Ten on Tuesday (11)

December 22, 2009 at 7:30 am 32 comments

Happy Tuesday, friends! This week we are talking about Christmas. A condensed version of the questions is listed to the right if you click the Ten on Tuesday button. Feel free to participate on your blog of in the comments.

Just a reminder that if you participate on your blog this week, you’ll receive an extra entry in this week’s giveaway. So be sure to add your link to Mr Linky below. Also, if you’re big time, add my ToT button to you post.

(Edited to add) This weeks’ questions come from Sarah at Sojo Blog (<– that’s a link). She’s a real life friend of mine. She and her husband live in Germany right now. Go visit her blog. Thank her for her fun set of questions and see how she answers them. If you’d like to contribute a set of questions, send me an email via the “Contact Me” tab.

1. When do you put up and take down your Christmas decorations?
Well this year we didn’t do so well. Only half of our decorations made it up. (And only half of our Christmas cards made it out… Unfortunately I didn’t keep track of which ones were sent so I have no way of knowing who else I’m supposed to send to. On a related note, if you want a late Christmas card from the Hursts, send me your address! I happened to have some spares laying around now!)

I like to keep our decorations up until New Years, at least. I don’t see why it’s okay to have them up so early but then tear them down the day after Christmas. Doesn’t seem right to me.

2. What do you do to simplify the holiday season?
Drink wine. Kidding. Sort of.

I start shopping early. And I remember the TRUE reason for Christmas. I have a hard time understanding why non-Christians celebrate Christmas. Do they know that they are celebrating the birth of our Savior?? Certainly they don’t actually think that Christmas is just a random day to give everyone gifts and put a tree in our living room. Right? Oh wait… that has nothing to do with the question. Moving on.

3. What do you do to remind yourself and your family what the Christmas season is all about?
Simple, we talk about it. We go to church together and spend time together. Maybe it’s just me but I think it’s sort of hard to ignore the true meaning of Christmas.

4. How do you spend Christmas Eve and Christmas Day?
It changes every year. The only non-negotiable is that we go to church on Christmas Eve. We eat tamales and chili on Christmas Eve after church – so far this has happened every year on my mom’s side, dad’s side, and even Stephen’s side. It’s something that I love.

5. What is your favorite Christmas tradition?
Favorite? No way of knowing. I love the tamales and chili, I love Christmas Eve service, I love getting fun socks in my stocking (Cousin Kim gets these for us), I love watching my dad get excited about the gifts he buys my brother and Stephen. I really love the sweet potatoes. We have the best sweet potatoes. They are better than yours, I promise.

By the way, did I ever show you the picture of my sister making sweet potatoes over Thanksgiving? She was completely grossed out by the sound. (Sorry sister, I love you.)

By the way, to the person that Googled “What do Texans eat on Christmas?”… let this be your guide. And doesn’t anyone else think it’s weird that someone would Google that?? Like we are some other sort of species or something??

6.  Did you do the whole Santa thing growing up? What do you like/not like about continuing the tradition?
Of course we did the Santa thing! Stephen and I will definitely carry on that tradition with our kids. It’s fun and exciting.

I know there are a lot of people who hold the mentality that “kids these days” are so spoiled and they don’t need more things. And what sort of message are we giving our kids by giving them a bunch of stuff they want but don’t need?? In a way, yes, I agree. Kids are spoiled. But that’s not the point. The point of Christmas is that we got a gift that we TOTALLY didn’t deserve. We are spoiled, rotten sinners… but God knew better and gave us a gift. So I don’t think it’s all that bad to mirror that (obviously in a much smaller, less awesomely miraculous way) and give our children a wonderful gift.

That’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it! Plus, my mom says that when you stop believing in Santa, he stops coming. And I really need my annual Cherry Chapstick replenishment in my stocking.

7. What is your favorite Christmas cookie?
Those peanut butter balls. Oh yum. I’ve never made them. I should. Anyone have a good recipe?? I also love shortbread and forgotten cookies and those peanut butter cookies with the kisses on top.

8. How do you take your egg nog?
I don’t take egg nog. I give it back immediately. Gross. It smells gross and looks gross. And the name?? EGG NOG. In the words of my brother: disgrossting.

9. What is your favorite Christmas carol and why?
Oh Holy Night. Why? Well, have you ever heard it? It beautiful and the words are perfect. And did you know that it was the first song ever played on a radio? True story. My friend, Louie Giglio told me. (Just so we’re clear, he doesn’t know we are friends.)

10. When was the last time you had a white Christmas?
A few years ago. I think it was 2005? Couldn’t tell you. Scroll through the comments, I’m sure some of the Houstonians will know. We cam out of Christmas Ever service and it was snowing. It was magical.

Your turn! Click this logo to add your link or to visit other ToTers.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: , , , .

Voting, Christmas, and Hot Godly Men Rookie Mistake

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Campbell  |  December 22, 2009 at 7:49 am

    FIRST!!!

    Merry Christmas, TEN ON TUESDAY!!! And to all a good night!

    I miss the chance of a white Christmas, but I don’t miss the chance of -15 degrees.

    Sincerely,
    John Campbell
    http://fatherhoody.blogspot.com

  • 2. Alyssa  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Time out! Is your sister wearing a Missouri Western sweatshirt in St. Joe, Missouri???? I WENT TO SCHOOL THERE?!?! OMG! That is crazy. I live in STL and NO ONE has ever heard of that school and now here’s your sister in Texas wearing that sweatshirt!

  • 3. Southern Gal  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Too rushed to participate today. Loved reading through yours though.

  • 4. osarah  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:30 am

    I hope we’re getting a card from you guys! Yalls is still on the fridge from last year and we need a new one to give 2008’s a rest 🙂

  • 5. Sue  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Love the Christmas theme

  • 6. ten on tuesday… « Jens World  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:12 am

    […] | Tags: ten on tuesday | Leave a Comment  i recently came across a rather brilliant blog roots and rings, and was super excited to participate in a weekly installment cleverly called ten on […]

  • 7. Joy  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Answers on the Linky and will add your button to my blog.

    I SO agree with you regarding egg nog!

    Merry Christmas and many blessing to you and yours

  • 8. jnyfritz  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Great Questions! i am so happy to participate…Enjoy the holidays!!!

  • 9. Amanda  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Chelsea, I’m about to do mine and post it. However, I’m really upset. I wanted to know what people’s favorite Christmas tradition is. Le sigh. I’ll ask you next time. 🙂

  • 10. Amanda  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:38 am

    AM I really that lame? It’s on there. I’ve lost my mind. Sorry. I lose it about 10 times a day…

    Talk to me when you have kids.

  • 11. Taryn E  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:46 am

    1. Normally, I drag everything out the day after Thanksgiving. The tree goes up that day and all the other decorations go up throughout that weekend. Decorations stay up through at least mid-January. This year, we moved into a new house, so I just got the tree up yesterday and not a single other christmas decoration is out yet!

    2. I usually have all my shopping done before mid-November. Then I only have to get the few last minute things the first week or so of December and can avoid the stores. Once again tho, this year we just moved and I have 3 more days to finish shopping. Ugh.

    3. I love christmas music, Advent services, and the “kids” christmas service when they do the nativity. I love seeing little kids performing the Christmas story!

    4. Normally church on Christmas Eve, then come home and take family pictures, eat a ton of cookies and unwrap gifts. This year, we’ll wait and do presents on Christmas Day when my mom’s family is up from the Keys. Then we’ll do lobsters and other goodies for lunch and enjoy the Florida weather.

    5. back when we were little, it was going to my grandparent’s house up in Missouri, walking to Christmas Eve service, listening to my grandpa play the piano and singing along… we also used to do a scavenger hunt for our one “big” gift every year. My dad and uncle would leave clues all over the house for me and matt to have to figure out in order to find our big present.

    6. Yeah, we did Santa. We even got to prolong the tradition longer than most, because my cousin Jon is 8 years younger than me, so Matt and I had to pretend we still believed in Santa to not ruin it for Jon. I loved it, and I’ll do it with my kids, too.

    7. Homemade frosted sugar cookies. Which I haven’t yet made this year. I’m also a big fan of pecan balls, peanut butter cookies with the hershey’s kiss, and cinnamon pinwheels.

    8. I hate egg nog. Not even a quality spiced rum can make me enjoy egg nog. Yuck.

    9. What is your favorite Christmas carol and why?
    I LOVE christmas music. What Child Is This? is my favorite…I also love O Holy Night, Silent Night, and The First Noel.

    10. Years and years ago…. Probably back in high school, one of the christmases when we went up to Missouri to see my grandparents.

  • 12. bobbygee  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:51 am

    We put up the Christmas decorations on December 10th. Jesus is the reason for the season. I am a Jew so we call it a Hanukkah bush.Actually I am born again Jew. If it ever snows in LA we are dead. My wife loves all the cookies. Me. I am not a big cookie eater. I love sweet potatoe pie.
    http://bobbygee.wordpress.com/

  • 13. Clare  |  December 22, 2009 at 10:06 am

    I made it on Tuesday this week!

    I LOVE that someone googled “what do Texans eat on Christmas?”, that made my morning.

    My boss brought us those peanut butter ball things (half coated in chocolate – my coworker from Ohio claims they are “candy buckeyes”) to work yesterday. Delicious.

  • 14. mom  |  December 22, 2009 at 10:21 am

    1. When do you put up and take down your Christmas decorations?
    I TRY to get them up the first week of December. I LOVE to have my house decorated. For some reason it seems cleaner when it is decorated! I don’t have a specific time to take down. Whenever I get around to it but for sure NOT BEFORE Jan. 6th which is when the “wise men arriving to see Jesus” is “celebrated”….The latest I took down was Jan 13th…

    2. What do you do to simplify the holiday season?
    I try to keep the reason for the season in proper prospective. We tried to do this as the kids grew up even though we did celebrate with santa and stuff. I play Christmas carols all season and I love helping the less fortunate (too bad we don’t do more of this all year long….)

    3. What do you do to remind yourself and your family what the Christmas season is all about?
    We have always made it a priority to make sure all of our family really knows the real meaning. We are Christians so we actually celebrate all year long….after all, Jesus came to love us and forgive us EVERY day, not just at Christmas. But we love to go to church and spend time with family….

    4. How do you spend Christmas Eve and Christmas Day?
    This has changed as the kids have gotten older and have other families…but we always go to church on Christmas Eve and we always have tamales and chili no matter where we are. Sometimes we celebrate Christmas with my family and sometimes we celebrate it with my husband’s family. We are ALWAYS with family though.

    5. What is your favorite Christmas tradition?
    Favorite? As a child, it was going to my grandparent’s home. We sang Christmas carols and marched around the house as we sang with my “old maid” aunts and it was really something. I love being with my family. All my family. I love that we ALWAYS have tamales and chili and that hasn’t changed over the years. I love the stockings – watching my kids is so fun! I love making Christmas sweets and sharing time with friends. We have a new tradition – only the last 3 or 4 years, but I love the Mainstream Connection party we host. It is a great blessing.

    Did you do the whole Santa thing growing up? What do you like/not like about continuing the tradition?
    Of course we did. We did it when we were growing up and no matter WHERE we were, Santa always managed to find us! We carried the tradition on with our kids. I did have one friend that didn’t allow her sons to believe in santa. It was a bummer. We always made sure the kids knew the REAL reason they were getting gifts….because Jesus was the best gift to us and that’s how we showed people we loved them too.
    If my kids ever decide to quit believing, they need to make sure I know!

    7. What is your favorite Christmas cookie?
    Not really a cookie. My family (handed down from my mom’s mom) makes a mean crunch – toffee with almonds and covered in chocolate. I have tried to make it but am not NEARLY as successful as my sister. She and my mom make the best! I also love pan de polvo…a mexican cookie covered in cinnamon/sgr. yummmmm

    8. How do you take your egg nog?
    I don’t take egg nog. I give it back immediately. Gross. It smells gross and looks gross. And the name?? EGG NOG. In the words of my son: disgrossting. DISGUSTING DITTO!

    9. What is your favorite Christmas carol and why?
    Oh Holy Night. Why? It is beautiful the words are beautiful and it is the first real Christmas song I remember practicing for a concert in middle school that almost brought me to tears.

    10. When was the last time you had a white Christmas?
    A few years ago. I think it was 2004? I believe it was the first Christmas after Chelsea had gone away to college wasn’t it? I look at pictures and your hair looks short – like it was after you cut it the day of your graduation party. It was GORGEOUS….MAGICAL coming out of church and seeing it. Just like a MOVIE!

    P.S. Chelsea, I am making hashbrown potatoes for our ham dinner with the Rosenhagen family. I guess I need to ALSO make sweet potatoes???? I thought since we did have them for Thanksgiving this year we were in the clear….guess not! 🙂

    Also, I love the Christmas message in your blog today! Thanks for sharing cause there are many out there that just don’t know it. Love you

  • 15. Lauren From Texas  |  December 22, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Q: “What do Texans eat for Christmas?”

    A: MEAT. Butter. More meat. Carbs. Pie. And meat.

    Bah humbug.

  • 16. jill  |  December 22, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    My boss could very well have googled that “What do Texans eat…”, because he once told me a story about having Thanksgiving with his wife’s family for the first time. He said it was not your traditional spread and he was disappointed there was no turkey. He’s in TX for Christmas so maybe he was just getting prepared 🙂

  • 17. Tabaitha Kaye  |  December 22, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    My Ten on Tuesday
    http://thekayefamily.blogspot.com/2009/12/ten-on-tuesday_22.html

  • 18. Jimbo  |  December 22, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Loved your answer to the Santa question. In fact, I may make it my own from now on…

  • 19. jfowens  |  December 22, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    It is funny that your reason for doing santa is our reason for not doing santa. 🙂 I guess, we just figure that the reason that we give gifts to each other is as a representation of God’s gift to us. One of your readers said that it’s hard to get a 3 year old to focus on the real reason for the season when they know that a bearded guy in a red suit is bringing them gifts… That hits it on the head for us. I really want our kids to be celebrating the miracle of Jesus, and it seems that so frequently kids get so excited that the reason for the day gets lost…

  • 20. Sister  |  December 22, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    1. When do you put up and take down your Christmas decorations?
    i only decorate the tree at our house..and i do it whenever my mom feels like getting it out.

    2. What do you do to simplify the holiday season?
    nothing. i dont get really overwhelmed anyway

    3. What do you do to remind yourself and your family what the Christmas season is all about?
    same as chelsea’s answer…i’m in her family.

    4. How do you spend Christmas Eve and Christmas Day?
    No matter where we are we go to church on Christmas Eve (unless we are at the lease) and always always always eat tamales and chili. christmas day depends on where we are.

    5. What is your favorite Christmas tradition?
    being together. that’s really all i care about

    6. Did you do the whole Santa thing growing up? What do you like/not like about continuing the tradition?
    I will continue the tradition…and we still kinda do the santa thing in a diff way “if you don’t believe, you don’t receive!”

    7. What is your favorite Christmas cookie?
    oreo truffles

    8. How do you take your egg nog?
    gross.

    9. What is your favorite Christmas carol and why?
    Oh Holy Night. It’d beautiful no matter who sings it.

    10. When was the last time you had a white Christmas?
    ummmm 2005

  • 21. Rachel  |  December 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    You should check out Peter Eide’s version of What Child is This. UH-mazing. I get goose bumps every time I hear it… which is quite often because it is on my list of constantly repeating Christmas songs: Breath of Heaven, Grown Up Christmas List (both Amy Grant), aforementioned What Child is This, Come on In (Peter Eide), Baby it’s Cold Outside (Elf version), & Where are You Christmas. 🙂

  • 22. Brittney  |  December 22, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Woot! Just completed my first Ten on Tuesday!

  • 23. Courtney  |  December 22, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Good questions!
    http://practicingpatience.blogspot.com/2009/12/ten-on-tuesday_22.html

  • 24. Stephany  |  December 22, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Um…your answer for #2 is amazing. I love it. I’ve been wondering how atheists celebrate Christmas a lot this season, for some reason.

  • 25. thedailychelle  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I was totally going to mention the peanut butter cookies with the chocolate kisses on top but I couldn’t remember if they were just peanut butter cookies or what. SO yummy!

    Also, I am glad we share a mutual disgust toward egg nog, and a mutual like of O Holy Night! 🙂

  • 26. Jessica  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    it was 04!

    and I agree with your second part of #2

  • 27. The Husband  |  December 22, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I like Christmas! It makes things happy!

  • 28. This Heavenly Life  |  December 22, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    I love reading your ten answers 🙂

    By the way, I’m watching Smallville with my husband right now (it’s his favorite show EVER, and um, I kind of like it too.) and when I’m reading your answers, I’m picturing you as Lois Lane. Your tone sounds just like hers on the show. Plus, she’s beautiful 🙂 Have you ever seen it?

  • 29. Kathleen  |  December 22, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Posted! Just got it in.

  • 30. Maureen (M.I.L)  |  December 23, 2009 at 12:30 am

    1. When do you put up and take down your Christmas decorations?
    The day after Thanksgiving we put them up, and I take them down the day or two after Christmas.

    2. What do you do to simplify the holiday season?
    I don’t. I tell myself I will, but I always go overboard. I can’t help myself, I love Christmas!

    3. What do you do to remind yourself and your family what the Christmas season is all about?
    I don’t need a reminder, I know, I’ve always known. It’s about the birth of CHRIST…period. I do have a beautiful nativity I put out every year, and should probably leave it out all year.

    4. How do you spend Christmas Eve and Christmas Day?

    Well, things are different now that our kids are grown, but on Christmas eve, we used to get dressed in our pj’s, and drive around the neighborhood and look at the Christmas lights. We sometimes would go to midnight mass, and then everyone got to choose one present to open. On Christmas morning, I have to have my coffee ready before anyone can open any presents. I make pigs in a blanket (and this year will make monkey bread), then we sit around the tree, and everyone takes a turn opening their presents. One person is always the designated Santa Claus who passes out the presents. Then we enjoy a nice, yummy meal together.

    5. What is your favorite Christmas tradition?
    Putting the stockings up, and filling them. Opening a present on Christmas eve, and getting the kids a chocolate advent calendar every single year (they are all grown up, but I still buy them one) We also used to invite the neighborhood kids over to make sugar cookies, and then we’d all go caroling around the neighborhood.

    6. Did you do the whole Santa thing growing up? What do you like/not like about continuing the tradition?
    YES! It’s magical! It’s fun, it’s exciting. I can’t imagine not having that growing up, or making Santa a part of our Christmas.

    7. What is your favorite Christmas cookie?
    cut out cookies, decorated with icing like Christmas trees, snowmen, ornaments, angels, yummy!!!

    8. How do you take your egg nog?
    With liquor in it, but I only have it every couple of years, and that is only if someone has it at a party. I used to buy it every year for Stephen. He loves the stuff.

    9. What is your favorite Christmas carol and why?
    Oh, gosh, there are so many…O Holy Night, Silent Night, I love them all.

    10. When was the last time you had a white Christmas?
    Never 😦

  • 31. Meghan  |  December 23, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Here’s a link to my blog!

  • 32. Meghan  |  December 23, 2009 at 8:05 am

    P.S. Thank you, jfowens, for posting that magical video of Nintendo Sixty-FOUUUUUUR. You soooo made my morning.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win