Ten on Tuesday (50)

October 5, 2010 at 7:20 am 15 comments

This week’s questions come from my friend Molly (<– click to visit her). I would say that she is a real life friend, but she isn’t… yet. But don’t worry, we have it in the planner to meet. The theme of this week is Figuratively/Literally. Creative! I love creative themes!

Enjoy.

1. What keeps you up at night? (figuratively)
Unsure future… mostly revolving around money. How will we get another car? Will I ever make more than I do? Will I ever be able to be a stay at home mom? Are we ever going to be able to afford to update our house? Etc.

2. What keeps you up at night? (literally)
Currently, Jansen. Although he doesn’t really keep me up. He just wakes me up. I guess he keeps me up for about 45 minutes and then he mostly lets me go back to sleep.

3. Where do you want to go in life? (figuratively)
I just want to be a stay at home mom. A GOOD one. That’s it. That’s all I aspire to be. I want a good group of friends that Stephen and I have a good connection with and things in common. (Kids, faith, interests, etc.) I want my kids to be happy and healthy and have hobbies that they enjoy.

4. Where do you want to go in life? (literally)
Disney World, New York, California (wine country), Greece, Italy, France, Spain. Most of these are for the food. I also want to go on several more cruises.

5. Have you ever bit off more than you could chew? (figuratively)
Yes. I am really bad at saying no. I have this problem with feeling like I’m letting people down. Last year I actually backed out of a commitment for the first time. I had agreed to lead something at church but I was worn out and spread too thin, so I backed out. It was awful and wonderful at the same time.

6. Have you ever bit off more than you could chew? (literally)
Naturally.

7. Is the grass really greener on the other side of the fence? (figuratively)
Sometimes, yes. Not all the time. I think there are families out there that have it better, although I wouldn’t swap lives with them. I may swap houses and bank accounts, but not lives.

8. Is the grass really greener on the other side of the fence? (literally)
I don’t know. Our grass is pretty green.

9. If you can’t stand the heat, do you get out of the kitchen? (figuratively)
No, like I said before, I have a problem with no wanting to let people down. So if it involves others, I don’t quit. If it’s just me, sometimes I do. Which is why I don’t knit, I quit my vision therapy, I’m not in shape, etc. Some things are too hard!

10. If you can’t stand the heat, do you get out of the kitchen? (literally)
No. I just turn down the AC, drink some water, and whine about it. I rarely leave the kitchen.

Here’s Mr Linky!

(One of you asked me where you can find the questions before Tuesdays. See the Ten on Tuesday button on the right sidebar? If you click it, you can find the upcoming questions and all of the archives.)

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

I MIGHT Be The Only One That Thinks This Is Funny Look What My Kid Can Do

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  October 5, 2010 at 7:26 am

    3. I second what you wrote here!

    4. Oooh you thought of some good ones that I missed. I’d love to go to California’s wine country.

  • 2. april  |  October 5, 2010 at 7:44 am

    If you wanted to go to Disney for the food (although I know that’s not what you meant) I suggest the Epcot Food and Wine Festival … I dream of going to that, and you get to eat and drink your way around the world. Maybe if I lose the weight I want to lose by next year (it runs late Sept through early Nov) I’ll talk my husband into going. I only live 1 1/2 hours from it – definitely doable.

    Wine country is amazing, we went on our honeymoon and ate at some amazing restaurants and drank tons of wine both by the bottle and at 14 tastings in 3 days. If you go, don’t miss the Jelly Belly factory though, and don’t go there on a Sunday because they don’t run the machines on Sunday. 🙂

    I played this week! Thanks!

  • 3. jen  |  October 5, 2010 at 8:33 am

    I wouldnt even consider turning up the A/C! thats brilliant!!

  • 4. Taryn  |  October 5, 2010 at 8:37 am

    1. work, money, mortgage, bills…
    2. Monday Night Football and sometimes Luke being a punk and waking up at 4am to watch Sesame street!
    3. hopefully a job that will pay more with better hours and benefits
    4. Greece and Australia
    5. yes. I always have too much going on at the same time. i love it, but i can be exhausting.
    6. LOL. Go to Jaxson’s and order “The Kitchen Sink.” It’s a sink filled with ice cream and toppings…. It feeds 10 people. OMG. Also, every single year at food and wine festival at epcot. it’s ridiculous the amount we end up eating and drinking!!!
    7. Nope, I’m pretty happy with life in general!
    8. Not really… we had 6 inches of rain the other day… everything is pretty green here!
    9. Nope, I stay in no matter what is going on.
    10. Nah, I just turn on the ceiling fan! Lol

  • 5. Sister  |  October 5, 2010 at 9:47 am

    These are neat quesitons!

    1. What keeps you up at night? (figuratively)
    wondering if i’ll ever get into block and what i’ll do with my life if i don’t

    2. What keeps you up at night? (literally)
    really, only eating right before bed. i know its a bad thing and that it keeps me awake, but sometimes i’m too starving to go to sleep

    3. Where do you want to go in life? (figuratively)
    I want to be a stay at home mom that can do free-lance design work FROM her home.

    4. Where do you want to go in life? (literally)
    italy, greece, spain, germany, france, england, cabo…..the list goes on

    5. Have you ever bit off more than you could chew? (figuratively)
    not since high school…in high school i did year round vball, swimming, and golf and there was a time they all overlapped…that was a really crazy 2 weeks

    6. Have you ever bit off more than you could chew? (literally)
    who hasn’t?

    7. Is the grass really greener on the other side of the fence? (figuratively)
    no. not right now. i have a pretty blessed life and wouldn’t trade it for anything.

    8. Is the grass really greener on the other side of the fence? (literally)
    I live in an apartment complex who takes amazing care of the lawn…so i’m gonna say i have the greenest grass in the area!

    9. If you can’t stand the heat, do you get out of the kitchen? (figuratively)
    No. I hate quitting and I like to prove what I can do.

    10. If you can’t stand the heat, do you get out of the kitchen? (literally)
    yeah. I go sit in the living room.

  • 6. mom (nana)  |  October 5, 2010 at 9:50 am

    1. What keeps you up at night? (figuratively)
    nothing thank God.

    2. What keeps you up at night? (literally)
    My dog, molly and the HOPEFULLY end of this awful thing called “the change” – why do we have to change????

    3. Where do you want to go in life? (figuratively)
    I love where I am. I always wanted “this life” and I am so thankful for it.

    4. Where do you want to go in life? (literally)
    East coast (Savannah, Charleston), St. Louis to see my friend Kathy, California (wine country), Greece, Italy, New York City to see the Christmas decorations, and ALWAYS up for more cruises.

    5. Have you ever bit off more than you could chew? (figuratively)
    yep. And that brings on migraines….

    6. Have you ever bit off more than you could chew? (literally)
    scary

    7. Is the grass really greener on the other side of the fence? (figuratively)
    Nope, when I was younger I thought it surely was though. However, I know now it isn’t. Thank you God for my life!

    8. Is the grass really greener on the other side of the fence? (literally)
    Nope – I have a great gardner! (My hubby)

    9. If you can’t stand the heat, do you get out of the kitchen? (figuratively)
    Depends. If I have made a commitment to someone, nope. But like Chelsea said, I didn’t stay with my excercise program, I tried to crochet and didn’t finish the blanket…..

    10. If you can’t stand the heat, do you get out of the kitchen? (literally)
    No.If I did, we would never have a “real” meal – he could do eggs and open a can of vegs but that’s about it!

  • 7. Rachel  |  October 5, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Cute questions!

  • 8. Nora  |  October 5, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    I often let things that have to do with me slide but continue to do other things if it involves others. I’m in a situation right now like that and it’s killing me. i need to make a decision and make it fast!

  • 9. Stacie  |  October 5, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    awww….i want to be a stay at home mom too, but i’m still working on the “mom” part!

  • 10. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  October 5, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Woo hoo! Here’s to turning down the AC when you cook!
    And that “saying no” thing is a pain, I agree!

  • 11. Stephany  |  October 5, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    Oh, I wish #3 could work out for you somehow!

  • 12. Laurie  |  October 5, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Thanks for letting us newbies know where to find the list! I didn’t realize that you post them ahead of time until now!
    =)

  • 13. Jenny  |  October 5, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I linked up!

  • 14. KEZ  |  October 5, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Yay for Ten on Tuesday!

  • 15. Courtney  |  October 6, 2010 at 1:57 am

    Ok, I love wine, and I’m gonna tell you… As nice as the Napa area is and as good as the wine is, there are better wine regions in California to visit. Napa wine tasting is expensive! Think about going to the Central Coast (Monterey, Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo areas) or Santa Ynez area. Just as good (my opinion better!) and not as hootie tootie snobby. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

