009 at 11:23 am

    YAYYYYYY!!!! I’m so excited for you!

  • 4. osarah  |  February 9, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Chelsea, that is so awesome! We will be praying for you and everyone involved. I’m so happy that you’re getting to do this. Yay!

  • 5. Emily  |  February 9, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Yay! I’m SO happy for you!!! That’s so exciting, and we’ll definatly be praying for you🙂

  • 6. Tia Boo  |  February 9, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Stephen told me yesterday about your surgery. Congratulations. You will be a great encouragement for little Taylor if she ever needs more surgery. Prayers for you on Friday, and can you PLEASE ask Stephen to call me when it’s all over with? What time is the surgery?

  • 7. Veronica  |  February 9, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    oh wow! that’s great news!!! I’ll be praying for you🙂

  • 8. Tina  |  February 9, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Good choice!
    So proud of you, brave girl.
    Can’t wait for the update!

  • 9. Katlin  |  February 9, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    YAYYYY!!! I’m so happy for you! My mom had lasik and even though her case isn’t as extensive as yours, she absolutely LOVES her new way of seeing things! Keep us updated for sure and thanks for finally posting😉

  • 10. karch  |  February 9, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Chelsea….i had my eyes done about 6 years ago and it was so worth it! I’m happy for you!!

  • 11. Jen  |  February 9, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    YAY!! I am soooo happy for you! I’m praying for you already🙂

  • 12. Mom  |  February 9, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    WE are so thankful that there is FINALLY an option for our precious daughter. Please pray for a perfect outcome – Chelsea sooo deserves to get this done – and we are grateful to God for allowing us to help her out. We love you chel-c!!!

  • 13. 2muchtv  |  February 9, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Good luck on your surgery! I’ve been wearing glasses since 4th grade (that was almost 25 years ago), so I have an idea of what you’re talking about.🙂

  • 14. Matt  |  February 9, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    eek! awesome!

    don’t worry. i have a number of family members and family friends who’ve had lasik. no problemo!!!

    good luck, and i can’t wait!

  • 15. andybeingachristian  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Glad to have stumbled upon some truly good news. All the best for it – I will pray for you! Thanks too for highlighting such an important issue with real dignity.

    Andy
    andybeingachristian.wordpress.com

  • 16. Ann Z  |  February 12, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Wow, best of luck. I’m at a totally different end of this – my 2 year old daughter wears glasses for farsightedness and crossed eyes. It’s so hard to read that you were made fun of for your eyes and your glasses, but so wonderful to read that you have hope for perfect vision (which means my daughter does, too, though not for many years).

    I’ll keep you in my prayers on Friday!

  • 17. Introducing Chelsea « little four eyes  |  February 16, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    […] the first post of hers that I came across, There are no words, she talks about what it meant to grow up always having worn glasses and to have always wanted, but […]

  • 18. Annie  |  February 16, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    I’m the mother of a 3 year old who got glasses at 20 months…I read about you on Little Four Eyes. You did in fact bring tears to my eyes and I don’t even know you! However, I know as a parent what you are feeling. You, your loved ones, and doctors are all in my prayers!

  • 19. ingrid  |  February 19, 2009 at 4:02 am

    wow, what an awesome story. I am really praying for you on Friday. My daughter has something similar, she is fifteen months. Short sighted in one eye and eye crosses out. Hopefully with advances in technology when she is a bit older they will be able to cure her also. It is so good to hear about it from another persons perspective who has been through it. I often think to myself I wonder how she sees but you are right she does not know any other way. I think it’s the same for her if she lets the eye go so to speak she has good vision but if she tries to straighten them it is probably terrible.

  • 20. 100th Post « Roots and Rings  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:15 am

    […] 2. There Are No Words […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

