Look What My Kid Can Do

October 6, 2010 at 7:30 am 13 comments

Parents love to talk about their kids. We can’t help it. The second they enter this world, our lives change. We can no longer think about anything besides our baby, who just so happens to be the cutest, smartest, most amazing baby that ever existed. And that baby will turn into the cutest, smartest, most amazing toddler in the world. And so on. And while we try to hold our tongue so that we can still be proper members of society, every now and then we have to tell you all about what our kids can do.

Jansen had his one month doctor’s appointment on Monday morning. (He weighs 10 pounds 4 ounces now, by the way.) My mom came with us because 1) I had to carry a purse, a baby, a diaper bag, and I’m really not that good at it just yet, and 2) I don’t have a car and it’s a long walk.

So there we were, my mom, Jansen and I. Sitting in the waiting room watching 101 Dalmatians and mentally noting how much cuter Jansen is than every other baby there. A little boy was playing with a toy nearby. I’m not sure how old he was because I am new to this motherhood thing and pretty much all kids look the same. If I had to guess, I’d say about 14 months. He was playing with one of those doctor toys with the wooden beads that slide from one side to the other in weird twists and turns. Then he turned and saw Jansen. He was mesmerized. (I can’t blame him, I told you, cutest baby ever.) He walked over to Jansen’s carrier and looked at him. His finger started going toward Jansen’s head and his dad ran over to grab him. Just as he did, the little boy said, “baby.” He looked at Jansen and then up at his dad, “baby.” His dad looked up at us and said, “Oh my gosh. That was his first word. That was his first word. Baby.” Over and over he looked at his son and said, “baby” while pointing at Jansen. His son kept repeating it.

Then Jansen started fussing so they walked away. He carried his son to another family and just said, “He just said his first word!” and walked away. It was awesome. He was so proud! It totally made my day… until I tripped in the waiting room and fell on my butt. True story, ask my mom.

Over the weekend we went to a wedding for a family friend. I knew we had two weddings to go to in October so I ordered some onesies from Taryn’s Etsy shop, Cinnaberry (<– link). They are so cute and I couldn’t wait for Jansen to wear them.

So we went to the wedding and I was so excited to show him off. Sort of a: look what my kid can do, he can be cute! We showed up looking like this:

Aww, look at that. A bowtie!!

A couple hours went by and Jansen got tired of me showing him off. He was sick of all the fuss and didn’t want any more attention, so he did this:

Pee. All over daddy. So I took him to the bathroom and changed his saturated diaper. I brought him back out and we hung out some more. Then? Pee all over Gramps. Awesome.

Your kid can say “baby”?? Cool. Mine can pee a lot.

(FYI, we think the reason his diapers leaked were because they were too small. He’s now in size 1 and we haven’t had a leak since. I had no idea how big he’d gotten so I didn’t realize that the diapers had gone all fat-guy-in-a-little-diaper on us.)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Jansen, Nights Out, Stephen. Tags: , .

Ten on Tuesday (50) It’s Been A Few Days Since I Posted A List

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aunt bonnie  |  October 6, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Hilarious….”fat guy in the little diaper”.

  • 2. Erin  |  October 6, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Dude, it’s time to give up the purse and just put your wallet in the diaper bag. For reals. It doesn’t hurt like you think it will 🙂

    And I looooove your glasses!

  • 3. Southern Gal  |  October 6, 2010 at 8:43 am

    I love the way Jansen is looking at you in that picture. Precious.

    My husband fell at the soccer field last night. I only saw him as he was on his way up. Poor guy.

  • 4. Karen  |  October 6, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Cute picture, love the bow tie.

    Jansen is just marking his territory, Stephen is official now, congratulations.

  • 5. Taryn  |  October 6, 2010 at 9:10 am

    LOL. I’m with Erin… lose the purse. Baby and diaper bag are all you need. That’s why you get a diaper bag that looks like a purse and you never have to worry about juggling all the stuff 🙂

  • 6. Taryn M. Peine  |  October 6, 2010 at 9:26 am

    LOVE little Jansen in that onesie – so CUTE! I didn’t know pee went through ANY diaper that well. I DON’T KNOW ANYTHING!

  • 7. Sarah Johnson  |  October 6, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Your glasses are super cute!
    That onesie is super cute!
    Good thing babies are cute so that when they pee on us we still like them.
    And seriously, just convert diaper bag and purse to one- I see all the moms doing it.

  • 8. Nora  |  October 6, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Well i love the photo of your family at the wedding. You all look great! And I have to say the pee story made me laugh today =)

  • 9. Parker's Mom  |  October 6, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    I love his onesie!!

    I also loved the first word story, how sweet!!

    Sorry I haven’t posted comments in forever, I usually read your blog on my phone and it’s a bit of a pain to leave comments from my phone, so I don’t.

    Anyway, I love all your updates! I need to get better about mine! Glad that you all are doing so great!! Glad to see that Jansen is getting so big! Parker will be 3 weeks tomorrow, and he’s already 10.5 lbs (as of his 2 week visit)!! HAHA!!

  • 10. Lauren from Texas  |  October 6, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    In other news, YOU LOOK HOT MAMA!

  • 11. Mama Fuss  |  October 6, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Love the “fat guy in a little diaper” quote. LOL.

    Wow, that’s funny. Our boys were born on the same day and we had our 1-month on Monday morning, too and – our Little Man is 10lbs 4 (1/2) oz. Weird.

    We’re taking him to his first wedding next week. I don’t have a bow tie onesie for him, but I did buy him a dressier outfit for the occasion.

    Question: Are you nursing him? How did you do it at the wedding? I’m worried about that part.

  • 12. Katherine  |  October 7, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Love the pictures … again. You do have such a cute baby!! I learned to always move up a diaper size before the box said to – mine could never make it as long as they were supposed to in the size. I just bought a 6! for my 2 year old. Time flies.

  • 13. Lyndsey  |  October 28, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Dear Chelsea,
    I thought you didnt fall!?!?!?

    Love,
    Lyndsey

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

