In Heaven There Is No Beer

October 19, 2009 at 9:21 am 22 comments

That’s why we drink it here

DSC01400

And when we’re all gone from here

DSC01401

All our friends will be drinkin’ all our beer

DSC01404

Remember two Fridays ago when you all wished my grandpa a happy 75th birthday? (Thanks for that, by the way.) The past Friday, the family came to town and we celebrated with him. Many of you may not know this about me but my maiden name is Rosenhagen. Many of you may not know this about our name but Rosenhagen means “proud Germans who drink.” That may or may not be a loose translation. And I may or may not have made that up 5 seconds ago. Nevertheless, that’s what we are. I’ll prove it.

We gathered at my aunt and uncle’s house for some drinks and appetizers. We made my grandma and grandpa hang out in the front living room while we hid in the bedroom to craft our super cool hats and practice our song. I considered posting the video of this song because, well, you just wouldn’t believe it unless you saw it. But I’m hesitant to show you because I fear that it’s brilliance will cause me to become blog-famous overnight and I’m not quite sure I can handle that. Plus my cousins are in the video and they are in junior high and I think junior high is a bit to early to become famous. Child stars are such jerks. And because I don’t want my cousins to become jerks, I’m not posting the video. But it was awesome. It was titled “Pullin’ a Ron” and discussed classy things like mooning people and the scent of his car after a meal of sauerkraut. Good stuff.

After our sweet serenade we loaded into 4 vehicles and drove to Rudy Lechner’s in Houston. Because nothing says “We love you Grandpa” quite like red cabbage and German music. I had a Weiner Schnitzel (no, it’s not tubed meat) and some German wine. Right next to us was the band. They were this German couple and they were wearing clothes that weren’t purchased from Party City. They were pretty entertaining. Being a few generations from the true Germans in our family, I didn’t recognize most of the music. I did, however, appreciate when he took off his hat, put on a red bandana, and sang “On the Autoban” in true Willie form.

Here are a few pictures to make you jealous that you aren’t related to the Rosenhagens.

DSC01381

Rosenhagens do arts and crafts.

DSC01394

They show up to the restaurant wasted.
(Totally kidding. That’s my cousin- she’s only 16. Apparently Stephen put my camera on the “trashed” setting. But seriously, isn’t she beautiful?)

DSC01403

Rosenhagens grow facial hair and unibrows in 7th grade.

Justin and Laura

The men expand with their pregnant wives.

DSC01402

Rosenhagens sing German songs louder than anyone else in the restaurant. If Rudy Lechner’s was junior high, we were definitely the popular table. Everyone wanted our cool hats.

So there is a glimpse into my family life. We are goofy and crazy but we certainly have a lot of love going around. It was a special treat to do this for my grandpa. I’m just glad we come from a fun culture!

DSC01384

In Heaven there is no beer
That’s why we drink it here
And when we’re all gone from here
All our friends will be drinkin’ all our beer

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family. Tags: , , .

Seven Quick Takes (vol.11) Ten on Tuesday – Because My Mind is Still Mush

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caroline  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:50 am

    This is too funny! I was thinking about doing a German theme for Knox’s first birthday. He’s a dachshund therefore he is German. But Fred is boring and just wants hot dogs. We’ll see. So, I might have to ask you about German food.

  • 2. Kyla Roma  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:52 am

    LOL The Rosenhagens are mythic! =D
    This is too cute, glad you had an amazing time!

  • 3. jfowens  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Coming from someone who is currently living in Germany, I must say, aside from the colored hats, those picutres look like they could have been taken here! I love it! In a strange way, this blog made me feel connected to you guys.

    We will have to have schnitzel together when we get back. Maybe some spaetzel and kartoffelsalat too!🙂

  • 4. This Heavenly Life  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:21 am

    What a fun party! My husband likes to pretend he’s German. I tell him, Dude – you are SO French. And then he pouts. See? FRENCH.

  • 5. Lyndsey  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I did not need another reason to wish I were a Rosenhagen.

  • 6. Lyndsey  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:34 am

    P.S. Trashed setting. HILARIOUS.

  • 7. mom  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Fun night – and I have to say in defense, we were NOT wasted! We were all able to drive home just fine! Best quote of the night came from my daughter-in-law, Laura, after sitting there all evening long enjoying the festivities… “Somehow I just can’t see my family doing this!”…. Eine, Swine, Trinne….. or something like that! 🙂

  • 8. Lindsay  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:37 am

    I so sad I missed it! It looks like very one had fun. I was flipping through the pictures Brad sent and saw that Matthew (right?) drew on his face…all I did was shake my head and thought to myself..”well, he IS Renne’s..”

  • 9. Rachel  |  October 19, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Emily is not 16. I refuse to believe it. She’s still watching Mary Kate & Ashley and getting mad at Grant for soaking her barbies in water and sticking them in the freezer where I live. (I may or may not live in a time period over a decade ago.) Seriously though, I wouldn’t fault Rick if he was trying to scare all the males at LSA into thinking he owned lots of guns.

  • 10. Erin  |  October 19, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    That looks like such a blast🙂

  • 11. Cousin Kim  |  October 19, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Yay! I got to see Laura’s preggo tummy! Thanks for the cool pics!

  • 12. Darla  |  October 19, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    That was stinkin’ funny … “if we were in junior high we’d be the popular table”!

    You were 5 minutes from my house (yes, I live smack dab in the middle of Blue Willow Book Store and Rudy Lechners). In fact, I was in RL’s parking lot Saturday night … but only to pick up a pizza at Papa John’s.

    Very funny and very fun family!

  • 13. Autumn  |  October 19, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Looks like a great time! Your grandpa is a blessed man to have you all celebrate with him!

  • 14. osarah  |  October 19, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    That looks like a great time — and like you could have been in a German restaurant in Deutschland!

  • 15. Jimbo  |  October 19, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    My dad and I love the “In Heaven There Is No Beer” song! I didn’t know anyone else knew it until today. R&R, your magnificence grows daily…

  • 16. Samantha  |  October 19, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    The Rosenhagen’s sure know how to have a good time! Love all the photos!

  • 17. Erin  |  October 19, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    I love it! My phone’s camera is so slow that my 2-year-old nephew always looks drunk or high…

  • 18. Lisa D  |  October 19, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Your granpda is adorable! I also have a good German name!

    What a fun celebration, though. Looks like you all had a blast!

  • 19. Debbie  |  October 20, 2009 at 9:18 am

    awww, your grandpa is so cute! love y’alls hats!!! how lucky to have such a fun/charismatic family!

    lol @ “trashed setting” 🙂

  • 20. HoustonGurly  |  October 20, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Fun! I love Rudy Lechner’s! I’ve got German and czech in me, so you know I am a big fan o’ beer! 🙂

  • 21. osarah  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    I did NOT realize John and I wrote basically the same thing. Oops. Sorry for the redundant comments!

  • 22. jill  |  October 21, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Ahh good times! I hope I get to meet you someday, you seem like fun. I know that is probably not likely to happen, but you never know. I’ve always wanted to go to Texas for something other than a 15 minute spring through the airport!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

