Archive for December 15, 2009

Ten on Tuesday (10)

This week’s questions come from my Aunt Bonnie. She sent me more than ten and I decided to post them all because she’s awesome. She doesn’t have a blog so you can’t visit her. Just say hello in the comments and thank her for her contribution! She’ll read them all, I promise.

1. If you could change anything about your physical appearance, what would it be?
I would like to be one of those people who could eat anything and stay skinny. I am that person to some degree, but I have this pooch that often makes me look pregnant. I’d like to look like I did freshman year of college.

2. Is there a habit in others that you find annoying?
Many things, but I’ll try to stay away from pet peeves and stick with actual habits that people have. Flicking their fingernails- Stephen does this.  Being late, I think it’s extremely disrespectful. Smoking, cussing, gossip.

3. What is your favorite recipe using ground beef?
Meatloaf. I make a mean meatloaf. I’ll add the recipe to my recipe blog sometime by the end of the week. Maybe even today if you’re lucky.

4. What was your favorite book as a kid?
I love children’s books. Of course I loved all the classics but I remember the very first chapter book I read was called Josefina and the Story Quilt. It wasn’t much of a chapter book but it had chapters and it was a book. So I’ll take it! My copy was so worn out because I read it a bagillion times.

5. Did you work as a teenager and if so, where?
I had a few jobs during the summers. A couple summers I worked at the marketing company where my uncle works. I did all sorts of random stuff that nobody else wanted to do. But I also got to go to some meetings, meet customers, and I learned a lot. Two summers I nannied for two separate families. One of them was INSANELY easy. She was older and didn’t need to be babysat… so I was basically her social coordinator and took her and her friends to the movies or Astroworld. Good times. I was a hostess and bus girl at a restaurant. I didn’t enjoy it very much but I think everyone should spend some time working at a restaurant. It’ll do ya good, I promise! 

6.  Did you work while in college and if so, where?
I’m realizing now that one of my nannying jobs was in college. And one summer at my uncle’s office was in college. Oops. I worked a summer for an electronics company in Austin. They were in the process of automating their warehouse so I had the thrilling job of mapping it out and scanning barcodes. I lasted almost the entire summer but them my herniated disc got out of control and I could hardly stand up.

I worked at a store called Ethnic Loft (<– that’s a link). It was a great job for a college student. I was even able to keep the job during the school year. I love the owner and got close to her family. Her son was the ring bearer in our wedding.  

7. When you go to sleep do you like  total darkness or semi? When you go to sleep do you need quiet or is some noise ok?
Oh I have very strong feelings about this. A cold room with a fan on and a big comforter covering me but not any portion of my face. Complete silence except for a fan, but there can be absolutely no clicking or rattling. Dark dark dark. And please don’t touch me.

8. When doing laundry, fabric softener or not?
I use those dryer sheets but not the liquid fabric softener. After an issue with changing laundry detergents and becoming extremely itchy for months on end (still fighting it), I now only use allergy products.

9. Open toed or closed toed shoes?
Mostly closed toes, but I love a cute peep toe.

10. Would you rather be blind or deaf?
Deaf. So much of communication is non-verbal. Obviously neither are ideal, but I think that being deaf is more manageable. I could blog, read, look at my husband, see my future children, enjoy God’s creation… I think that’s hard to give up.

11. Dangle or stud earrings?
I actually can’t wear any. I can wear an earring in my cartilage but that’s it. The lobes get extremely infected even if I get quality earrings. It’s awful. The last time I wore earrings was my wedding… two and a half years ago.

12. Bottled water or tap?
At home I just drink water from my refrigerator. At work I drink bottled water because that’s just nasty. If I’m at a new place I usually prefer bottled water unless someone has tasted the tap before me.

13. What do you put on pancakes?
Butter. I put syrup on the side because I hate soggy pancakes. There is nothing better than blueberry pancakes with butter and syrup.

14. On a long trip would you rather drive or fly?
Fly. Always fly. I love flying. I also love flying by myself and making friends with the person I’m sitting with. Airplanes are the only place in the world where I’m comfortable striking up random conversation with a stranger less than 3 centimeters from me.

15. Do you prefer classic old movies or new?
I think my definition of “classic old” is probably different from my aunt’s. My favorite movie is You’ve Got Mail. I wouldn’t call it an old classic movie but it’s not that new anymore. So I’ll say… the happy medium. There are very few new movies that I like- with the exception of Julie & Julia of course.

No Mr. Linky again. I saw that there was a lot more visiting of other ToT’ers when the links are just listed on the comments. So add your link and visit around.

December 15, 2009 at 8:30 am 45 comments


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win