Ten on Tuesday (17)

February 9, 2010 at 8:15 am 26 comments

Hello ToTers! Welcome to another week of pointless questions. I’m excited! This week’s batch comes from Miss Kyla Roma. Check her out and thank her for her questions. She’s never actually participated in a ToT and I’m not sure she’ll start this week, but she enjoys reading your answers.

1. Fill in the blank. Sometimes I wish my life was more ______.
Sometimes I wish my life was more relaxing and filled with money. I’d love to be able to not work and spend time on hobbies and learning how to clean my house. I can’t afford that though. As it is now, I get home from work at 6 and then cook dinner. By the time that’s overwith I just want to sit on the couch and watch television with Stephen. The dirty house is overwhelming and I don’t know how to start. So maybe I should say “sometimes (all the time) I wish my life was more clean.”

2. How do you cure the hiccups?
A spoonful of sugar. True story. Try it.

I won’t name names because I don’t want to embarrass anyone… but I know someone who thinks he can cure his hiccups by flexing something or doing something in his throat. I think not. 

3. What are three of your favorite indulgences?
Java Chip Fraps with Peppermint – Pure bliss.
Chelsea Lately – Hilarious but often filthy.
Fresh, hot pizza – I love it so much that I always burn the roof of my mouth.

4. Where is the most exotic place you would like to travel to? The most mundane?
Most exotic? I’m not sure what makes something exotic. I’ll say Hawaii.

Most mundane? Alice, Texas. A very very small town located in south Texas. Not a whole lot to do there but I have family there so it’s always a great trip.

5. Does having your time planned out stress you or relax you?
Relaxes me. I love my planner. I love meal plans. I love planning my blog posts. I love planning. If anything happens spontaneously, it throws me off and I have a hard time adjusting. Stephen doesn’t understand this. He probably thinks I’m a psycho on some level. For better or worse baby!

6. What are your favourite fabrics to wear?
Can you tell she’s Canadian? One of my all time favourite things to wear in general is a comfy cotton dress on a hot summer day. It’s flattering, cozy, breezy, lovely.

7. Do you sleep through the night?
Not even a little bit. Any noise wakes me up. Plus my bladder is the size of a ping pong ball so I have to get up to pee at least once every night. The worst part of it is hearing Stephen sleep heavily next to me while I toss and turn.

8. When you were younger, what did you think you would be doing at this age? How close is that to what you are doing?
I thought I’d graduate from UT at 22, get married at 22, and have a baby at 24. I thought I’d stay at home with my baby while my husband brought home the bacon. I’m pretty close to that but have no complaints. I graduated from UT at 22 and got married at 22. I’m now 25 and, as you know, there is no little Hurstling residing in Hurst Castle. Also, I’m not staying at home. I’m responsible for bringing home part of the bacon. See next question.

9. What has surprised you most about growing up?
All things money related. I had no idea how much things cost and what a normal salary was. I never realized that not all new moms stay home with their babies. I didn’t realize that we wouldn’t be able replace our stained carpet without saving saving saving. I didn’t realize that vacations were something to be treasured because some companies give JACK SQUAT for vacation time and even if we did have time, we couldn’t afford to go anywhere anyways.

10. Are you good at keeping secrets?
I like to think so. I’m not a big fan of secrets in general. Plus, I am of the opinion that telling Stephen is still considered “keeping the secret.” So I guess, you be the judge.

That’s all she wrote. Now it’s your turn. Click the logo to add your link or to visit others who are participating.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Getting Old, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: , .

Even Bloggers Get Tired Loser 9.06: Olympic Week So We Reward The Weakest Players?

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  February 9, 2010 at 8:49 am

    1. Fill in the blank. Sometimes I wish my life was more ______.
    (like) Francis Mayas, the character from the movie “Under The Tuscan Sun,” I wish that I had the ability to go out and buy a villa in Italy and pick fruit with gorgeous men. That would be great.

    2. How do you cure the hiccups?
    I try to time my hiccups and burp instead of hiccup, it works, also a tablespoon full of peanut butter works very well.

    3. What are three of your favorite indulgences?
    Bacon
    Oyster stew, I just love oyster stew
    Slim jims, pepperoni, those cocktail wieners like they have at a baby shower or any of the little sandwiches that are served at those events, I do not buy things like this in quantity because I will eat it all in one day.

    4. Where is the most exotic place you would like to travel to? The most mundane?
    (exotic) Somewhere like Italy or Paris.
    (mundane) The Grand Canyon

    5. Does having your time planned out stress you or relax you?
    Both, if I plan my time out and some thing interferes with that, it can really stress me out, but if I don’t plan my time and I don’t get things done then I feel stressed and disappointed in myself.

    6. What are your favorite fabrics to wear?
    I am just a plain ole cotton girl, I like comfort and to me there is nothing like a good, clean, nice smelling cotton shirt fresh out of the dryer.

    7. Do you sleep through the night?
    No, I usually have at least one can of beer to dispose of around 2 or 3 in the morning.

    8. When you were younger, what did you think you would be doing at this age? How close is that to what you are doing?
    I always thought that I would be married with children living on a farm (all animals would be pets, none would be eaten) some where, riding horses and being the envy of many. That is nowhere near where I am right now, not married (don’t want to be) no children (don’t want any) living in a subdivision. But if I win the lottery, the subdivision thing will surely change. Yeah it will.

    9. What has surprised you most about growing up?
    Paying bills is a real thing.

    10. Are you good at keeping secrets?
    Yes

  • 2. Kelly  |  February 9, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I am definitely going to do this later!
    I hear you on vacations, why don’t we all have more money for fun trips!?

  • 3. Kyla Roma  |  February 9, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Woo! Thanks for letting me participate! I would do these, but I’m weird about my posting schedule, I’m a Monday, Wednesday, Friday girl =)

    But I have soooo many questions and prompts for other people and no where to use them, this was fun!

    I cure hiccups with a spoon full of vinegar. It’s never failed me.

  • 4. Kaitlynn  |  February 9, 2010 at 11:45 am

    1. Fill in the blank. Sometimes I wish my life was more ______.
    I’m stealing from Molly – Christ-centered. I fight against it daily, but deep down I know there’s nothing better than that.

    2. How do you cure the hiccups?
    I never have the hiccups for very long. I just ride it out. Sometimes I hold my breath. 

    3. What are three of your favorite indulgences?
    Definitely TV – My poor DVR is constantly at work recording something. I refuse to watch live TV.
    Shopping – I love just shopping for nothing in particular. I love new clothes and accessories. But I try to refrain from frequenting the mall because I also like my bank account.
    Cake – mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    4. Where is the most exotic place you would like to travel to? The most mundane?
    Most exotic – Israel. How cool would that be? But currently we’re saving up for a trip to Hawaii…soooo yeah…..
    Most mundane? Nebraska 🙂 Because I love my family and they are soooo far away

    5. Does having your time planned out stress you or relax you?
    Relaxes me, for sure. But the weird thing is I don’t always follow my plan. I like having it in writing, but I still feel like I just go with the flow. I think I just like lists.

    6. What are your favourite fabrics to wear?
    Definitely cotton, gotta go for comfort. I love those jersey scarves at Old Navy. They are so soft and so cozy.

    7. Do you sleep through the night?
    Yes. If I wake up before my alarm I am severely disappointed. Sometimes I let my puppy sleep with me though, and on those nights I never sleep through the night. She snores.

    8. When you were younger, what did you think you would be doing at this age? How close is that to what you are doing?
    Strangely, I didn’t really think about it that much. Kind of like my wedding….When we got married, my husband asked me what things I had been dreaming about all my life, and I was like “What? I was supposed to have been thinking about this?” I guess I thought I would be married so that’s on par….. I never really thought about how old I would be when I had kids, though (no kids yet). As for jobs, I still don’t know what I want to do when I “grow up” but definitely not what I’m doing now. My dream job is being a full-time mom, so we’ll see if we can pull that off.

    9. What has surprised you most about growing up?
    Adults don’t sleep!!! What?!?! I would have never in a million years thought I would EVER set my alarm for 4:30 in the morning on a Saturday. That was for crazy people. Well, I guess I’m officially a crazy person.
    Also, cleaning. My mom and mom-in-law are such wonderful housekeepers. And I’m not terrible by any means, but it is certainly shocking how much time and effort it takes to keep a house tidy (not clean, just tidy!) It’s a full-time job.

    10. Are you good at keeping secrets?
    Yes. But I’m with Chelsea….I tell my husband everything, including secrets. Telling your husband is still keeping the secret! If you have something to tell me that you don’t want me to tell the hubby, then I don’t wanna know! Unless it’s some sort of gift/surprise for him, then I’m definitely good at keeping the secret.

  • 5. Emily Jane  |  February 9, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    I’ve never participated in one either but I really enjoy reading people’s answers. It’s part of my Tuesday morning routine! I’d love to submit a batch if you’re ever looking for any 🙂

  • 6. Tabaitha Kaye  |  February 9, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Great questions!

  • 7. Holly  |  February 9, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Your answer to #5 describes me EXACTLY. My husband thinks I’m nuts because I can’t handle anything spontaneous. Even the thought of something spontaneous stresses me out, lol.

  • 8. Southern Gal  |  February 9, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    1. Fill in the blank. Sometimes I wish my life was more ______.
    organized and clean.

    2. How do you cure the hiccups?
    I do that weird thing where you hold your nose and your ears at the same time while drinking a glass of water.

    3. What are three of your favorite indulgences?
    Sitting with a good book with nothing to do.

    4. Where is the most exotic place you would like to travel to? The most mundane?
    Most exotic? Montego Bay. Because a friend’s parents would island hop back in the day and said it was the best place to be. That or Hawaii.

    Most mundane? I don’t know.

    5. Does having your time planned out stress you or relax you?
    Totally stresses me out. I’m all for spontaneity with a little bit of planning in between. See #1.

    6. What are your favourite fabrics to wear?
    Can you tell she’s Canadian? One of my all time favourite things to wear in general is a comfy cotton dress on a hot summer day. It’s flattering, cozy, breezy, lovely.

    7. Do you sleep through the night?
    Yes, when my husband is home.

    8. When you were younger, what did you think you would be doing at this age? How close is that to what you are doing?
    I don’t think I ever thought ahead to 46 when I was younger. I did believe I would be married with children. I never would have dreamed I would homeschool my children.

    9. What has surprised you most about growing up?
    Finances definitely. But the biggest surprise was the first summer I had to WORK instead of having the whole thing off. And my birthday is in the summer. Just floored me.

    10. Are you good at keeping secrets?
    Yes. Except from my husband. He’s a good secret keeper, so your secret is safe with me!

  • 9. Southern Gal  |  February 9, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Whoops.

    Number 6 has your answers.

    My number 6 would be jeans.

    To finish #3 would be sitting and holding a baby and lastly, Starbucks coffee.

    Sorry about that. You can fix it if you want! 😉

  • 10. hyperactive lu  |  February 9, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Great list!!

  • 11. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  February 9, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    I’m with you on the money thing. Especially when little unexpected emergencies seem to pop up ALL THE TIME. Who woulda thought being an adult was so expensive!

  • 12. Samantha  |  February 9, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Haha, I have a bladder the size of a ping pong ball, too. It’s awful!

  • 13. Courtney  |  February 9, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I so dislike the hiccups. I never fails, when I get them I have them for a day or two.

  • 14. mandy  |  February 9, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I always enjoy reading answers.

    Money was something I had no clue about when I was a kid dreaming about how great being an adult would be. For real. Someone should really tell teenagers the whole things cost money and that money just doesn’t grow on trees speech. Nevermind, they wouldnt listen anway. I sure didn’t.

  • 15. Taryn E  |  February 9, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    1. relaxing (aka, less hectic.) Between a full-time job, the gym, husband, 19month old, laundry, and cleaning the house, it’s a wonder I have time for anything else!!

    2. burping or holding my breath. They both work for me.

    3. Pepperoni pizza with extra cheese
    Starbucks Venti Iced Chai Lattes
    Any form of BlueBell

    4. Most exotic? Bora Bora/Tahiti
    Most mundane? Houston. I’m always up for seeing family and friends 🙂

    5. Kinda stressful, actually…. Rob works strange hours b/c of realty and teaching at a professional school, so I pretty much have to be ready for anything. It’s more stressful for me to have stuff planned, like meals or whatnot, and then end up having him stuck in a class or have a last-minute meeting. The only thing I ever really write down are birthdays in my outlook calendar and my to-do list for the weekend when Luke is napping.

    6. Neoprene, b/c it means I’m about ready to go scuba diving!!!

    7. I haven’t slept through the night since I was pregnant. I’d get up to pee like 100 times a night. Then Luke was born and my sleep schedule went in the toilet. Even on the nights he sleeps through, Rob’s snoring keeps me awake.

    8. I thought I would graduate at 22, get some sort of cool marine biology job, and eventually find a guy, get married, and travel the world.
    I actually ended up graduating at 22, went to grad school for 2 years, graduated again at 24, got a job doing medical illlustration and moved to Florida. Met Rob at 25, married at 28, pregnant at 29, became a mom at 30 and I’m still at the same job 8years later. 🙂

    9. I’m with Chelsea… all things related to money. Saving, credit cards, emergency funds, car troubles, house troubles… when you come home and find your garage underwater b/c the water heater died and then the washing machine goes the next week…. you and your pocketbook just want to CRY.

    10. Yep. I do tell my husband everything, though. 🙂

  • 16. Jessica  |  February 9, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Yay! Back at 17 again!

  • 17. Ashley  |  February 9, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    I left my link in Mr. Linky http://tyandashmoss.blogspot.com/2010/02/ten-on-tuesday_09.html

    As always I love ToT!!

  • 18. Autumn  |  February 9, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Glad to know that a dirty house overwhelms someone besides me! And I will be trying that spoonful of sugar the next time the hiccups come around! (Does just eating sweets count?)

  • 19. Debbie  |  February 9, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    I left my link, but, I had to comment. A spoonful of sugar?! Well, Mary Poppins, I just might have to try that one!!! haha 🙂

  • 20. Fuegita  |  February 9, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I love that you do this every week!! I always look forward to it!!

  • 21. Stephany  |  February 9, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    I am exactly the same with needing my time planned out. Otherwise, nothing will get done and I’ll just become super lazy. Which I already see myself doing since I’ve stopped using a planner, even though I have two.

  • 22. Lisa D  |  February 9, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I totally need to try the spoon full of sugar thing. I get the hiccups ALL THE TIME. Not fun.

  • 23. Ashley  |  February 10, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Ahh, I never remember to do this until I see everyone’s posts on Tuesday. One day!

  • 24. Sue @ Simon's Sista  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:01 am

    I’ll be sure to try the spoonfull of sugar. I’ve had no luck with scares, holding my breath, drinking upside down etc.

  • 25. 10 on Thursday « Erika Blogs  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:59 am

    […] home. I need to do a catch-up post. But until then, here is a fun little survey. It is actually the “10 On Tuesday” questions for this week, but since I didn’t get around to filling it out on Tuesday, I guess […]

  • 26. Zburrows  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    You are so funny! Money is the motivator behind so much!!!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win