Seven Quick Takes (vol.15)

November 13, 2009 at 9:30 am 24 comments

Time for seven more bits of random. Need more than seven? Head over to Conversion Diary to read more.

7_quick_takes

1.
The Google is buzzing with people wondering if Daniel and Rebecca are dating. Let’s go ahead and assume yes. The Google is also buzzing with people wondering if Bob and Amanda are dating. While they seem to be extremely close, I don’t think so. I think Bob probably isn’t interested in that particular gender. Do we agree on that? If you have another theory, I’d love to hear it.

2.
Remember when Nationwide dumped us? It was a case of the “it’s not you, it’s me” except that we knew that wasn’t true. It was us. Well we had a talk yesterday and came to terms with everything. They told us that it’s not that they don’t love us but their parents just won’t allow them see to us anymore. But they think we’re great and they want us to be happy. So they set us up on a few dates with some of their friends that they think are worthy. And they let us pick our new relationship. We made the transition last night. It went smooth. No tears, no drama.

3.
I finished Redeeming Love yesterday during lunch. Wow. Great great book. Great story, great message. It sucked me in and I didn’t want it to end… ever. Have you ever had a book like that? Now on to Wuthering Heights.

4.
I ordered my Christmas cards this week. We are trying to cut costs so I was wondering if I should send them this year. I have to though, I just love Christmas cards! I ordered a custom 4×6 design from Blogalicious Designs (<– that’s a link) and opened a new Shutterfly account to get 50 free prints. Then I ordered envelopes on Amazon since NOBODY sells envelopes for 4×6 photos. It turned out to be pretty cheap! I can’t wait to get the photos in, they are going to be so cute! (For the record, Snapfish is better than Shutterfly. They are cheaper and they have a much quicker turn around. If you want to open a Snapfish account, let me know so I can send you an invite. I think we both get free prints that way!)

5.
So I’m sitting here in my living room. It’s currently Thursday night and we just finished watching 30 Rock and CRACKED up. We changed the channel and as we started watching something on the travel channel about monorails, we heard a screaming. More like a high pitched gaggling gurgling screech. We muted the television and stared at each other. It kept going. I ran to the window, Stephen ran outside with a broom and a flashlight. He listened around and pointed the light in the direction of the noise. It stopped. It’s been about 20 minutes and it hasn’t come back. He obviously scared some squirrels or some other critters that were fighting. Or… uh… mating. We aren’t sure. Either way, we think we’ve pissed them off.

6.
All I want to do is make crock pot meals. I don’t want to go to work or hang out with anyone. I just want to make lots and lots of crock pot meals all day, every day. I’ve been inspired! I imagine that many of these are great freezable meals. You all know how much I love a good freezable meal! I may make large amounts in my crock pot the next couple weeks and freeze portions. Oh goodness, now I’m excited!! Stocked freezers tickle me pink!

7.
I don’t have a number 7. Whenever I need to fill space without feeling guilty about telling you nonsensical things, I show you pictures of babies or dogs. Today, babies. This is my cousin’s baby, Sophie. You’ve met her before. The first picture is just her being stinking cute with a bandana on her head. The second is the best baby Halloween costume in the entire world.

Sophie Bandana

Sophie Halloween

Have a good weekend!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family, Hurst Castle, Stephen. Tags: , , , , .

Slow Cooking is Still Cooking Did You Hear That?

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DebbieQ  |  November 13, 2009 at 10:06 am

    #1 – I have to agree that I think Bob “bats for the other team”.

    #3 – there isn’t enough room here to tell you all the books that I have read that I just go WOW! I can show you the spreadsheet if you want though. HHBL just looks at the spreadsheet, shakes his head and says, “You are such a compulsive dork.” Thanks honey, I love you too.

    #7 – makes me wish for grandchildren…but not too soon. I can hardly wait to dress them up in funny outfits, let them eat candy for breakfast and then send them home with a sugar high. I am evil. BWAHAHAHAHA

  • 2. Sarah  |  November 13, 2009 at 10:08 am

    1. I am thinking that Rebecca and Daniel are dating. I am with you…I don’t think Bob likes girls.

    2. You know what? I didn’t know insurance companies could dump you if you paid your bills on time and weren’t being fraudulent or something. Who knew they could just randomly decide based on “review.” Good to know.

    3. I have heard good things about this book, but I haven’t read it.

    4. Ooooh. Good to know. I have recently been having the whole Snapfish v. Shutterfly debate. Now I will go with Snapfish. If they suck, I’m blaming you 🙂

    5. When this chaos was going on at your house, I was watching Real Housewives. Feel free to judge me.

    6. Everytime I hear about you and the crock pot I want one even more. And I don’t cook.

    7. It’s Friday!

  • 3. Lindsay  |  November 13, 2009 at 10:41 am

    SOPHIEE!!!! Man I love that baby so much..I can’t wait to see her again!

  • 4. Kaitlynn  |  November 13, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I loved Redeeming Love! Want another really good Christian fiction to read? Check out The Mark of the Lion series. Three books, by Francine Rivers. Uh-Mazing! You won’t be able to put them down.

  • 5. Lenae  |  November 13, 2009 at 11:04 am

    #5- Um… Awkward.
    #6- Ha! I love my crockpot too. It’s magical.
    #7- Love it 🙂

  • 6. jill  |  November 13, 2009 at 11:07 am

    So I’m curious about your freezing of meals. How do you have ANY room in your freezer?! Or, do you have a separate freezer? Not that I have a ton of time to do freezer meals but surely I could knock some stuff out in a day. Do you cook the things completely and then freeze, or do you just fully prepare and then freeze? I need clarification here.

    I need to work on the Christmas card stuff too :-/

  • 7. Lyndsey  |  November 13, 2009 at 11:10 am

    BOB IS NOT GAY!!!!!!!!!! Nope. I refuse to believe it. He is just sensitive.

    I can’t wait to get your Christmas card.

  • 8. Kim  |  November 13, 2009 at 11:17 am

    1. I believe that Bob has been in a very long term relationship with a male. So yes, your assumption is correct and no he’s not dating Amanda.

    4. I buy Christmas cards every single time I see some that I love. Unfortunantely, when we moved this past summer I realized that meant I am now in possession of 20 million plus boxes of Christmas cards- so even though postage is expense this year I’m sending cards to everyone I have ever met. Just to get rid of them.

  • 9. Kim  |  November 13, 2009 at 11:17 am

    expensive, not expense. I need a proofreader to follow me everywhere I go.

  • 10. Southern Gal  |  November 13, 2009 at 11:39 am

    As much as I don’t want to believe, I have to think that Bob does not like girls.

    Told you you would love that book! Wuthering Heights is going to be a great big let down. I’m just sayin’…

    Love, love photo Christmas cards. Tradition around here. I’m sorry, but I like Shutterfly better than Snapfish. Inkubook for photobooks.

    Cats got under out house when we first got married ( I was 17) and were, um…fighting. My hubby was on second shift and I almost died of heart failure before he got home and told me what it was. Seriously.

    Cute baby!

  • 11. thatmarriedcouple  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Yeah, I’m all about snapfish. They had free shipping for a while and I was a day late for the coupon – I just chatted with a rep online and he went ahead and extended the offer, because I was a valued customer. Yay!

    And I also love Christmas cards, but have not been brave enough to order my own yet. There are so many to choose from in the stores!

  • 12. Kyla Roma  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Excited to see pictures of your cards, mine just got here yesterday!!

    I danced more than a little =)

  • 13. Caroline  |  November 13, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Love the nun outfit!! Rebecca and Daniel..ewwww. She can do better than him. He’s so not cute. I think Bob likes boys. Jury is still out on Jillian.

  • 14. Amanda  |  November 13, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    That last picture made me laugh out loud 🙂

  • 15. Cousin Kim  |  November 13, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    #7 (Saved the best for last!)
    I know… I know… she’s soooo stinkin’ cute (as your mom says). Hey, maybe Sophie can help increase your blog readers or at least get you some more comments! I vote for more pics of Sophie! Oh wait – I’m the momma! I get to see her whenever I want!! :o) Did your mom tell you that best part about Sophie’s nun costume is that she was supposed to be a ghost? Best mistake EVER!

  • 16. d.a.r.  |  November 13, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Bob likes men. And maybe Amanda…their relationship is a little odd in my opinion!!

    And Rebecca and Daniel…I don’t know. That hug was really strange, but who knows. Gotta love TV editing so we don’t really know what goes on at the ranch!

    I love, love, love Christmas cards. Love. I have been pacing anxiously waiting for mine to arrive! Any day now….supposedly.

  • 17. Veronica  |  November 13, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Redeeming Love is prob my favorite book ever. Like you, I never wanted to end. I never enjoyed reading so much as when I read that book.

    And Sophie is so adorable! If her cuteness doesn’t make people want babies, I don’t know what would.

  • 18. Lisa D  |  November 14, 2009 at 12:45 am

    omg that costume is hilarious – as is the expression on her face!!1

  • 19. Darla  |  November 14, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Just realized I should have done 7 takes … b/c last night I did 3 randomish thoughts. 4 more and I could have been like you! 🙂

    I loved Redeeming Love although the beginning was VERY hard for me. I guess having 3 little girls it was difficult to read. But by the time I got to the end I honestly wanted to read the last word and flip right back to the front and start over.

    Now, this I can’t believe. I didn’t know the internet was buzzing about Bob and Amanda and am so glad you brought it to my attention. I have been telling my husband the last 3ish weeks that I totally think he and Amanda are having an “off screen” relationship. BUT, I always add that it seems a little weird b/c I wondered too which way he went. I think it is sweet how much they care for each other though.

    And, I haven’t read yesterdays post because we watch BL on Saturday nights as a family. I’ll read it later!

    Have a good weekend.

    Longest comment ever.

  • 20. Stephany  |  November 14, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Judging from what Bob wore at the weigh-in (and how much Bob & Jillian joke about being a “couple”)…Bob definitely bats for the other team.

  • 21. Alice Rosenhagen  |  November 14, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    I told you Redeeming Love was AMAZING!!! And I agree with your blog friend Kaitlynn about the Mark of the Lion Series. They are also fabulous – and I have them at home – but it takes about 60 pages to get into the first one. IF YOU CAN DO THAT, you then can’t put them down.

    Thanks for the smile seeing sophie poo….she’s so stinkin’ cute!

  • 22. White Rabbit Advertising  |  November 15, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I don’t have very good “gaydar” sometimes. But regardless of his preferences, I don’t get why Bob always talks about his feelings for Amanda. It’s creepy!

  • 23. Mama Fuss  |  November 16, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I LOVE Redeeming Love, I’ve read it probably a dozen times.

  • 24. Sue  |  November 18, 2009 at 7:55 am

    I can understand your crockpot fascination right now. It is the weather for it over here (UK) as it must be where you are. I’m on a soup mission, seemingly making soup every weekend. Oh, and stewed apples (delish with toffee flavoured yoghurt)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

