My Reality

May 29, 2009 at 9:20 am 11 comments

I’m not sure why our nation is so obsessed with reality television. I don’t really enjoy it. I watch Jon & Kate Plus 8 when I turn to TLC and it’s on. (I’ll ignore the obvious discussion we should have about the turmoil in their relationship because it’s not the point of the blog. And while you know I’m not really one to (quote) stay on task (unquote), that’s just not a wound I really want to pour mounds of salt into right now. So.. moving on.) I own the DVDs too. And the book “Multiple Blessings”… but that just makes me obsessed with the Gosselins, not reality TV. And of course you know that I love The Biggest Loser. Maybe “love” is an understatement. But that’s neither here nor there. I still claim that I’m not a reality tv junkie.

 

There are so many shows that just follow families around. Are their lives really that interesting? Sometimes I wonder if people would watch my reality television show. What would we call it? “Royal Treatment: Life in Hurst Castle”? That sounds much more interesting than I actually am. I think that if someone gave me a reality show, some exec in some fancy office would lose their job. Probably the first time Rookie licked her butt. Or maybe right after the camera showed me cross-stitching while wearing my pirate patch on the couch while Stephen played “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” on the piano. In May. Someone would definitely lose their job.

 

Quite honestly, I’m not sure why someone at WordPress hasn’t pulled the plug on this little number here. Certainly there is some sort of relevancy clause. “Blogger must have a minimum of one (1) relevant story per 2000 words. Failure to do so will result in termination of blog, leaving said blogger all alone at her desk, fighting back tears and wondering who will read an email about the slightly entertaining (but totally pointless) event that happened last night.” I bet the WordPress execs (does WordPress even have execs?) are sitting in their offices, hanging their heads, wishing they paid closer attention to Field of Dreams. They should have known… if they built a free site for people to write freely, crazies like me would flock to them. Their fault really. They gave me a blog. But about that tv show…

 

What would our show look like? Here are a few of the activities you would see on this week’s episode:

 

  • Stephen on the couch spitting ice cubes in the air for Rookie to catch in her mouth. Over and over.
  • Me making banana chocolate chip muffins while wearing my pirate patch. Then forgetting to set the timer. Freaking out when I remember that I have something in the oven. Seeing that they aren’t done and leaving them in a little longer. Then freaking out again because I forgot about them again. Pulling “slightly toasted” muffins out of the oven. Eating them anyways.
  • Stephen and Rookie running laps inside the house. Stephen hiding behind corners and jumping out at Rookie. Rookie hopping on and off the couches and pouncing at Stephen.
  • Me watering my garden full of weeds.
  • Me watching the last 4 episodes of Grey’s Anatomy on the laptop in the front living room and crying my eyes out. Meanwhile, Stephen in the main living room watching something educational on Discovery.

 

Wow. I don’t think my life is that boring. I am quite fond of it actually. But I can see how, from the outside, it might look lame. And pointless.

 

Much like this blog.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Hurst Castle, Rookie, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , , .

Props! to George The Two Loves of My Life

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren From Texas  |  May 29, 2009 at 9:50 am

    NOT lame. NOT pointless.

    But ummmmm please explain this pirate patch???

    And OF COURSE you have to water the weeds. How else are they supposed to grow???!!!

  • 2. Chelsea Hurst  |  May 29, 2009 at 10:04 am

    I could see how the pirate patch would be confusing to someone new to my blog! Look at this post: https://rootsandrings.wordpress.com/2009/02/12/a-little-therapy-never-hurt-anyone/

    It’s a patch I have to wear each night for eye therapy.

  • 3. Jen H.  |  May 29, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Hey Chelsea! This post really made me laugh. My family has been saying for years that we could make a killing being in a reality show! Our title, ‘ THIGHS’ as we aren’t the most slendor group of crazy women! We’ve even had friends tell us we should be on a show because the family seems to resemble a Kardashian/My Big Fat Greek Wedding kind of vibe…That is my life!

  • 4. Maureen  |  May 29, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Hilarious! Actually, I think a show on your life would be very interesting! I’m still laughing picturing Stephen spitting ice cubes out for Rookie to catch.

  • 5. Ginger  |  May 29, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    The way I choose to look at life is this: It’s going to be entertaining to someone. I’ve thought about what my life would be like under a reality show’s distorted camera lense. It would be called Retail, and would consist of customer encounters, both good and bad (but mostly bad, because that’s good for ratings!).

    My guilty reality tv pleasure? I got totally sucked into Tool Academy, on…VH1 maybe? The whole time I couldn’t believe how sad it was that the girls were so stupid, and that the guys were such mean jocks; yet, if it was on, I would watch it.

  • 6. Mom  |  May 29, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Ps, i ate 2 of those muffins tonight. Toasted banana chocolate chip muffins are still amazing banana chocolate chip muffins. Also, my muffin choosing skills must be primo because the two I picked were LOADED with chocolate chips. Or do you just put more chocolate chips in the mix than Mom does?

  • 7. Lindsay  |  May 29, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    The comment above is from me..ugh.

  • 8. Kristin  |  May 30, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    What’s boring about a pirate patch?

  • 9. osarah  |  May 31, 2009 at 3:59 am

    I love the random stories about what we might find if there were to be a reality tv show about you guys. It’s not lame or boring at all!

    Miss y’all!

  • 10. Jimbo  |  June 1, 2009 at 11:28 am

    I’m forced to wonder a couple of things:
    1) BANANA choco-chip muffins? Never would have thought about that. Where does the banana flavor come from? Real bananas? Banana pudding? Special banana chocolate chips you can only get from Kroger?

    2) In light of the pirate patch, would Hurst Pirate Ship be a suitable substitute name for Hurst Castle whenever the patch makes it ARRRppearance? (Couldn’t help myself, sorry)

    3) Is the garden still mostly weeds or have the desired veggies started to assert their dominance?

    Your life is neither lame nor pointless. And this blog is one of the joys of my weekday mornings. Thank you!

  • 11. Chelsea Hurst  |  June 1, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    The banana flavor comes from (wait for it…) bananas! Just mash ’em up! I’ll add that recipe to the recipe blog sometime this week. Keep it for the future, it’ll be a sure-fire way to make sure your kids friends like you!🙂

    Mostly weeds. But our cucumber plants have yellow flowers. And apparently that’s a good sign!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

