Seven Quick Takes

August 20, 2010 at 9:14 am 12 comments

Another Friday, another week gone by. They sure are flying by over here! Click the logo for more Quick Takers.

1.
We got our car back this morning and it’s nice and shiny and clean. As far as we know, it was fixed properly. Now we’re getting used to driving it again. I was enjoying the nice handling on the Dodge Avenger we had. But it is really nice to be up higher again… SUV’s are the way to go!

2.
I borrowed a dress from my cousin’s cousin (I don’t know an easier way to say that) and I was going to wear it to my shower tomorrow. I tried it on last night and I look very blah. I’ve seen it on her and she doesn’t look blah at all. I’m going to go to Old Navy during my lunch break to see if they have any cute dresses on sale. (I’m not going to hold my breath.) Then we’ll stop at Motherhood on the way home tonight to see if there’s anything. Hopefully I’ll find something. If not, oh well. I’m pregnant and people have to be nice to me regardless of what I’m wearing.

3.
Have you ever seen shoes tinier than this??

4.
My mother-in-law receives the MIL Of The Year award. On Monday she and my SILs took my to get a pedicure and out to dinner. On Wednesday, she cleaned my house. SHE CLEANED MY HOUSE. I know there are a lot of great MILs out there but she at least deserves the MIL Of The Week award. And that’s not up for debate.

5.
In case you missed the reference above, I have my third and final baby shower tomorrow. This one is being hosted by two of my aunts and my sister-in-law. (The SIL that had the beautiful little Avery!) I think it’s going to be so much fun. I’m also excited that it’s the last one so I know things are winding down. I can get things in order and settle in for the big day.

6.
The men at my office are very obsessed with my due date. They all seem to think I’m going to have the baby right this minute. When I walk into a room someone will say, “Not here! Don’t do it here!” or “Uh oh… watch out. Get out of her way before she pops.” One guy came to my office to see if I was still around and asked, “How are you doing? No water breaking or anything, right?” My boss seems to think that Jansen is laying the wrong way in my uterus… like he has turned and I’m so big because he is literally laying the length of my belly… like his head is pushing my belly out and his feet are facing backwards. I don’t mind their chatter, as long as they stay away from the “wide load” comments.

7.
Yesterday was August 19. My due date is September 19. How do you feel about that? (Truth be told, it makes me a bit nervous!)

Entry filed under: Chelsea.

Yesterday We Talked About Baths, Today Is About Showers Pregnant Pause – 36 Weeks

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren from Texas  |  August 20, 2010 at 9:31 am

    One month!!!!!!!!

    ” No water breaking or anything, right?” OH MY GOSH. MEN.

  • 2. Maureen/Jansen's Emmie  |  August 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Aww, thanks for the award! I loved helping you both out. You deserve the DIL award of the year, you are giving us a GRANDSON! No one can top that!!!!

  • 3. mom (Nana)  |  August 20, 2010 at 10:25 am

    You do have a great MIL. I do too – after I had my first surgery to remove ovaries, she came over to my house and stayed and PUT MY PICTURES IN THE PHOTO ALBUMS!!! Years worth!!! Yea for good MIL’s!!!! 🙂

  • 4. Nora  |  August 20, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Men are so clueless about things, aren’t they? I love that your MIL and Mom comment on your blog and use their nicknames too. ADORABLE. Enjoy your shower!

  • 5. Taryn  |  August 20, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Just so you know… Megan Kramer had her baby girl by c-section this morning. 🙂 Raelynn Elisabeth Carson 🙂

  • 6. DebbieQ  |  August 20, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    #3 – those things are just too cute!
    #6 – I am just mean enough that I would drop some water on the floor and make them think that my water had broken just to see what they would do.
    #7 – how can it be only one month to go???

  • 7. Gabby  |  August 20, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    I predict this will be the fastest month of your life. I was a September baby, so you are in good territory in my book!
    You look great!

  • 8. Erin  |  August 20, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Girl, you better post those ToT questions! I need to get my pics in order and my witty comments aplenty!

  • 9. Jill  |  August 21, 2010 at 10:15 am

    “not here, not here” men are dumb

    I can’t believe your mother in law cleaned your house. I would like to borrow her for awhile, please and thank you!!!! 🙂

  • 10. Mama Fuss  |  August 21, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    When I was working during my 1st pregnancy, it was the men who liked to talk about it in detail more than the women. And as I worked in an 18-story building w/ multiple companies sharing the elevators, I even got encouraging comments from total strangers – all of them male! The only odd comments I got from my bosses was after a couple of hormonal freak-outs (uncontrolled crying for no reason) when my boss told me I wasn’t allowed in his office if I was going to cry.

    Your MIL rocks. My SIL helped me clean mine yesterday and I totally want to nominate her for SIL of the week! Such a sweetie! Plus, she’s babysitting tonight so my husband can’t take me out to dinner!

  • 11. Kristin  |  August 23, 2010 at 1:09 am

    Go see some movies this month! It was a long time after the dude was born until we made it to one!

  • 12. Cousin Kim  |  August 23, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I agree with Kristin above. We have yet to see a movie…since Sophie. Just DVD’s. I don’t know if we’ll ever see another movie together. Seriously.

    And yes…I saw shoes wayyy tiny-er. Remember Sophie…I think Jansen’s gonna be bigger at birth than Sophie was at 8 months old! Anyway – Zac and Sarah bought her these TINY little butterfly shoes. When I got them I was like “wow, my baby won’t ever even get to wear these…they are wayyy tooo small!” (You know I was using my foot size as a reference!) Huh… wha’do ya know? She wore them for like 3 months! :o)
    Love you!
    I think you are gonna pop soon. I am thinking Sept 9th. I really want Jansen to have his own b-day. Not on your dad’s, not on Zac’s, not on mine (well…maybe on mine), :o) But….really, he needs his OWN day! I find it really funny that we have soooo many September Bdays in our family – don’t you?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

