Ten on Tuesday (19)

February 23, 2010 at 8:00 am 22 comments

This batch of questions comes from John at Fatherhoody and his wife. You’d think that his wife was the one with all of the dessert related questions since she’s pregnant. You’d be wrong though. All John. Enjoy!

1. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?
Peanut butter and chocolate from Baskin Robins. It’s the best. The best of the best. From the grocery store? Java Chip Starbucks ice cream. Mint chocolate chip. Any fudgy chocolatey thing. And of course Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla.

2. What is your earliest memory?
Oh goodness, I don’t know. I was 6 when we moved to our new house so I’m trying to focus on memories in the old house. I remember riding my bike in our cul-de-sac. I remember one New Years Eve… this is a popular story in our family. My parents have always thrown a NYE party (except last year because my mom was sick and Avery was just born). It was the day of the party and my parents had moved the furniture out of the way in the living room. So my little sister and I took that opportunity to twirl. You know what I mean. Arms out, spinning until you see stars, giggling the entire time. Well my sister lost her balance and fell and knocked her head on the entertainment center. My brother, who had been ignoring us the entire time, got a spanking. Apparently my dad freaked out and just assumed Justin had done something wrong. Ha. Lindsay ended up needing stitches on her forehead. I’m the only one who came out of the event unharmed.

3. What is your earliest memory of a dessert?
Tis the beginning of the odd questions. I’ll do my best to answer them seriously. My first memory of a dessert is making chocolate chip cookies with my mom. We would cut open big paper grocery bags and line the table with them and put the hot cookies on top. I also remember one of my sister’s early birthdays. She got a Cookie Monster cupcake and she ate it in her high chair and turned her whole face and hands blue.

4. Do you have any recurring dreams?
Nope. I have lots of dreams. Especially now, with pregnancy. But none that repeat.

5. Have you ever dreamed about dessert?
I’m sure I have but I can’t remember any.

6. What is one thing (aside from a cell phone or computer) that you cannot go the entire day without?
My initial reaction right now is: a toilet. And food. Other than that, I think I could go one day without just about anything.

7. What is one dessert you could go your entire life without ever having again?
COULD? Oh plenty. Baklava, bread pudding, anything with raisins, lemon pies, any of those fruit tarts with the glaze on top that taste sugary and cheap, and cream puffs.

Gross.

8. If you could go on vacation tomorrow, where would you go? (Assume someone else is footing the bill, but within reason…so “the moon” won’t work)
Someplace warm. Mexico on a cruise, probably. I think all-you-can-eat fits into my life style right now. Although if someone else is paying I should choose a more expensive trip. Probably Italy or Greece. Mostly for the food, but also for the sights.

9. If you could have any dessert tomorrow, what would you have (assume someone else is buying it for you. Within reason though, no “gold sprinkled ice cream cones.”)
Chocolate mousse cheesecake with strawberry garnish. Or any variation of any of those. Chocolate cheesecake, chocolate mousse, chocolate, mousse, cheesecake with strawberries, chocolate covered strawberries, you get it?

10.  What was your first impression of your significant other? If you’re single, what was your first impression of your best friend?
My spouse? Wow… that was a line. (During the Q portion of the Q&A, many of you asked about our story. I owe you that.)
My best friend? I thought she was cool and confident but I didn’t really like her. It took us a few months to be friends. She still really cool, but not nearly as confident as I had thought. I always tell her she needs to work on that part.

11. What is your first impression of dessert pizza? (Personally, I think it’s weird. I love dessert but I don’t want any on my pizza.)
It was my favorite part of Cici’s! My dad and brother LOVED going to Cici’s because they could eat themselves stupid. My sister and I would dramatically groan, “NOOOOO. Not Cici’s!!” Now I like it because it’s cheap and I love pizza. Even mass produced pizza. Did y’all know their buffet is $3.99 right now?? Hello!

Your turn! If you have a batch of questions to submit, send them to me at chelsea(at)rootsandrings(dot)com.

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Things That Will Make You Smile “What’s Your Story: Part 1”

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly  |  February 23, 2010 at 8:47 am

    I’m sorry my husband is such a geek. I hope that he answers these questions on his blog next week. It will be very interesting to read other people’s reactions to his randomness.

    By the way, nobody will come to CiCi’s with me. I think I’ll just come to Houston so we can be preggos stuffing ourselves for less than $5 together.

  • 2. osarah  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:07 am

    Is there anyone out there who hasn’t had their hands/teeth/face/tongue dyed blue from icing? That brought back a memory for me — when my sister graduated from high school, she had blue icing and I was doomed. I was 4.

    The same thing happened when my younger brother graduated from high school. I was 21, and I still fell victim to the blue icing. Ack!

  • 3. hyperactivelu  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Good questions! That one about dreaming about desserts was funny!!!

  • 4. Nicole  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:42 am

    This is my first time doing this. I’ve seen Lisa from Lisa’s Yarns doing it for a while and thought I’d finally give it a try.

  • 5. Ashley  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I totally agree about the CiCi’s thing!! That was my answer!!

    And if you like peanut butter and chocolate ice cream you should check out the recipe on my blog. Homemade peanut butter and chocolate ice cream…soooooo good!!

    Here’s my answers: http://tyandashmoss.blogspot.com/2010/02/ten-on-tuesday_23.html

  • 6. Aunt Bonnie  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Concur on the ice cream flavors! Cream puffs??? I love cream puffs, Uncle Dennis’s lemon meringue pie and a really good bread pudding….I hate Baklava….yucky!

  • 7. Autumn  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I am so with you on #1!! I didn’t read your list until I’d published my own! Let’s go for ice cream sometime!
    And death to all things raisin!
    Hope you are feeling well!

  • 8. Nora  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:34 am

    One of my first memories is coloring with my dad in the first house (actually apartment) I remember living in… sitting in my room, at a tiny little table on cute little blue chairs. I think I was coloring Bert & Ernie. Another one I have is bawling my eyes out when my dropped me off at pre-school and when we spent a night looking for my first childhood dog as he ran away. He never came back though 😦

    I’m so with you on the anything chocolate when it comes to desserts!

  • 9. Karen  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:37 am

    1. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?
    Mint chocolate chip, blue bunnies-banana split, so good. Most any kind, not really crazy about just vanilla only.

    2. What is your earliest memory?
    Not really sure which was the earliest, but I remember playing hop-scotch out in front of the house with my siblings,
    riding my bike to the town we lived in and riding all over town,
    playing ol mean ma with my siblings, my sister Lynn was the ma and she use to beat us with a bedroom shoe if we were bad, oh yeah fun times. lol

    3. What is your earliest memory of a dessert?
    Our favorite was banana pudding, the real home made banana pudding with real bananas and vanilla cookies. Mmm

    4. Do you have any recurring dreams?
    Other than the showing up naked some where, mine was always at school, or the falling dreams, but I have not had them in a long time.

    5. Have you ever dreamed about dessert?
    Maybe that is what happened to my pillow.

    6. What is one thing (aside from a cell phone or computer) that you cannot go the entire day without?
    Other than the basics, nothing that I can think of.

    7. What is one dessert you could go your entire life without ever having again?
    I have nothing on this one.

    8. If you could go on vacation tomorrow, where would you go? (Assume someone else is footing the bill, but within reason…so “the moon” won’t work)
    Anywhere there is some rich historical history, I would love to go on a biblical tour.

    9. If you could have any dessert tomorrow, what would you have (assume someone else is buying it for you. Within reason though, no “gold sprinkled ice cream cones.”)
    Any kind of cheese cake, you have me wanting cheese cake now. lol

    10. What was your first impression of your significant other? If you’re single, what was your first impression of your best friend?
    I saw a lot of me in her, we hit it off pretty much from the start.

    11. What is your first impression of dessert pizza? (Personally, I think it’s weird. I love dessert but I don’t want any on my pizza.)
    Never had it, most likely I would not like it.

  • 10. Stephany  |  February 23, 2010 at 11:30 am

    I lovvvve CiCi’s Pizza. My dad, my brother, and I used to go there ALL. THE. TIME. My mom hates it so the only time I get to go is when my brother can go with me.

    It’s definitely not the BEST pizza out there but hey, it’s cheap and their little cheesy-bready things are so, so yummy.

  • 11. Taryn E  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    1. Peanut butter and chocolate from Baskin Robbins. Love Love Love! And anything by Blue Bell. Seriously, they can do no wrong.

    2. Hmm… being babysat by my Aunt Bobbie (she’s just a close family friend)…. she took me shopping for new shoes and we had Coca Cola and a snickers for breakfast. I was probably 4 or 5. I LOVED going over to her house and watching cartoons and just hanging out. 🙂

    3. Making christmas cookies at my grandma Baacke’s house.

    4. not that I know of.

    5. once again, not that I remember.

    6. My mp3 player.

    7. any form of cheapy packaged pastry, donuts, pretty much any kind of cake. I could subsist entirely on pie and ice cream for the rest of my life.

    8. California… specifically San Diego and LA so I could see all of my friends from school and they could meet Rob and Luke.

    9. The Black and white brownie from the now-defunct Planet Hollywood. A Dark chocolate brownie and a white chocolate brownie covered in fudge and caramel drizzle, with vanilla ice cream and cherries on top.

    10. Sig. other: I thought he was super cute… our first date was to a preseason miami dolphins game. We had a great time; Rob was funny and nice and we hit if off immediately.
    best friend: I’ve known Emily since Pre-K. I have no idea what I immediately thought of her, but we have been friends for 26 years.

    11. CiCi’s chocolate pizza with powdered sugar. I have no idea why they discontinued it. It was soooo yummy.

  • 12. Nic Lake  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Just participated in my first “Ten on Tuesday” over on my blog. Some of these brought up some really good memories. Thanks for that. 🙂

  • 13. Ashley B  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    you hate raisins too???? does stephen understand this? because matt doesn’t. lol

  • 14. Nicole  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Hi! I thought I’d play this week, too!! I’m not nearly as organized as most, as I just hit Publish. Hopefully I’ll do better next week. 🙂

  • 15. Courtney  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    How can you go to (or want to go to) Greece and not have baklava?!? I got to agree on the yuck to raisin though!

  • 16. Jana (sidetrack'd)  |  February 23, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    I’m a little late, but at least it is still Tuesday. 🙂 Fun questions (although a couple were a bit odd). Thanks for hosting!

  • 17. mom (Nana) Alice Rosenhagen  |  February 23, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    1. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?
    Anything my sister/mom make that is homemade – peach, vanilla, whatever. Bought? Probably peanut butter and chocolate and jamoca almond fudge…

    2. What is your earliest memory?
    Eating dog food with the neighbor boy – I had to be younger than 5 because I moved when I was 5.

    3. What is your earliest memory of a dessert?
    My Maw’s homemade peach cobbler – nothing nothing nothing better than that. And my mammaw’s butterscotch brownies – yum!

    4. Do you have any recurring dreams?
    nope

    5. Have you ever dreamed about dessert?
    hmmmm…. maybe those are the days I wake up with a migraine – too much sugar!

    6. What is one thing (aside from a cell phone or computer) that you cannot go the entire day without?
    Can’t think of anything – assuming water/food is included. Oh, a potty for sure!

    7. What is one dessert you could go your entire life without ever having again?
    well, I am not sure but if I had to go without desserts or meat, I would definitely choose desserts. I like them but I really prefer real food. But IF I HAVE to choose it would probably be homemade peach cobbler with homemade vanilla ice cream

    8. If you could go on vacation tomorrow, where would you go? (Assume someone else is footing the bill, but within reason…so “the moon” won’t work)
    Greece, Italy, Holy Lands

    9. If you could have any dessert tomorrow, what would you have (assume someone else is buying it for you. Within reason though, no “gold sprinkled ice cream cones.”)
    My maw’s peach cobbler.

    10. What was your first impression of your significant other? If you’re single, what was your first impression of your best friend? I thought he had the most gorgeous blue eyes and the best looking chest in the world! (Several times when I saw him walking across campus he had his first 1 or 2 buttons undone and he has JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF HAIR! 🙂

    11. What is your first impression of dessert pizza? (Personally, I think it’s weird. I love dessert but I don’t want any on my pizza.)
    Like the cream cheese pizza with the fresh fruit on it.

    P.S. Wasn’t that 11 questions on Ten on Tuesday?

  • 18. itsmekatie  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    When I was at Baskin Robbins today, I tried Peanut Butter Chocolate because I remembered that you said it was good.. I loved it!

  • 19. Lisa D  |  February 23, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    There are also a lot of desserts I could go without – like pretty much everything you listed! Except cream puffs. I do think those are yummy if they are fresh made!

    That Baskin Robbins ice cream flavor sounds awesome – I shoudl try that after Lent is over!

  • 20. Kimberly  |  February 23, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    I posted at my blog!

    and I love Cicis too 🙂

  • 21. Fuegita  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Mmmm Cheap pizza. Though I don’t really like CiCi’s, I loved it the first time. Pizza Street is pretty much the same thing but they have baked potato pizza which is awesome.

  • 22. Sue @ Simon's Sista  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Better late than never! Have you been suffering much nausea? I hope reading of our “don’t go there” desserts doesn’t kick it off!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

