Props! to Lorna Doone Shortbread Cookies

July 2, 2009 at 9:38 am 8 comments

A couple months ago I entered a Swap through another blog that I read. It was a fun experience. We were all matched up and given different names and addresses, then we mailed our person a package with 5 goodies. My chick sent me a cute stained glass piece of art, some body butter, a package of treats for Rookie, and a couple homemade charms. But quite possibly, the greatest thing I received was a package of Lorna Doone cookies.

cookies2

I wouldn’t recommend buying these regularly because I’m sure with each cookie you eat, you get another dimple on your thigh. But, Lord have mercy, they are good.

Listen, I’m from Texas. We have the “Bigger is Better” mentality here. We eat mounds of red meat, we drink high calorie beer, and we use lots of mayo and butter. We drive big trucks that can fit our wide hips. That’s just the life down here. Additionally, I’m Lutheran. We have millions of cookbooks that contain words like “oleo”. And according to us, if you add Cool Whip and Jello mix you can call it a salad. And we like our life that way. I don’t really shy away from high calorie food. My jeans have requested that I eat smaller portions of these foods, and I will comply. But I won’t quit eating them altogether. Come on guys, when I leave my neighborhood this is what I see:

mcd

A biggie sized McDonalds with a biggie sized astronaut eating a McMassive sized order of fries. What can I say? My appetite is stimulated every morning.

All of that to say, I don’t feel too guilty eating these cookies. You’ve got to live a little! So the other day we were in the car on the way home from work and Stephen and I were starving. I remembered we had some of these cookies in the back seat.

S- Oh! Cookies!
C- Yeah. These things are awesome.
S- Are they girl scout cookies?
C- No but close. They are shortbread.
S- Oh. Can I have 10 of them?
C- What? No.
S- 7?
C- No.
S- 5??
C- What? Stop asking.
S- Ugh. Why can’t I have 5?
C- Because there’s like a stick and a half of butter in each cookie.
S- So?

He had a good point. So we ate 5 cookies each. And I have no idea how many sticks of butter we actually ate and how many calories were slowly making their way down to our thighs because the nutritional facts are based on a serving size of grams (not cookies) and I left my food scale at home that day. And really, I don’t want to know. We are going to eat them anyways.

And I recommend that you do too. Not only because they are excellent, but because I won’t look so fat in my bathing suit if you’ve been eating them also.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Props!, Rookie, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , , .

Ignorance is Bliss More R&R Updates

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  July 2, 2009 at 9:45 am

    1. That is a crazy McDonalds.
    2. They make those in the 100 calorie packs — no idea if they taste like the “real” thing, but might be worth a try.
    3. I’ve scrolled up like 3 times to look at the crazy McDonalds.

  • 2. molly  |  July 2, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Wow! That sounds like John: “can I have 10?”

  • 3. Matt  |  July 2, 2009 at 10:20 am

    1. My whole summer school class looked at me for laughing at “McMassive”.
    2.❤ Laura Doone, but the 100 calorie packs aren't enough.
    3. If you like shortbread, try Walker's. I think they might have them at Randall's or Spec's.

  • 4. d.a.r.  |  July 2, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I am in love with shortbread. So, so, so good. Worth every calorie.

  • 5. Bailey's Leaf  |  July 2, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Um, thanks for coming to visit. I generally don’t post about meat products. Perhaps try again on another date. I doubt that your digestion or keyboard would be involved.

  • 6. Kristin  |  July 3, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    I love the Girl Scouts SB cookies. Must try these!

  • 7. Rachel  |  July 3, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Andrew and Stephen would agree on serving suggestions. He believes a sleeve of Oreos, or an entire row of Tagalongs both count as one serving.

  • 8. Ginger  |  July 3, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    I LOVE Lorna Doone shortbread cookies! I buy the 100 calorie packs and eat two of them at a time.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

