Bloggers Annonymous

July 13, 2009 at 9:48 am 8 comments

We all have temptations in our lives. Things that we can’t resist. Things that taunt us and consume our thoughts. I have two vices. The first is something that I’m sure many of you haven’t experienced… Frozen Double Stuf Oreos. OH.MY.GOSH. There is nothing better. I never buy them because I have absolutely no self control. Don’t believe me? Go down to Galveston and look in the freezer at my parents’ house. There is a package of Oreos that is half gone. “So what, Chelsea?! Half gone? That’s not bad!” Yes. Yes it is. We were only there for about 24 hours. It’s bad. I actually said the sentence, “No, I don’t think I’ll eat that last slice of pizza. I’d rather eat 4 Oreos when we get back.”

The second addiction is obvious- read the title. Blogging. I sort of had a feeling this would happen. When you commit to doing something once a day, it becomes a big part of your life. I don’t necessarily think this is a problem (don’t all addicts say this?!)… I’ve really enjoyed it and have benefit from it. But over the weekend I realized I had a problem. Not an oh-crap-these-Oreos-are-so-good problem. More like an oh-my-gosh-I-love-this-eyeliner-so-much-does-that-mean-I-have-a-problem? problem. This is how you know you have a blogging problem:

On Friday I mentioned that I’m looking for a cabinet for my bathroom. Some of you were nice enough to send me some links to bathroom towers you’ve found. For some reason they were either 4 feet tall or over $300. Neither were ideal. So the emails went back and forth. We discussed options and our taste. One may argue that this is the proof of me having a problem – talking to people I don’t know about plans for my bathroom. But one would be wrong. I don’t see anything wrong with getting advice from outside sources. Here is the problem: On the way home from work on Friday I stopped at Hobby Lobby to see if I could find a cabinet there. I had in mind what I wanted. Something brown with drawers that are baskets. Seemed simple enough to me. Up until that point, I had searched just about every online store that sells furniture. No luck. So I walk into Hobby Lobby and saw it. THE cabinet. I stood in front of it with my jaw on the floor. I got my phone out and took a picture. I needed someone else to tell me how perfect it was. My mom was at the beach, Stephen’s phone was dead. I knew yall could have helped me. I honestly stood there thinking, “I wish I had my blog friends’ phone numbers to send them the picture!” But I didn’t. I could have emailed it to all of my helpers but I wasn’t willing to hang out in Hobby Lobby for the next 5 hours, waiting for you all to check your emails and respond. So I bought it anyways. Stephen loves it. It’s perfect. Here is the picture I took at Hobby Lobby… check out how great it is!

cabinet

Second reason I know I have a blogging problem. Stephen and I went to Galveston on Saturday afternoon. We went to the beach for a couple hours, went out to eat on The Stand, hung out at the beautiful Bella Rose. The next day we went to the beach again and helped move things in and put things away. We had a great time but I can’t help but feel a bit guilty. So many of you asked me to take pictures of us at the house but I forgot my camera. Isn’t it awful? If I was Pioneer Woman I would apologize and have a Kitchen Aid Mixer giveaway to make sure you all forgive me. But I’m just not that hardcore. So you’ll have to take my written apology. I’ll make it up next weekend, I swear!

And the final reason I know I’m a blogger to the core… Friday was my Uncle Brad’s birthday. The whole family was in Port Aransas for about 4 days. I texted my mom and told her to tell Brad happy birthday for me. His response was “It doesn’t count unless you put it on your blog!” (Can you say ‘enabler’???) I may be three days late, but I’m here to make it official. Happy Birthday Uncle Brad! My Uncle Brad is awesome. He is one of the smartest people I know. He’s a wonderful Christian man who truly knows what it means to be a family-man. He’s fun and goofy and generous. We love him and are proud to call him family. Check him out:

Brad and Lisa - Wedding

That’s him with my Aunt Lisa at my wedding. Lisa used to have blonde hair that was so long I thought she was a princess. In case you ever have the opportunity to meet my uncle, you may not recognize him from this picture. He normally looks more like this:

Goofy Brad

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family, Hurst Castle. Tags: , , , , .

101 Progress Update The Umpteenth Wonder of the World

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  July 13, 2009 at 10:47 am

    “If I was Pioneer Woman I would apologize and have a Kitchen Aid Mixer giveaway to make sure you all forgive me. But I’m just not that hardcore.”

    My laugh of the day for sure!🙂 LOVE the cabinet–and it can always be repurposed for craft/office supplies too if you find something better!🙂 I must admit I’ve never had frozen Double Stuf oreos but they sound delicious, and therefore I am not going to try them lest I become 10 lbs heavier. But thanx alot, because you just made me crave the Oreos that are in my cabinet to make “Dirt Cake” eek!!! *do not eat them do not eat them* =)

  • 2. Ashley  |  July 13, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Love the cabinet! And the feeling of walking into somewhere and being like “YES, THAT’S IT!”

    I feel like I have a problem too — I swear I check my google reader more than a normal person should.

    Thank goodness I’ve never had a frozen double stuffed orea or I’d have a problem with that too.

    OMG, I love Pioneer Woman — I’m pretty certain I am going to win a mixer one day🙂

  • 3. Pippy  |  July 13, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I personally enjoy your blogging problem….I have one as well!

  • 4. Rachel  |  July 13, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I’m glad you have a blogging addiction… and when you asked that question last week I thought, “I wonder if she’s tried Hobby Lobby?” Then I thought, Chelsea lives in a much bigger city than Wichita… I’m sure she’s tried HL and didn’t see what she wanted there.” Next time I won’t second guess myself… but the real question is: Did you get it for half off?

  • 5. Rachel  |  July 13, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    PS – I just read the Great Pictures from Olan Mills post on Pioneer Woman… OMG, HILARIOUS!

  • 6. Chelsea Hurst  |  July 13, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Rachel- It was 30% off.. not too bad! Yes, always post your thoughts. Never assume I’ve “already thought of that”… you give me too much credit. Also, I have no idea what post you’re talking about and I can’t find it. Post the link.

  • 7. d.a.r.  |  July 13, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Oooh I love that cabinet!!

    And you know you have a blogging problem when even your husband says “oooh great story, you have to blog about that!”. Sigh. Ha!

  • 8. Rachel  |  July 14, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    http://listoftheday.blogspot.com/2007/09/great-olan-mills-photos.html – – – You’ll laugh, I promise.🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

