The Cure for the Common Writer’s Block

February 24, 2009 at 10:58 am 6 comments

There are many days of my life that aren’t exciting. Like yesterday. I went to work, came home, did yoga, went to Bible Study, came home, did eye therapy, and went to bed. Not that exciting. Nothing funny or ironic or out of the ordinary happened. So what do I write about then? I could write about how I have to cheat while I’m doing Biggest Loser yoga because I’m not strong enough yet. I could write about how delicious our venison manicotti is and how I’m sad that the leftovers are gone. I could write about my frustrating dermatologist appointment this morning and how I’ve been seeing a doctor for 10 months about this condition that still won’t go away. But none of that is exciting.

 

So now it’s up to you. A couple days ago I did A-Z trivia. In one of the comments my friend Jim said, “If I were writing the survey, I would ask…” And a little light bulb went off. Ironically, that very same day some girl came to my sight. To all of you non-bloggers let me share a little something with you. The blogger can see a lot of info. I can see how many people visit the site, links you clicked on from my site, links you clicked on to get to my site, etc. So this girl came to my site, from her site… which meant her link showed up on my stats. I visited her site and her post that day was a Q&A. All of her friends had emailed her random questions and she responded. (Examples: What would you do with a pair of chocolate shoes? or If you could be invisible for a day and follow one celebrity, who would you choose?)

 

That’s what were going to do. Email me any questions, topics to blog about, ideas, etc. and I will save them for a rainy day (or a brain-dead Friday). If you just have one question, that’s fine. If you have a whole survery, that’s fine too. Beggers can’t be choosers, I’ll take what I can get! I can include your name on the blog, or not. It’s up to you. I know I have some ridiculously entertaining and hilarious friends so I’m anxious to see what you can come up with.

 

I’ve also decided that when we get to 5000 hits, we’re having a blog party. Not sure what a blog party looks like… maybe just more exclamation marks?! Maybe I’ll actually put the stats up on the site. When I started this site I was a bit nervous that my only readers would be my sister, my parents, and Stephen. So to protect my ego, I chose to hide the stats. But I’ve had a lot of people ask me lately how many people read, so maybe I’ll show that info.

 

Anyways, sorry today is lame. To prevent future lame posts, email me with ideas! (Just took my email address off because I was told I’ll get stuck on spam lists! You should know my email or facebook… or just use the comment section!)

 

Biggest Loser tonight!!!

 

Also, I think it’s a bit ironic that the WordPress spellcheck does not recognize the word “blog”….

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea.

The Curious Case of Me “Awesome! Awesome!”

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda Davila  |  February 24, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I have a confession. I have recently began to watch the Biggest Loser so that I actually know what you’re talking about in your blogs. =]

    Amanda

  • 2. Lindsay  |  February 24, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Haha after reading the comment above I think that the biggest loser should cancel some of those Exra ads they have in their show and hey should dedicate 30 seconds to your blog.

  • 3. Matt  |  February 24, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I would eat the friggin shoes.

    AND THIS IS NOT FAIR. I NEED THE BLOG IDEAS MORE!

  • 4. Katlin  |  February 24, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    I agree with Matt. The shoes would be mine fa sho!

    Oh, and I can’t watch Biggest Loser tonight (stupid thing called a job is interupting my t.v. dates with your sister) SO I’m kinda excited to read tomorrows blog!

    Oh, and I’m sure I can come up with something for a rainy, brain dead friday. I shall think about it!

  • 5. Jimbo  |  February 25, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Is anyone else extremely impressed at how high the quality of content is on a daily basis from Mrs. Hurst? Chelsea, you owe no apologies for a “down day.” Even your down days make for good blog reading!

  • 6. Stephenie  |  February 26, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    I concur, I enjoy your blog’s, even when you think you have writers block. Mrs. Palmquist’s class really paid off! Keep up the good work.

    And chocolate shoes, when you mentioned that, all I could think about is what I could wear with them! Delirium has ultimately set in and its only 12:06 pm, oh brother!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

